McCartin to the backline?

Crossy66

McCartin to the backline?

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/07/17/ ... says-lyon/

Interesting article from Garry Lyon. Thinks Paddy could play a Jeremy McGovern role down back
thoughts?

Re: McCartin to the backline?

Lyon is a flog

Crossy66

Agreed.

Saint_J

saintspremiers wrote:Lyon is a flog
Liam Jones say's hi.

Saint_J

Crossy66 wrote:https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/07/17/ ... says-lyon/

Interesting article from Garry Lyon. Thinks Paddy could play a Jeremy McGovern role down back
thoughts?
Sam Fisher started as a forward so it could be tried. I'm not against it.

Not as silly as it sounds - let him settle down back see how he goes?

Impatient Sainter wrote:Not as silly as it sounds - let him settle down back see how he goes?
The bit I like about this plan is it will enable him to play football without the pressure of throwing himself at every contest kamikaze style.

Just let the kid play.
Clearly the 'spearhead' thing isn't working.
He has looked ok when he ran up on the flank and wing a few times last year.
Let him go back to being a key fwd when he is older.
No harm letting him just play footy for a while.
Backline might work.

Sure, add another string to his bow.

But the most important thing now is to get more AFL games into him.

Guys, he's not as good as you would like him to be

#gosaintas

spert wrote:Guys, he's not as good as you would like him to be

The kid can play, there's no doubt about that. I'd try him back, why not. Just stop playin him at Sandy.

#gosaintas wrote:

The kid can play, there's no doubt about that. I'd try him back, why not. Just stop playin him at Sandy.
Totally agree with this - if he is at risk whenever he plays - he may as well be doing it for St Kilda - it killed me that he was injured while playing for Sandy.

Sainter_Dad wrote:
#gosaintas wrote:

Totally agree with this - if he is at risk whenever he plays - he may as well be doing it for St Kilda - it killed me that he was injured while playing for Sandy.
Select him for the ones based on form not draft pick order

Gary who???
Stupid comments by Lyon.

Who is he going to replace Carslile or Brown or does "Lyon to your mate about banging his misses" think we will play Jake, Nathan & Paddy all in the back half?

Paddy doesn't currently have the tank or agility to go with a mobile forward.
Or does Lyon think clubs will just leave him on his own to mark everything that gets kicked in high.

Bring him back through Sandy and when form warrants play him in the role he was drafted as a key forward.
And Lyon should stop talking crap, it will just put more pressure and expectations on the kid.

P1ss off Lyon and worry about the crap ratings of your pathetic radio show.

outside66

I reckon it's a good idea.

he is on drugs just wait he will be a gun everyone to quick to right him off ImageImage
ImageImage

Why doesn't McCartin just stay in the forward line .
Someone would have to mind him as he is a good mark and kick .
Modern footy annoys me when I see players get the ball in the back line only to wait because there is on one in the forward line to kick it to .

repta

teaching him how to playu in the backline would be good. Gehrig became a good player because of his time in the backline.

However currently with zero tank, almost no agility and realistically just passable strength he would get absolutely monstered if he played in the backline. Buddy would wet his pants if McCartin rolled up beside him on the weekend.

Saint_J wrote:

thoughts?
So did Barry Lawrence.
Went back found form and then alternated positions according to need.

This idea is right up there with Barry Hall to full-back!!!!!

Who gave Gazz that idea????? Mrs.Brownless!!!!!

Yep...ridiculous idea.
Let's replace our high performing key backs with an underperforming unfit forward....thats the way to go.
NEXT!

Sounds like Lyon made the right decision not to coach.

Dumb idea.

Just dumb

#gosaintas wrote:

We can't play in at Geelong Falcons or Geelong Grammar anymore.

fugazi wrote:Yep...ridiculous idea.
Let's replace our high performing key backs with an underperforming unfit forward....thats the way to go.
NEXT!
Paddy McCartin and Hugh Goddard in the key back positions.
Would be the slowest defence in the history of the game.

whiskers3614 wrote:
Saint_J wrote:

thoughts?
So did Barry Lawrence.
Went back found form and then alternated positions according to need.
Cowboy started off as a forward. So did Bob Murray.