Billy Longer - Best game yet?

Dominated the hit outs and got quite a few to advantage...

4 marks, 5 tackles, kicked a big goal. 11 disposals... had real presence about him tonight.

Re: Billy Longer - Best game yet?

skeptic wrote:Dominated the hit outs and got quite a few to advantage...

4 marks, 5 tackles, kicked a big goal. 11 disposals... had real presence about him tonight.
Now, I'm not stalkin' ya, skeptic, but Billy was a large part of post game discussions this eve among the tribe.

All up, probably his best all round numbers game this eve, but the "presence" is not new - go back to the GWS game, when he wore Mumford down, after squaring up all night, and then completely dominated Mumford in the last.

It's not hard to see the midfielders even growing trust in Billy to compete...and compete....and compete. Witness who ran where in the centre square restarts tonight.

Most of the most vehement criticism of Billy, including on this site, comes from people who would not know a ruckman from their elbow.

I have criticised him before, but he had a great game tonight. Good to see him clunk some marks finally. If he can learn to stick a tackle and take 2-3 more marks a game he will be a very good player.

Yes, by far his best game. That goal took everyone by surprise and blew the roof off the joint.

Easily his best game. I like lots of things about Billy,but mobility isn't one of them. Runs with the speed of a brontosaurus. One with gout, mind you!

But he was a terrific contributor and our midfield was well served by him.

Played with a corked thigh, gave our midfielders a dream run. I've said it before and I'll say it again he will be one a good ruckman. He has the body and the toughness required he just needs more games

He's even more important due to the no third man up rule , we were the highest side for third man up hit outs in the league.
At this stage he keeps number one spot.

carn_sainter

Every week I've said that Hickey should be playing instead of Longer and that I don't understand why Longer gets played. In other words, I've been anti-Longer.

But he played really well. I'll shut my mouth this week about playing Hickey.

What a set shot goal!

post game stats showed that we had 19 hit-outs to advantage

He played outside his skin

WellardSaint wrote:post game stats shouwed that we had 19 hit-outs to advantage

He played outside his skin
He will need to keep it up to keep Hickey out. We're lucky to have two very capable ruckmen on the list. Competition for spots is great, but I feel for ruckmen because often there is room only for one.

The OtherThommo wrote:

Now, I'm not stalkin' ya, skeptic, but Billy was a large part of post game discussions this eve among the tribe.

All up, probably his best all round numbers game this eve, but the "presence" is not new - go back to the GWS game, when he wore Mumford down, after squaring up all night, and then completely dominated Mumford in the last.

It's not hard to see the midfielders even growing trust in Billy to compete...and compete....and compete. Witness who ran where in the centre square restarts tonight.

Most of the most vehement criticism of Billy, including on this site, comes from people who would not know a ruckman from their elbow.
He did well ToT and no one is denying that but Billy had some improvement in him.

For instance, it was particularly frustrating to watch Billy being outmarked by smaller opponents or to be so out of position that he was unable to at least put a basic spoil on.

Lets hope he keeps it up because that is the standard he has set.

ROLS-LEE

The OtherThommo wrote:

He did well ToT and no one is denying that but Billy had some improvement in him.

For instance, it was particularly frustrating to watch Billy being outmarked by smaller opponents or to be so out of position that he was unable to at least put a basic spoil on.

Lets hope he keeps it up because that is the standard he has set.
Agreed saintpav. For us knockers that dont know what a ruckmen is from our own elbow is a bit rich.

As for Billy. It was his best game for us. Let's hope his presences around the ground continues as being only a tap ruckmen is a thing of the past.

Last nights report was that he was on the injury list with a hamstring. Nothing in commentary or vision to confirm.

Would be disappointing if he doesn't get up for next week.

Otiman wrote:Last nights report was that he was on the injury list with a hamstring. Nothing in commentary or vision to confirm.

Would be disappointing if he doesn't get up for next week.
Off the ground having treatment for the last quarter. Hopefully "hamstring" is "corked thigh". Jack Newnes also seemed to be injured. Not on the ground or bench at one stage.

I think this is also a reminder that development isn't always a straight line

We like to think that we play someone consistently and other time they gradually get better and are then best 22 whereas Billy is an example of peaks and troughs... as is Hickey for that matter

Definitely best game for the club - hopefully a sign of things to come!

Gave the midfielders an arm chair ride, uses his bulk well.

While he has had better stats (ie Doggies game) I think the way he tapped the ball, and used his disposals was by far his best quality game so far. And the quality dimension is what he has been in particular lacking in.

repta

At the game the other night and turned to my tigers supporter mate and said "if longer kicks this Goal the tigers are cooked as it will be the first time i have seen Longer kick the ball".
Good to see he can actual kick and not only handball.
Best game by a mile.

GWS was a real look at what he could do in the ruck
Against Tigers he started to show something around the ground as well.
I have GWS slightly ahead as I rank Mummy slightly ahead of Nankervis.
Great to see him emerging at last.
He'll start holding those marks and kicking the odd important goal...and then we have a real weapon.

1/2 a dozen coaches' votes, and a very big wrap from Jonathon Brown from the couch.

I think longer got coaches votes from both coaches this weekend??!

Spinner wrote:I think longer got coaches votes from both coaches this weekend??!
4 and 2, Spinner, dunno which coach gave what.

The OtherThommo wrote:
Spinner wrote:I think longer got coaches votes from both coaches this weekend??!
I would pick Hardwick as giving the 4 votes, as he would have noticed the ruck work, whereas Richo would possibly have noticed other of our players around the ground putting in different efforts, but I am only surmising (and it could have been 3/3 votes not 4/2).

It would be nice to see who voted what each week though.

The OtherThommo wrote:
Thanks!

Doing pretty well for a youngish ruck - gets flogged on here a bit.

I've got heaps of confidence in him in the centre - heaps.

The OtherThommo wrote:
Thanks!

Doing pretty well for a youngish ruck - gets flogged on here a bit.

I've got heaps of confidence in him in the centre - heaps.
Without wishing to diminish your importance, Spinner, I reckon the blokes he plays with, particularly the onballers, also have heaps of, and growing, confidence in him.