Really? Barry Hall a Hall Of Famer?

philtee

Really? Barry Hall a Hall Of Famer?

Well, he did save the AFL's ar$e in Sydney after Plugger left.
But I wonder what Matt Maguire and Brent Staker think about it ?

This is what gets you in to the Hall Of Fame kids -

Re: Really? Barry Hall a Hall Of Famer?

I'll never get over the fact he got off that report to play in the GF?
Absolutely ridiculous and could only happen with Sydney ( AFL love child at the time.)

Stian

Absolute COWARDLY sniper. He tried boxing when he retired but gave that away pretty quick smart when he found out that the opponent was allowed to hit him back !

What a joke. The likes of Lou Richards will be rolling in their graves.

P.S. Sadly, he never met his match on the field. I'm almost hoping that one day he meets his match off the field.

mcadam05

And yet Milne doesnt gat a look in

mcadam05 wrote:And yet Milne doesnt gat a look in
Would be a very courageous decision to nominate Milne for HoF. Probably best to first let the dust settle on that one.

Good player but you have to question whether he deserves the honour.
Can someone list similar players who aren't in the Hall of Fame?
Did I miss the moment when Fraser Gehrig was honoured?

Waltzing St Kilda wrote:Good player but you have to question whether he deserves the honour.
I reckon their might be a good case for a G-Train nomination if Hall can get the nod. The only accolade Fraser missed out on that Barry got was a premiership medallion.

It's times like these we all need to remember.....

Trevor Barker is not in the AFL Hall of Fame.

Barry Hall can GAGF, he's a stain on our club.

St Chris wrote:It's times like these we all need to remember.....

Trevor Barker is not in the AFL Hall of Fame.

Barry Hall can GAGF, he's a stain on our club.
He seems like a terrible human being, too. After hearing what he said about us in that Mike Sheahan case study on our premiership drought. What piece of excrement!

mcadam05

Sainternist wrote:
Waltzing St Kilda wrote:Good player but you have to question whether he deserves the honour.
I reckon their might be a good case for a G-Train nomination if Hall can get the nod. The only accolade Fraser missed out on that Barry got was a premiership medallion.
Start by getting a job on fox footy

Great Saints legends involved tonight.

Barry Hall
Malcolm Blight
Troy Gray.

I enjoyed watching Baz play for all 3 clubs - real presence in the game. Deserves it. Leaving St Kilda is irrelevant.

takeaway wrote:I enjoyed watching Baz play for all 3 clubs - real presence in the game. Deserves it. Leaving St Kilda is irrelevant.
Yeap, exactly, well done Big Bad Bazz, good bloke on and off the field!!!!!

Nice knowing you Bazz and well done for turning your life around ol' son, you turned your life into something from not much of a start at all!!!!!

Full congrats mate, well done!!!!!

A couple of thoughts.

1) Barry Hall did kick a hell of a lot of goals. But he kicked less than Sav Rocca.
2) Does anyone really care about the AFL Hall of Fame? Seems like a crock of nothing.

carn_sainter

mcadam05 wrote:
Voila! Now they can talk about how expert their hall of fame commentators are. As Con said, it's a crock of nothing, a breeder of sycophancy. The discussion here need not be about whether Barry Hall is worthy but about whether the Hall of Fame is worthy. Hagiography is never in the name of truth

carn_sainter wrote:
mcadam05 wrote:
Voila! Now they can talk about how expert their hall of fame commentators are. As Con said, it's a crock of nothing, a breeder of sycophancy. The discussion here need not be about whether Barry Hall is worthy but about whether the Hall of Fame is worthy. Hagiography is never in the name of truth
Is he still on fox footy. I'm not sure I've spotted him this year

mcadam05 wrote:Start by getting a job on fox footy
He doesn't work on Fox footy anymore. Quit last year.

Give the guy some respect. He's trying to turn his life around. He can't help it that his old man was a bigger prick than he ever was.

What's the process and criteria for the hall of fame? Seems like another random "AFL APPROVED FORMULA"

Barry Hall was a filthy thug who should have missed out on a premiership. He was no Stewie Loewe.

Anthony Stevens? talk about an average player… he might have played a lot of games but is about on par with Clint Jones or Andrew Thompson.

Goodwin was a good player, but he could probably wait till his coaching career progressed a little.

kosifantutti wrote:Great Saints legends involved tonight.

Barry Hall
Malcolm Blight
Troy Gray.

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

A thug,
A lunatic &
A never was.
Last edited by saynta on Wed 21 Jun 2017 6:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

Grimfang

I had assumed Nicky and Barks were in the Hall of Fame.....
https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2017/ ... s-on-farce

Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons; for you are a quick and tasty morsel.

Sav Rocca might feel a bit miffed:

All time goal scorers:
Goals Behinds Games Av
1. 1360 590 281 4.84 Tony Lockett SK/SY
2. 1299 0^ 306 4.25 Gordon Coventry CW
3. 1254 641 269 4.66 Jason Dunstall HW
4. 1057 523^ 267 3.96 Doug Wade GE/NM
5. 1030 690 248 4.15 Gary Ablett HW/GE
6. 970 0^ 294 3.30 Jack Titus RI
7. 926 424 270 3.43 Matthew Lloyd ES
8. 915 722^ 332 2.76 Leigh Matthews HW
9. 874 470^ 191 4.58 Peter McKenna CW/CA
10. 823 584 259* 3.18 Lance Franklin HW/SY
11. 817 612^ 366 2.23 Bernie Quinlan WB/FI
12. 800 551 282 2.84 Matthew Richardson RI
13. 778 777^ 403 1.93 Kevin Bartlett RI
14. 748 411 257 2.91 Saverio Rocca CW/NM
15. 746 421 289 2.58 Barry Hall SK/SY/WB
16. 738 471 251 2.94 Stephen Kernahan CA
17. 735 0^ 195 3.77 Bill Mohr SK
18. 727 330^ 129 5.64 Peter Hudson HW
19. 727 457 272 2.67 Wayne Carey NM/AD
20. 722 0^ 204 3.54 Harry Vallence CA
21. 707 0^ 230 3.07 Dick Lee CW
22. 706 450 328* 2.15 Nick Riewoldt SK

philtee

What Barry had to say to afl.com.au
We knew it. Barry knew it. Tribunal fell for it.

Hall also admitted he should have been suspended for the 2005 grand final that saw the Swans defeat the Eagles.

Hall was cited for striking St Kilda's Matt Maguire in the preliminary final, but successfully argued the incident took place "in play" rather than "behind play".

"There was a bit of a clause and we had a good QC," Hall said.

"The number one ticketholder at that stage got us a private jet.

"We had a limo at Essendon airport, got off the charge at the tribunal, got back on the private jet, went back home, it was quite enjoyable.

"It was a tense week.

"There was a little glitch in the rules and we knew that.

"I shouldn't have played.

"If rules are rules, I shouldn't have played in the grand final. I hit a guy."
- See more at: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-06-20/b ... KNpvd.dpuf