Freeman

Re: Freeman

yipper wrote:
shrodes wrote:I think we'll have to accept that if (when?) he hits the senior team, he's not going to have that pace touted in his draft year. It's very hard to do a hammy and feel like you can do burst actions without popping something again. I'll be happy with good ball user and medium pace if he can get a game.
?? read my starting post - pace is back, hasn't lost any of it. Just now working on his hip strength so that he can get full power in his kicking - if you watch those video highlights - he is moving very quickly across the ground and finding a lot of footy. Gets to the right spots - he can play footy this fella.
Top 10 in combine history pace? I hope so, just trying to set my expectations low so they he can blow them away :D

I've done hammys multiple times, and the confidence to do anything explosive is tough to win back. But I'm cheering him on as I agree he is what we need.

White Winmar wrote:I agree, Yipper. Watching the highlights, he moved well, found plenty of the footy and generally used it to advantage.
It is that using the ball to advantage that excited me. as you said it is a highlights real. But how is used it was exellent. Even that one where he just pushed the ball forward into space so that team mate could run on to it.

Part of the reason why our ball use is poor in the seniors is that many players dispose of the ball to where their team mates are, rather into the space where their team mate will be. This makes them much less likely to get caught. And gaining the ball in space creates so many many more further opportunities and also allows the receiver to dispose of the ball better.

howlinwolf

I just heard on 3AW Sports Today Nathan might be making his debut against North Melbourne !
Club confident that he will play.He's pencilled in they said.
Hopefully this will be the start of a great AFL career.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

Hopefully we perform so well Friday night that it is almost impossible to make changes ( except Roo) . reality is he may well play

howlinwolf wrote:I just heard on 3AW Sports Today Nathan might be making his debut against North Melbourne !
Club confident that he will play.He's pencilled in they said.
Hopefully this will be the start of a great AFL career.
Damian Barrett isn't on 3AW is he?
I wonder if this will happen.

Personally, I think they'll see his consistency for maybe 3-4 more matches before promoting him

howlinwolf

Gerard Healy. Reasonably respected and a Sainter at heart.
Freeman has played 7 games in a row and the club is confident he's right to go. The debut would be a great reward and keep him committed to the cause. He's been through hell.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-06-08/a ... -for-debut
INJURY-PLAGUED St Kilda runner Nathan Freeman has "a while" to go before he's in the frame for senior selection, coach Alan Richardson says.

Freeman, who turns 22 next week, is in the middle of his longest run of uninterrupted football since he was drafted at No. 10 in 2013.

"For him to play 12 games in a row now, including one of the practice matches, that's a real positive for him. It's a great step forward and now his footy's starting to build," Richardson said at Melbourne airport on Thursday.

"It'll still take a while, I reckon, before he's right in the frame for senior selection, but it's heading the right way."

However, the coach said there would be no pressure on Freeman, who is contracted until the end of 2018.

Richardson was quizzed about whether Freeman could find himself in the mix for a debut in the final few rounds of the season.

"There's a chance. Anything's possible," he said.

"If his form continues to improve and grow, and he's got a lot of faith in his body, then he's a chance to be in the frame.

"But we won't put any pressure on. We'll give him the opportunity to keep playing and keep building his game."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-06-08/a ... -for-debut
INJURY-PLAGUED St Kilda runner Nathan Freeman has "a while" to go before he's in the frame for senior selection, coach Alan Richardson says.

Freeman, who turns 22 next week, is in the middle of his longest run of uninterrupted football since he was drafted at No. 10 in 2013.

"For him to play 12 games in a row now, including one of the practice matches, that's a real positive for him. It's a great step forward and now his footy's starting to build," Richardson said at Melbourne airport on Thursday.

"It'll still take a while, I reckon, before he's right in the frame for senior selection, but it's heading the right way."

However, the coach said there would be no pressure on Freeman, who is contracted until the end of 2018.

Richardson was quizzed about whether Freeman could find himself in the mix for a debut in the final few rounds of the season.

"There's a chance. Anything's possible," he said.

"If his form continues to improve and grow, and he's got a lot of faith in his body, then he's a chance to be in the frame.

"But we won't put any pressure on. We'll give him the opportunity to keep playing and keep building his game."

Freezer BOG for Sandy today. 29 touches - best game he has played so far. Just building nicely.

yipper wrote:Freezer BOG for Sandy today. 29 touches - best game he has played so far. Just building nicely.
Farkit let's debut him next week

George27

yipper wrote:Freezer BOG for Sandy today. 29 touches - best game he has played so far. Just building nicely.
Agree. We need to make changes. No one else knocking the door down. Goodness knows we need some positive news, and this would be a great story. Above all that, he deserves a crack.

Wombat15

George27 wrote:
Agree. We need to make changes. No one else knocking the door down. Goodness knows we need some positive news, and this would be a great story. Above all that, he deserves a crack.
Give it another week and let him build. Next week is a big game for the context of our season.

Wait till the Suns game, or Wet Coke at Etihad. Give the lad time, he's been in the wars

George27 wrote:
Sandy's best today apparently, which may be all he needs to break into a side that has been underwhelming for a month.

I don't know what the medical opinion is on whether he's ready, but it is hard to argue with form.

silverhalo

It's time.....let's pull the trigger now

silverhalo wrote:It's time.....let's pull the trigger now
Bang!

WellardSaint wrote:Wait till the Suns game, or Wet Coke at Etihad. Give the lad time, he's been in the wars
That's the logical thing to do but he's not a baby, we know he's mentally as tough as nails to get this far. We know a LOT of our 22 have been as weak mentally as piss the last 3 weeks so I'd say in that context give him a crack a week earlier than what would be optimal.

And because he's playing this week (I assume), give him only about 50% TOG - it's not likely you'd be concerned for the others if they have a bit more time on the park, especially with a good 4 to 5 changes likely!

WellardSaint wrote:Wait till the Suns game, or Wet Coke at Etihad. Give the lad time, he's been in the wars
That's the logical thing to do but he's not a baby, we know he's mentally as tough as nails to get this far. We know a LOT of our 22 have been as weak mentally as piss the last 3 weeks so I'd say in that context give him a crack a week earlier than what would be optimal.

And because he's playing this week (I assume), give him only about 50% TOG - it's not likely you'd be concerned for the others if they have a bit more time on the park, especially with a good 4 to 5 changes likely!
It will be a medical decision but please don't rush him into the seniors!
We are going nowhere this year.
Give him 3 or 4 more games at that level if not the whole season with as much game time as possible.

The AFL is so much quicker and he will have so much adrenaline pumping it would be devastating for him to be selected then have a set back.

Use caution.

Joffa Burns wrote:

Give him 3 or 4 more games at that level if not the whole season with as much game time as possible.

The AFL is so much quicker and he will have so much adrenaline pumping it would be devastating for him to be selected then have a set back.

Use caution.
Fair points, but he could break down in whichever game we choose to debut him ... whether it's next week, next month or next season.

I say leave it to the kid on whether he is ready. He knows his body the best.

Joffa Burns wrote:

Use caution.
Fair points, but he could break down in whichever game we choose to debut him ... whether it's next week, next month or next season.

I say leave it to the kid on whether he is ready. He knows his body the best.
Yes BUT, what is the kid going to say after three years of frustration?
I'm right to go 8-)

Is Aaron Hamill supervising his recovery?

bigcarl is right. Unless the club has set specific goals, I reckon play him now when the kid has some form and just start him on the bench.

He didn't injure himself playing in the seniors. The risk was in recruiting him...you can't say it's riskier playing him this week as opposed to next week. If he says he is ready why wait. Now that he's got some confidence and some consistency the logical next step is to play him with a carefully structured plan and limit his time each quarter.

Unlikely to play this year

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/st-kild ... bb8dce79f5
INJURY-plagued St Kilda wingman Nathan Freeman will have to wait until 2018 to make his long-awaited AFL debut.

Despite stringing nine consecutive VFL games together — his best runs since TAC Cup under 18s football — coach Alan Richardson said the ex-Magpie is “unlikely” to receive a call up this year.

Richardson said the primary short-term objective is for Freeman to help Sandringham push towards a finals campaign under new coach Lindsay Gilbee.

shrodes wrote:Unlikely to play this year

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/st-kild ... bb8dce79f5
INJURY-plagued St Kilda wingman Nathan Freeman will have to wait until 2018 to make his long-awaited AFL debut.

Despite stringing nine consecutive VFL games together — his best runs since TAC Cup under 18s football — coach Alan Richardson said the ex-Magpie is “unlikely” to receive a call up this year.

Richardson said the primary short-term objective is for Freeman to help Sandringham push towards a finals campaign under new coach Lindsay Gilbee.
The Zebs have not been going well.
They haven't been competitive and get outscored, so I think finals is a pipe dream at the moment
unless something miraculous happens

Wanting to play him now smacks of desperation and that usually goes hand in hand with bad decision making.

I think they continue with his program as planned and hopefully he demands promotion later in the year