Back in their box?

Welcome back to earth, Smelbourne!

Re: Back in their box?

thejiggingsaint wrote:Welcome back to earth, Smelbourne!
Yep, I thought they were pretty ordinary. It's odd to think that the game was probably lost for them the moment Tom Bugg put Callum Mills out of the game. It demoralised the Melbourne team and its supporters far more than it hampered Sydney.

But I think we also saw that youth and pace can only take a team so far against a seasoned Swans lineup which featured ball-winners all around the ground and some proven goal-scoring power.

We should take heart from that: our team is behind the Dees on pace and star quality, but we have ball-winners and a strong defence. We just need to find ways of converting more of our chances in front of goal and we could be nearly as good as the Swans IMO.

I'll be seeing just how our side compares to Smelbourne in taking on Sydney, in three weeks time when we make the trip up to the SCG. There's no doubt that Smelbourne are a very much improved outifit in 2017, however their lack of humility irked me somewhat. That clown interviewed by moron Taylor pre game summed it up to me, "yeah-nah, were going the grannie mate" :roll: Much improved they may well be ( and let's face it, there was a schitt load of room for improvement ) but they have much more to work on before they're going to be a fair-dinkum threat to sides like Sydney.

the swans unfortunately are very good...flag.

The Fireman wrote:the swans unfortunately are very good...flag.
Mayhap a 'Battle of the Bridge' for the flag @ the MCG.

Pity we cant have an all Victorian final for their prized trinket.

Sainter_Dad wrote:

We could ask Demetriou and McLachlan and co to explain how all-Sydney GF in Melbourne - where probably half of the fans in attendance will be the ageing group of diehard South Melbourne supporters - is a good thing for AFL. Apparently it's progress.

meher baba wrote:
Sainter_Dad wrote:

We could ask Demetriou and McLachlan and co to explain how all-Sydney GF in Melbourne - where probably half of the fans in attendance will be the ageing group of diehard South Melbourne supporters - is a good thing for AFL. Apparently it's progress.
And good for raising the profile of AFL in Sydney, which I do not get, there is a massive fan base in Tassie, which should have been tapped ages ago.

To my mind it is easier to make money from people screaming out for a local team than from supporters of another code that we must win over. Was it a case of "You shall not pass" which made the powers that be desperately need to pass?

They have the most hatable playing group for as long as I can remember. So many flogs. Rapidly rising up the most hated club list

jonesy wrote:They have the most hatable playing group for as long as I can remember. So many flogs. Rapidly rising up the most hated club list
I'm getting that way as well...tbh I haven't liked them for a long time. Mercenary city.

probably started when a player they hated the most went there and how they changed overnight to idolizing him.

Darth Vader

The Fireman wrote:
jonesy wrote:They have the most hatable playing group for as long as I can remember. So many flogs. Rapidly rising up the most hated club list
I'm getting that way as well...tbh I haven't liked them for a long time. Mercenary city.

probably started when a player they hated the most went there and how they changed overnight to idolizing him.
We talking Melbourne or Sydney here coz I hate them both.

Well, I was talking about Smelbourne in the OP. For a club that hasn't featured in Finals for eleven years, who have had FIVE coaches in that period and a whole ruck of high draft picks, for little or no impact on the comp, their supporters were getting very uppity.

lol ImageImage
ImageImage

thejiggingsaint wrote:Well, I was talking about Smelbourne in the OP. For a club that hasn't featured in Finals for eleven years, who have had FIVE coaches in that period and a whole ruck of high draft picks, for little or no impact on the comp, their supporters were getting very uppity.
When they beat us in Rd 1 for the first time since before the iPhone, they've been arrogant.
The comeback in Radelaide after 7 goals down sent them delirious.
And now their 'Aldi' coach (who thinks he's better than the big boys and will shake things up) gets Hall of Fame status,
that really had them ecstatic.
Good to see them lose :mrgreen:

I thought Jonesy was talking Shytney

meher baba wrote:
Sainter_Dad wrote:

It's Gillon's wet dream, featuring The Cypriot in a bikini doing an erotic dance as the half time entertainment. Still better than Meatloaf!

The Fireman wrote:I thought Jonesy was talking Shytney
Nah Melbourne , growing hate.

Don't mind the swans, despite the afl gifting them success, mums side are all South supporters, so have a soft spot for them in that sense

Oh my goodness I agree. You are talking about Melbourne. Flogs is the best way to describe them. Start with the ruckman who has drunk so much of his own bath water that his head is on continuous wobble.

Jack Watts and Tomas Bug. That twitter post was just so bloody pathetic. Not one brain cell between the two of them. Karma no 1 Watts does his hammy. Karma no 2 which wasnt really Karma because who in their right mind would deck someone behind play after what has happened this week with Houli. And then the "apology" after the game. What a flog, thinking he can say sorry and "own it" but it was all about saving his own arse.

And Karma no 3, sniper Viney, doing his foot, that BT was 100 percent sure was his shoulder.

Oh it was a flogfest last night

Trouble is, Melbourne easily beat us and beat Adelaide who owned us. I don't like that at all.

spert wrote:Trouble is, Melbourne easily beat us and beat Adelaide who owned us. I don't like that at all.
Shocking kicking for goal has cost us games.
We coulda been 5th if we were accurate !

Smellbourne stunk it up after the first quarter last night and ruined my tipping in the process.

Yep, they probably should have won it last year. Half the frees of their opponents is significant in a close game. Dream on Dreamons

The Swans were 0-6.

The question is can they win a miracle flag from here?