Daniel McKenzie

Thought he tried hard but had some really poor moments - couple of easy marks dropped and fumbles.
Not sure he is up to AFL standard?

Re: Daniel McKenzie

He is up to it - just needs more time and games like all our youngsters

Took a great mark in the last and ran hard to receive from Bruce to slot a major as well

Definitely shows a bit and I like his endeavor

See I reckon ppl have a real blind spot with games like tonight...

DMac made some errors that really stood out but the 10 goal win really masked the fact that we were actually very wasteful across the board. The reason it doesn't stand out is because we rattled the tigers early and they were much much worse as a result and I think DMac played a role in that.

The kids a beast, he hits the packs hard, is great in the air and has a fantastic work rate.

His disposal is very hit and miss but I reckon he keeps his spot on that performance. He did better than Mav has in most games this season and he did a few things that the statisticians won't record. He just needs an extended run to find his mojo.

skeptic wrote:See I reckon ppl have a real blind spot with games like tonight...

DMac made some errors that really stood out but the 10 goal win really masked the fact that we were actually very wasteful across the board. The reason it doesn't stand out is because we rattled the tigers early and they were much much worse as a result and I think DMac played a role in that.

The kids a beast, he hits the packs hard, is great in the air and has a fantastic work rate.

His disposal is very hit and miss but I reckon he keeps his spot on that performance. He did better than Mav has in most games this season and he did a few things that the statisticians won't record. He just needs an extended run to find his mojo.
Ah, skeptic my man, I do love a cool headed analysis - agree with all of the above.

And, I'd just like to add tonight (if the interrogated records are legit) was his 18th game.

How in the freakin' hell can anyone pluck a bloke who has had been given 2X1 game stints this year, right after we have our best performance of the Year (according to Richo, the best in his time), and wonder whether he is up to AFL standard?

Fair dinkum (did ya know "dinkum" was derived from the Chinese "Din Kum", meaning 'real gold', from when they worked the Ballarat gold fields)...where was I? Oh, Yeah, DMac......

Who would know if he's 'up to AFL standard', at this stage of a less than 20 game career? More pertinently, who is silly enough to even bother asking the question?

I happen to like his prospects, but at this stage that's also irrelevant.

But, bugger it, an opinion - he'll make it.

The kid's played less than 20 games.

I think he will be a good player. He needs experience as he seems panicked and nervous. Needs time to acclimatise to the pace and pressure of AFL. Must perservere with him.

StPeter

He may become a good player but made many mistakes tonight in a good win.

Hasn't really shown the form in the seniors or Sandringham this year to warrant his place in the team.

I thought he showed some great signs. Perhaps a little too nervous with his disposal. He's very lively player. Took a great mark in the last quarter.

shrodes wrote:The kid's played less than 20 games.

I think he will be a good player. He needs experience as he seems panicked and nervous. Needs time to acclimatise to the pace and pressure of AFL. Must perservere with him.
Agree. People can't look past the obvious.

He was sloppy but got better. Kicked a goal and took a nice mark.

Those errors can be easily fixed with game time and he can get the ball which counts.

Weather he keeps his spot is another matter given where we are at and competition for spots.

What position does/should he play

Enrico_Misso wrote:Not sure he is up to AFL standard?
Same thing said about Geary, Ross, Newnes, Webster, Roberton, Lonie, Acres, Billings before they'd played 50 games.

McKenzie still looks to be adjusting to the pace of AFL, but his composure will improve with more game-time. He's a great mark, elite runner, brutal attack on the footy - probably a good replacement for Geary long term.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Not sure he is up to AFL standard?
Same thing said about Geary, Ross, Newnes, Webster, Roberton, Lonie, Acres, Billings before they'd played 50 games.

McKenzie still looks to be adjusting to the pace of AFL, but his composure will improve with more game-time. He's a great mark, elite runner, brutal attack on the footy - probably a good replacement for Geary long term.
It's interesting isn't it... clangers aside, I found Dmac's performance quite heartwarming last night... he's def a player even if he's not quite ready at the moment

Has good pace (which we need) and lots of endeavour. Poor disposal and lack of composure is clearly impairing his impact. The several dropped marks last night indicate composure issues to me. His great grab on the outer wing in the last few minute, show that he has something to offer.

Needs more games to settle in to the pace of the game at this level. His kicking needs to improve a lot, which is not an easy fix.

Best wishes to Daniel for next week - against the pacy Dons.

The pressure of being always on the fringe would make him nervous.
He know that one bad game will see him back to the VFL.

A running beast. A great mixture of speed and endurance. Like Freeman. Worth persevering with. He looked great late last year. Injuries have caused him to stall a bit, but I reckon he'll make it when the composure kicks in. That may take some time yet. Think Seb Ross, Robbo, etc.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Thought he tried hard but had some really poor moments - couple of easy marks dropped and fumbles.
Not sure he is up to AFL standard?
1. He would not have been drafted if he couldnt play.

2. Saints wouldnt have included him in the team if he wasnt up to sandard.

Ffs give the kid a chance.

WOW! One of the best wins by the TEAM in years and some folk still want to ferret-out a few negatives from an overall positive!

thejiggingsaint wrote:WOW! One of the best wins by the TEAM in years and some folk still want to ferret-out a few negatives from an overall positive!
My thoughts exactly.

The OtherThommo wrote:
skeptic wrote:See I reckon ppl have a real blind spot with games like tonight...

Ah, skeptic my man, I do love a cool headed analysis - agree with all of the above.

And, I'd just like to add tonight (if the interrogated records are legit) was his 18th game.

How in the freakin' hell can anyone pluck a bloke who has had been given 2X1 game stints this year, right after we have our best performance of the Year (according to Richo, the best in his time), and wonder whether he is up to AFL standard?

Fair dinkum (did ya know "dinkum" was derived from the Chinese "Din Kum", meaning 'real gold', from when they worked the Ballarat gold fields)...where was I? Oh, Yeah, DMac......

Who would know if he's 'up to AFL standard', at this stage of a less than 20 game career? More pertinently, who is silly enough to even bother asking the question?

I happen to like his prospects, but at this stage that's also irrelevant.

But, bugger it, an opinion - he'll make it.
I reckon he is 'real gold'
Stepping up to the speed of AFL requires several consecutive games to get used to. Would like to see him settle in with 5 in a row.
Last edited by fugazi on Sun 09 Jul 2017 5:40pm, edited 1 time in total.

BJ's first 20 games were pretty ordinary too from memory. Just sayin...

DMac will be a great player for us. Just needs to get used to the tempo. He'll be a very different player once he gets to the 50 game mark. Has the good IMO.

The original post by Enrico Miso kind of sums up many Saints fans, for my money. Don't get me wrong, EM is perfectly entitled to express his opinion. However, I would point out that this kid has played all of NINETEEN games :roll: as someone else has said; BJ had some fairly ordinary games in the beginning of his career. My take? Why not, instead of finding fault with his game, (as part of an enormous TEAM victory) offer encouragement and support.

thejiggingsaint wrote:The original post by Enrico Miso kind of sums up many Saints fans, for my money. Don't get me wrong, EM is perfectly entitled to express his opinion. However, I would point out that this kid has played all of NINETEEN games :roll: as someone else has said; BJ had some fairly ordinary games in the beginning of his career. My take? Why not, instead of finding fault with his game, (as part of an enormous TEAM victory) offer encouragement and support.
Yeah I don't understand Enrico quibbling about him. He's got plenty of potential. He'll only get better with the more AFL experience he gets.

I liked AR's assessment in the post-match - didn't pretend DMac was perfect but focused on the positives.

1. He would not have been drafted if he couldnt play.
Couldn't help but laugh at this comment...

Apparently we've never drafted a bad player before

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I really rate this guy.

Just needs a handful more games and get comfortable with the speed.

I liken him to Newnes and Webster. He his hard as nails and has pace.

Real pace. Not just a bit... but break lines pace.

I hope he can hold his spot when Webster walks back in.