Richo's post match video

Was really unacceptable tonight but I'd like to point not out some positives.

Blah Blah Blah....

It's all just rubbish spin.

Maybe he can use some different harder words and actually follow through with sweeping changes at the selection table.

After 3 consecutive beltings most teams would not hesitate to make close to half a dozen changes. I know it maybe changing one rotten egg with another but change can't hurt when you are totally crap - we have nothing to
lose except another four points down the drain next week

Re: Richo's post match video

It'll be rubbish

We're disappointed, we don't like to play like that... we'll continue to work on our craft... blah blah

It'll be about effort, when in reality it's execution!

Tom_Sainter

Don't forget the.. 'we will demand a big response next week' and 'our leaders need to step up' lines... Until we can not completely embarrass ourselves playing interstate we are nowhere near a finals team. When was the last time we won an interstate game (not including a tassie game)? Would be the best part of 2 years I think.. that is diabolical

Static would be more interesting than listening to him,and probably more relevant

G'day saints members, really disappointing game tonight ...

Seriously, I thought we were okay. Score line didn't reflect the effort.

Replay that game in 2018 with Kelly, Rockliff, another decent mid, and some more development into our youngsters and it's a different game.

Adelaide have been developing for a few years now and are right in their premiership window. Unfortunate score line, but lots to work with.

suss wrote:G'day saints members, really disappointing game tonight ...

Seriously, I thought we were okay. Score line didn't reflect the effort.

Replay that game in 2018 with Kelly, Rockliff, another decent mid, and some more development into our youngsters and it's a different game.

Adelaide have been developing for a few years now and are right in their premiership window. Unfortunate score line, but lots to work with.
Thanks for that Richo

RodKeoghsLoveChild

Self preservation is all he is about in those post matches..

Like a midget at a urinal, I was going to have to stay on my toes.

Demons beat the Crows this year.
Was that in Melbourne, or over in Adelaide?

Doesn't matter, they beat them, and our team is supposed to be at the same stage

WellardSaint wrote:Demons beat the Crows this year.

Doesn't matter, they beat them, and our team is supposed to be at the same stage
Dees won in Adelaide because Hogan had just been diagnosed with cancer. End of story.

I'm sure if it was us we would've beaten Adelaide last night also with that sort of motivation.

As for Richo, his spin video from last night was spew worthy - in the words of plugger

Richo's post match video

I just watched it. It was NOTHING like most of the other videos.

He looked GUTTED. Exhausted. Very few of the stock standards rolled out. I couldn't see much spin in that one.

I actually appreciate the effort the club goes to to do the videos. And in some ways it is comforting to see the coach looking as devastated as we all feel.

SemperFidelis wrote:I just watched it. It was NOTHING like most of the other videos.

He looked GUTTED. Exhausted. Very few of the stock standards rolled out. I couldn't see much spin in that one.

I actually appreciate the effort the club goes to to do the videos. And in some ways it is comforting to see the coach looking as devastated as we all feel.
Yeah, I mean what can he actually say anyway?

He does sound s*** usually, but to be honest there's really much else he can say is there?

He could pay out on some players.

Billings, Acres, & Steele.

Target them and say they are young but old enough to take some responsibility and need to step up to be our future.

Those guys need to be made both privately and publically accountable

https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct= ... CzSmDvWxdQ

Richo is the King of Wishful Thinking

(from Pretty Woman movie soundtrack)

SemperFidelis wrote:I just watched it. It was NOTHING like most of the other videos.

I was expecting the super-positive party line in the video, but this was different. Pointing fingers at individuals achieves nothing, do that behind closed doors.

Looked as flat as a tack. Very worrying!

Clearly you don't get it Semp - you're doing this wrong!! You're supposed to piss and moan because your footy team didn't play well!

"The sun won't rise tomorrow, everyone at the club is crap and should be sacked, the kids starving to death in Africa are inconsequential when you consider - WE LOST 4 POINTS !!!," and so on.....

WellardSaint wrote:Demons beat the Crows this year.

Dees won in Adelaide because Hogan had just been diagnosed with cancer. End of story.

I'm sure if it was us we would've beaten Adelaide last night also with that sort of motivation.

As for Richo, his spin video from last night was spew worthy - in the words of plugger
Bizarre logic.
They won because they played better footy.
Hogan will be back in the side this season.

Agreed.

Richo doesn't get emotional and is far from verbose. He actually indicated a top to bottom review in response to a question, which inferred looking at everything, players, coaching and I would imagine systems. He definitely struck me as someone very aware that we have been strenuously challenged and need to work it out. In no way did he lighten our current situation.

The facts are that our second half was better and if we hadn't wasted many good opportunities it would have ended up about a 5 goal defeat. Still a real disappointment, but not catastrophic. If we knew before the game that we'd shut down Sloan and minimise Betts' influence, we would have thought we were in good shape. The real issue is that Adelaide, despite that, just did the same thing that The Bulldogs, Sydney and to a lesser extent Carlton had done to us. There doesn't appear to be a Plan B, or least its failing in execution.

Its good that this challenge has presented itself now, because we're going to need to conquer it to move forward.

I love it

When we win... we beat chests

When we lose... play it down

BigMart wrote:I love it

When we win...play it down

When we lose... we beat chests

Fixed it for you marto!

George27

I just watched the full press conference, and I thought he was appropriately blunt. Too many passengers. Not bold enough. He did not name blokes who did not do well ( apart from a passing reference to Wright ), but by naming 7 or 8 who did the message was clear that the others did not. No point in naming them ( although we are coming up to the 20th anniversary of Blight's pathetic Pittman comment, which had a happy ending for Adelaide ) ).

Didn't deflect responsibility. In the NRL there is a bloke called Des Hasler who coaches the Bulldogs, and whenever they lose he always blames the referees or the cheating opposition ( a number of the NRL coaches are very skilled at claiming Cameron Smith cheats whenever they lose to the Storm) . Richo did not do that. Acknowledged we were not good enough.

So I thought he performed well.

Of course I would have been happier for the players and him to play and coach brilliantly and for him to have a poor presser !

I left an angry comment underneath. Alan's overuse of the word "positive" helped provoke that.

WellardSaint wrote:https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct= ... CzSmDvWxdQ

Errr thanks for bringing back a terrible song from the past.

Sainternist wrote:

If you've seen Family Guy, Stuey takes a couple of characters into a Time Machine to the 90's, and a guy doing Dad Dancing in front of a huge ghetto blaster
playing 4 seconds of this classic and "that's the 90's"

I played the song on my TV from the PC, 5 times, and did dad dancing to it (my 2 dogs weren't sure what I was up to, but I was having fun !)
again, it's my favourite song from the 90's !! :mrgreen: :lol:

WellardSaint wrote:
Sainternist wrote:

If you've seen Family Guy, Stuey takes a couple of characters into a Time Machine to the 90's, and a guy doing Dad Dancing in front of a huge ghetto blaster
playing 4 seconds of this classic and "that's the 90's"

I played the song on my TV from the PC, 5 times, and did dad dancing to it (my 2 dogs weren't sure what I was up to, but I was having fun !)
again, it's my favourite song from the 90's !! :mrgreen: :lol:
Ah, I take it back then. Nothing wrong with a Family Guy reference. Nice one, WS!