VFL RD 10- Sandringham Vs Coburg

Re: VFL RD 10- Sandringham Vs Coburg

Sandy is in a bad hole losing to the bottom team who had lost their last 9!
Our depth is nowhere near what we hoped for and it is nonsense how some posters want Roo and Joey dropped.
We would have to replace them with players who can't perform at VFL level.

longtimesaint wrote:Sandy is in a bad hole losing to the bottom team who had lost their last 9!
Our depth is nowhere near what we hoped for and it is nonsense how some posters want Roo and Joey dropped.
yes

WTF is going on with our coaching staff
Skills appear average at both levels .
Last year we looked like we were building some good depth , now they appear to be treading water .
To be beaten on a good day (weather wise ) by a VFL team with no AFL alignment is pathetic .

For those that were at the game. who did play well beside Steele and Freeman?

Holmes took a strong mark and kicked a goal! How did he perform otherwise?

Also Rice did play or not?

sainters85

FT

SAN 8.15 63 defeated by COB 13.10 88

Disposals: Steele 36, Freeman 28 & O'Kearney 24

Goals: Fisscher 4, Steele, Battle, Minchington

SuperSaint

longtimesaint wrote:Sandy is in a bad hole losing to the bottom team who had lost their last 9!
It's an absolute sad indictment to the club's recruitment staff is how it needs to be seen. So many poor decisions on a number of early picks. The decision to trade an early pick for Tom Lee was the first of many for me and it's not as if we had a limited number of early draft picks over the last 4 to 5 years. Look at the Bombers, they bl**dy lost draft picks and still have a much better talent pool on their list.

There needs to be a serious cleanout of current recruiters as we have wood ducks in the role. Well and truly we should have had a much more talented list by now. Seeing listed players getting well beaten in the VFL at this stage of the club's development is inexcusable.

Losing to a non AFL-affiliate club who was second bottom of the ladder with no wins and 60% is just plain embarrassing.

Jacks Back wrote:Losing to a non AFL-affiliate club who was second bottom of the ladder with no wins and 60% is just plain embarrassing.
+1000

shrodes wrote:Question for those who go to Sandy games, how is Gilbee's coaching?

A mate once told me that he isn't the sharpest tack (hope this doesn't fall foul of the new rules - I do not know either way), so I am curious if the change in coaching has caused this precipitous drop in VFL form.
Nobody would know, he whispers to the players. Not a patch on Hudson or Simon McPhee.

anybody who was at the game:

Steele
36 touches, did he handball 28 times, or did he manage to kick a lot more?

if he kicked more, how nice were the kicks?
AR said Steele has great pressure and inside game, 6th top tackler in the AFL
but he just "needs polish"
so did he kick more, and did he kick well?

I was there

Hideous

3 positives (which all have negatives attached)

Steele
Freeman
Marshall

Steele is a mile above VFL but can't kick and he knows it so chooses not to
Freeman had a real go, but can't kick and makes poor decisions but tried his guts out, used his wheels and found the pill
Marshall lacks a bit of strength otherwise he's the real deal

If Marshall was out #1 pick in 2014 I'd be fairly happy and he'd be in the seniors

Our seconds were so bad it was embarrassing, farking hopeless.

Our decision to give Hawthorn pick 10 for this years first is not going to look great if Hawthorn continue to climb the ladder. Whoever we had taken with pick ten would be in development right now. Probably have a few games in too.

SuperSaint

Irrespective of the coach's ability, with the so called St Kilda listed player talent out there today, Sandy should have won against Coburg. Big time embarrassing, as already said by the other posters.

borderbarry wrote:For those that were at the game. who did play well beside Steele and Freeman?

Bailey Rice was good, not far a senior game.
Josh Battle and Rowan Marshall show plenty of promise.
Dmac was hampered by a corkie and Nick Coughlan looks like he may have a hammy.

Holmes will not be around next year.

BigMart wrote:I was there

Hideous

3 positives (which all have negatives attached)

Steele
Freeman
Marshall

Steele is a mile above VFL but can't kick and he knows it so chooses not to
Freeman had a real go, but can't kick and makes poor decisions but tried his guts out, used his wheels and found the pill
Marshall lacks a bit of strength otherwise he's the real deal

If Marshall was out #1 pick in 2014 I'd be fairly happy and he'd be in the seniors

Our seconds were so bad it was embarrassing, farking hopeless.
thanks for the comments
Did Savage play?
I forget if he's on the bench in the seniors
Steele lost a bit of preseason with surgery to the plantar fascia or some other muscle in his foot,
some folks reckon he's lost confidence and/or strength in the foot
(even if it's the non-kicking foot, that can affect a kick as you need to balance all your bodyweight on that foot)

Freeman might be proppy in a kick as a result of all the hammy stuff-
either he's not confident to really follow thru, or all the work has affected the flexibility of the hammy
When I took up cycling years ago, my hammies shortened (cycling does that) and I cannot kick a footy more than 45m any more

Not making excuses, but apart from Minchington, Savage and Hickey there are young players in Rice, Mc Cartin (off with injury), Battle, Lonie, Long, Mc Kenzie, Steele and White, none of whom are over 21 years of age and some of whom are only 18.

Then we have some Rookie List players including some still learning the game form other Codes plus some "top ups" to make up the numbers.

Plus Freeman returning from a long term injury

Hardly a hard nosed, structured side me thinks.

So, to me at least, the results are as expected.

The focus is exclusively on the AFL side, and as long as there are some of those named who are making progress and starting to put their names forward for senior selection, that is what Sandringham is all about.

You do not keep players on your AFL List to serve your VFL side and make your VFL side competitive.

Those I would like to see knocking the door down are Hickey, Steele, Mc Cartin, Mc Kenzie and White - along with Freeman in due course of course.

So we have only 6 players in the frame for AFL selection.

The others are works in progress.

It must also be said that Armitage is our only automatic Senior selection player currently unavailable due to injury.

Saintly66

Good news on Bailey, can't wait till freezer gets a game albeit even if it is next year. How'd people see NOK game for those who went today? Will we hang on to him/upgrade him to senior list next year?

borderbarry wrote:For those that were at the game. who did play well beside Steele and Freeman?

Bailey Rice was good, not far a senior game.
Josh Battle and Rowan Marshall show plenty of promise.
Dmac was hampered by a corkie and Nick Coughlan looks like he may have a hammy.

Holmes will not be around next year.
But how good were they really?
I mean this is the second time in a few weeks we have lost to poor VFL teams with no AFL alignment. If they were playing well surely Sandringham not be losing to Coburg and Williamstown.
The decision to play McCartin in a second tier competition has backfired too, and although injuries are accidents I question the development of him at present. He needs to be playing alongside our best players in the seniors and to be coached by our senior coaches.
And while I'm at it I think this is an indictment on the decision to abandon having our own reserves side.
That's it - I'm off to have a bex and a good lie down.
Last edited by samuraisaint on Sat 24 Jun 2017 7:06pm, edited 1 time in total.

samuraisaint wrote:
Have a good Bleep , and we will bee you at tomorrowb game full of bpiritb.

Enjoy your Bex
Last edited by Sainter_Dad on Sat 24 Jun 2017 7:08pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sainter_Dad wrote:
samuraisaint wrote:
Have a good Bleep , and we will bee you at tomorrowb game full of bpirits.

Enjoy your Bex
On my Qwert keyboard, the B is a long way from the S

Has your keyboard Bhit itself ? :mrgreen: :lol:
You may have dropped some crumbs down the gaps

Enjoy the game againbt the Gold Coabt Bunb, I hope the ladb can win by 8 goalb

George27

borderbarry wrote:Our decision to give Hawthorn pick 10 for this years first is not going to look great if Hawthorn continue to climb the ladder. Whoever we had taken with pick ten would be in development right now. Probably have a few games in too.
Yes, but don't forget we also got two picks in the same deal , that led to Long and Battle. I understand your point about a bird in the hand, but I still think it is a good deal. Of course it will be a while before we can be certain of that !

Marshall sounds the most promising.Strength is something you can actually improve a little bit.

Not sure how to improve the kicking of someone already 22 years old.

Also cant make someone slow faster or someone short taller.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Marshall sounds the most promising.Strength is something you can actually improve a little bit.

Not sure how to improve the kicking of someone already 2 years old.

My kicking improved after I was 2 - before then I was more random and unfocused.
And I jest because I am nervous about tomorrow and pissed about today!

lewdogs

Sandringham seem to lack a good core group of mature aged quality VFL types. Most of the Saints players in there are young, some figuring it out still, some maybe just not up to it it seems. Doesn't help that Curren has been injured but we need a few of his type in there.

For players like Hickey and Savage (did he play?) to have so little influence is very concerning. Hickey is a guy that was almost pushing AA as a ruckman last year, now he can't get near it at VFL level?

A bunch of others have gone nowhere this year such as Brandon White, McKenzie (who obviously copped a knock), Coughlan (coming back from injury) and the rest are raw as.

Sandringham's form probably shows up our massive lack of midfield depth more than anything.

Sainter_Dad wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Marshall sounds the most promising.Strength is something you can actually improve a little bit.

My kicking improved after I was 2 - before then I was more random and unfocused.
When I was 2, my aim was irrelevant
as I was wearing nappies (I think)
but as I got older, my aim needed to be accurate
but I still even now splash the wee all over the seat

WellardSaint wrote:
Sainter_Dad wrote:

When I was 2, my aim was irrelevant
as I was wearing nappies (I think)
but as I got older, my aim needed to be accurate
but I still even now splash the wee all over the seat