Today's positives

Re: Today's positives

We haven't hit our straps yet !
Look out opposition when we do.

saintbob wrote:Billings, Sinclair, Carlisle, Webster and Roberton
This.

Oh, and very time Joey got the ball it was like a finger up to Brereton. He worked very hard, again.

And Gresh's mark. My kids had never seen such a good mark live. They love Gresh. I do too. He's going to be a ripper.

Mark aside... it was amazing

Gresham was very ordinary (being nice!) his decision making and disposal was horrible

Proph3t of egan

mr six o'clock wrote:We haven't hit our straps yet !
Good point, looking forward to when everything clicks for us

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think

BigMart wrote:Mark aside... it was amazing

Gresham was very ordinary (being nice!) his decision making and disposal was horrible
This thread is entitled "Today's positives".

It's for those of us who saw today's very ordinary game and would like to feel good for 5 seconds about some tiny aspect of it. Given we won. A positive.

By all means, start a thread called "Today's negatives" and knock yourself out. There'll be a stampede to post in it, no doubt.

I don't agree he was a positive

It's a discussion forum

I was discussing contrary to your opinion

That's all

I think it is what a forum is for, healthy debate

Big footy is the mutual wankfest

RODOS

paddy passed the c.o.g. test and will probably play next week!

RODOS wrote:paddy passed the c.o.g. test and will probably play next week!
good news!

BigMart wrote:I don't agree he was a positive

It's a discussion forum

I was discussing contrary to your opinion

That's all

I think it is what a forum is for, healthy debate

Big footy is the mutual wankfest
I can't see where SF or anyone said he was good tonight. Is there anyone else you want to criticise in the positives thread?

saintspremiers wrote:Positive is it's over.

Worst 5 goal plus win I've ever seen by our team I reckon.
When Saints supporters, of all supporters, start grizzling about 5 goal wins we're travelling OK. Gotta be better than the early '80's when, if we got within 5 goals, me and my mate would get pissed as nits and not make it home! :)

Yeah, If we start using the ball a bit better moving forward and start nailing a lot more of the gimme goals which seems like we never kick, the guys will be a pretty handy footy team.

Milne

WellardSaint wrote:Newnes showed them how the hell
to kick a goal.
Newnes, take a bow, son.
You done good.
Missed a sitter early in the first quarter though :D

RODOS wrote:paddy passed the c.o.g. test and will probably play next week!
#fakenews - he was knocked out cold and his career is finished - I know cause half of Saintsational told me so

carn_sainter

prwilkinson wrote:
Yeah, If we start using the ball a bit better moving forward and start nailing a lot more of the gimme goals which seems like we never kick, the guys will be a pretty handy footy team.
That's true, but it's a huge if. An if we've carried for 14 weeks now

Good win, was a danger game for us... we havnt hit our straps yet but if we kicked straight it would have been a huge win

Don't agree with it's how we win that's as important as what the ladder says... It says 4 more points than last week...

At the end of the season it's his many points determine if we make finals or not , it's certainly not how pretty we played in a game in the middle if the season

Give me about 20 ugly wins for the season over several nice wins any day.. in fact I'd be more than happy to win a very ugly grand final... point being were motoring along in the plus wins area , better than half the other AFL teams, a hell of a lot of upside

It gets almost depressive on here listening to the same knockers , every, every game

Gresham needs to be dropped. Plays too much like a show pony.

Sinclair and Billings were great. The backline has been our rock

[quote="magnifisaint"]Gresham needs to be dropped. Plays too much like a show pony.

Disagree- he needs to learn under AFL pressure. Composure and decision making can only be tested under real pressure. We have seen enough in my view to know he is AFL standard. Keep playing him.

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

Sainternist wrote:
meher baba wrote:Managed to get to a game in Melbourne for the first time in a while. I was really interested to watch our style of play. Gee we like to go wide coming out of defence, but it seems to work ok. Our tackling was awesome: indeed, our play generally was pretty good, except for our kicking in front of goal. And Longer: I take it all back, watching him live he's clearly not AFL standard.

I was super impressed by Billings: a genuine star in the making. And Sinclair. And Lonie. Carlisle has the swagger of a top
Player. Steven and Ross did well, as did Dunstan and Newnes.

Gresham and, in particular, Acres were dreadful. Bruce was good in all aspects except the crucial one of goal kicking: it's hard to know what to think, given that kicking goals is such a crucial aspect of his role.

We were sufficiently superior to GC to win by 60. They have a pacy midfield and a strong forward line, but are terribly weak down back. A better forward line (eg, their own) would have cut them to shreds.

But a win is a win is a win.
I agree with all of the above. Great summary, MB!
Yeah me too. I just watched the entire reply and could not understand the initial despair. I think it came from people expecting a 15 goal win before the game even started.

Longer very average. I was wondering how much better we could be if we had a good ruckmen.

We missed some easy shots, and instead of getting half of the 50-50 shots we got two.
Otherwise those people who wanted a 10 goal win would have been satisfied.

I could see that the players knew where to run and what the game plan was and attempted to execute it. I was happy with their effort and fitness.

Did Acres have a defensive role? He had a quiet game.

Lonie was better in the second half but I prefer others.

Dunsan was very good. Back to his better self after a quiet 12 months.

Gresham has been told to play with flair I expect but his efficiency is suffering.

Newnes and Ross are terrific, every week.

Geary was superb. His kicking in this game was very very good. Well done Jaryn.

Bruce did what we wanted him to do. Can't ask more than that.

I was satisfied. It was a game of football against a talented opponent. And we won.

magnifisaint wrote:Gresham needs to be dropped. Plays too much like a show pony.
He's a bit of a show off but at least he takes risks and takes the game on. That's a great thing in a kid and should be encouraged. Just you wait until he gets some more experience and the composure that will come with it.

I hope they don't drop him or Acres, who - like Gresham - has the balls to take the game on.

[quote="supersaints"]Good win, was a danger game for us... we havnt hit our straps yet but if we kicked straight it would have been a huge win

Don't agree with it's how we win that's as important as what the ladder says... It says 4 more points than last week...

At the end of the season it's his many points determine if we make finals or not , it's certainly not how pretty we played in a game in the middle if the season

Give me about 20 ugly wins for the season over several nice wins any day.. in fact I'd be more than happy to win a very ugly grand final... point being were motoring along in the plus wins area , better than half the other AFL teams, a hell of a lot of upside

It gets almost depressive on here listening to the same knockers , every, every game[/quote]

Great post from you, supersaints. Give me as many "ugly" wins as I can get compared to ONE " honourable loss" ( a-la Hawthorn in Launceston 2016)

The FACT of the matter is: we are in a better position at round fourteen, than we were at the same stage in 2016.

A better win-loss record : 7-6 compared to 6-7

A better ladder position : 8th, compared to 12th

Better points total: 28 compared to 24

Small, they may be, but improvements all the same. This time last season we'd been FLOGGED by WCE and Port. Belted ( in Roo's 300th game no less) in our first home game of the year by the dullbogs, and the season didn't look THAT rosy. Personally, I wasn't sure why we were getting all the plaudits

Another positive is that I managed to make it through a replay.

WIthout scratching my eyes out.

What a terrible, terrible game of football.

The Pinch Hitters

A mate wrote the following take on the game

https://sportress.wordpress.com/2017/06 ... the-eight/