Social Club for the Freo game?

As the game is being shown only on Foxfooty here in Victoria, does anyone know if the club are once again showing the match at the Linton Street venue?

Re: Social Club for the Freo game?

Yes they are.
Believe or Bum.

I was going to post asking about this. You beat me to it, Jiggster. Sounds like a good way to spend a late Sunday afternoon.

Believe or Bum, indeed!

Make sure the wrecking ball doesn't swing through that dump at half time.

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

Depends on how the boys are going at Subiaco, Bob! :lol:

Have to say the venue is a bit ordinary.
It is just a few standard sized tv's in the old foyer/gift shop with poor sound - no big screen as I had hoped.

Just hope in the renovation that there will be a large room with a big screen which the club can promote as THE place to watch interstate games like it was in the good old days upstairs in the old social club with raffles, sausages, full bar, kids running around, and plenty of excitement or groans

Having said that, the smallish gathering was quite vocal with a portion of the cheer squad turning up to cheer the boys on from a couple of thousand kms away.
The food was basic but very good and perfect for footy, especially the excellent chips, and the coffee was free.

Not surprisingly the place went mental in the final minutes and erupted when Bruuuuuuuce did his thing.
Perhaps even the tragics feeding the pokies paused to wonder what was happening before re-commencing draining their life savings.
The Lady Enrico and myself also had the pleasure of meeting an erudite gentleman who walked with a jiggle.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Have to say the venue is a bit ordinary.
It is just a few standard sized tv's in the old foyer/gift shop with poor sound - no big screen as I had hoped.

Just hope in the renovation that there will be a large room with a big screen which the club can promote as THE place to watch interstate games like it was in the good old days upstairs in the old social club with raffles, sausages, full bar, kids running around, and plenty of excitement or groans

Having said that, the smallish gathering was quite vocal with a portion of the cheer squad turning up to cheer the boys on from a couple of thousand kms away.
The food was basic but very good and perfect for footy, especially the excellent chips, and the coffee was free.

Not surprisingly the place went mental in the final minutes and erupted when Bruuuuuuuce did his thing.
Perhaps even the tragics feeding the pokies paused to wonder what was happening before re-commencing draining their life savings.
The Lady Enrico and myself also had the pleasure of meeting an erudite gentleman who walked with a jiggle.
Did you visit what's left of your avatar?

Enrico_Misso wrote: The Lady Enrico and myself also had the pleasure of meeting an erudite gentleman who walked with a jiggle.
You and your missus met the Jiggster?

[quote="Enrico_Misso"]Have to say the venue is a bit ordinary.

The Lady Enrico and myself also had the pleasure of meeting an erudite gentleman who walked with a jiggle.[/quote]

Enrico, fair comment re: the current state of the premises. However, the "vibe" in the joint was FANTASTIC! Good company, interesting discussions about the game with other Sainters, naturally a positive outcome for us, greatly assisted the "feel-good" aspect of the day, but I was really happy to be among my own, regardless of the result. I do hope that the club will take your suggestions on board regarding future interstate games when the "new" Moorabbin comes into being!

Build it and they will come. Call it Club 66 and pack 'em in when we play interstate. Jiggster as MC in residence. Make these things an event, 5 or 6 times a year. An Animal Enclosure, or Saintsational section would top things off, complete with velvet ropes! Pictures of Barks, Mickey Roberts and GT to invoke the past (Saints Disco). You know it makes sense!

Sainternist wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote: The Lady Enrico and myself also had the pleasure of meeting an erudite gentleman who walked with a jiggle.
If it wasn't him then Arthur Daley must still be alive!

Build it and they will come. Call it Club 66 and pack 'em in when we play interstate. Jiggster as MC in residence. Make these things an event, 5 or 6 times a year. An Animal Enclosure, or Saintsational section would top things off, complete with velvet ropes! Pictures of Barks, Mickey Roberts and GT to invoke the past (Saints Disco). You know it makes sense!

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
If it wasn't him then Arthur Daley must still be alive!
But Jiggster is a Scouser, not a Cockney.

We convicts can't tell the difference!

Hahaha Fair enough. I reckon Arthur Daley would have made a great Saints supporter, though. He was a real hard-luck and roll with the punches kind of a geezer.

Arthur was a cunning old bugger and I could well imagine him teaching Roo that "throw the ball back to me" trick.

"If you build it, they will come" seems just about right to me, WW. Okay, it's not the Windsor Hotel as far as facilities are concerned, but yesterday at our spiritual home, I felt just about as close to my club as they won (interstate!) as I could be if I'd been there in the flesh! The grub was simple, well cooked, tasty and REASONABLY PRICED (Etihad please note!) folk were friendly and great to converse with, PLUS the cheer squad got the joint ROCKING when we came at Freo late in the game. I say: "good on the club"! For taking the initiative on this. I'd love to say I'll be there at Moorabbin for the next two interstate games, but will be AT both games, Sydney & Port. Go Saints! GO!

thejiggingsaint wrote:"If you build it, they will come" seems just about right to me, WW. Okay, it's not the Windsor Hotel as far as facilities are concerned, but yesterday at our spiritual home, I felt just about as close to my club as they won (interstate!) as I could be if I'd been there in the flesh! The grub was simple, well cooked, tasty and REASONABLY PRICED (Etihad please note!) folk were friendly and great to converse with, PLUS the cheer squad got the joint ROCKING when we came at Freo late in the game. I say: "good on the club"! For taking the initiative on this. I'd love to say I'll be there at Moorabbin for the next two interstate games, but will be AT both games, Sydney & Port. Go Saints! GO!
Good on you and I hope we do OK in Sydney and Adelaide.

FYI to quote properly, find the post you want to quote and press the quote button. Then position your cursor AFTER all the text has finished plus the ] bracket and type away for it to work properly!