WAFL thrash VFL again

http://vfl.com.au/vfl-falls-to-wafl/

VFL FALLS TO WAFL IN STATE GAME

The Peter Jackson VFL was defeated by 63 points at the hands of the Carlton Draught WAFL at North Port Oval on Saturday, continuing a run of losses in state games that dates back to 2013.

Casey Demons senior coach Justin Plapp won’t have enjoyed his first experience as VFL state coach, but WAFL mentor Michael Broadbridge and captain Kyal Horsley will take their troops back across the Nullarbor having claimed a piece of history for their competition.

VFL 3.4 5.7 8.7 10.11 (71)

WAFL 3.2 9.5 15.10 20.14 (134)

Goals:

VFL: Jordan Lisle (Port Melbourne) 2, Sam Switkowski (Box Hill Hawks) 2, Matt Hanson (Werribee), Michael Gibbons (Williamstown), Tom O’Sullivan (Port Melbourne), James Ferry (Essendon), Eli Templeton (Port Melbourne)

WAFL: Ben Saunders 6, Jack Bradshaw 3, Hayden Schloithe 3, Leroy Jetta 2, Clancy Wheeler 2, Aaron Black, Jye Bolton, Ryan Cook, Tony Notte

Best:

VFL: Tom O’Sullivan, Sam Switkowski, Matt Hanson, Bayley Fritsch (Casey Demons), James Ferry (Essendon), Tom Goodwin (Coburg)

WAFL: Ben Saunders, Shane Nelson, Clancy Wheeler, Kyal Horsley, Haiden Schloithe, Ryan Cook, Jack Bradshaw

Re: WAFL thrash VFL again

And the SANFL would comfortably beat both of them.

Lee & Maister both guns at that level too.

It's not a reflection of the competition at all?

It's stupid!

Every week 80% of the best players in the VFL are AFL listed

It's basically three clubs best players and a sprinkling of top up players at aligned clubs.

Sandy at Full strength would give the VFL team a run

BigMart wrote:It's not a reflection of the competition at all?

It's stupid!

Every week 80% of the best players in the VFL are AFL listed

It's basically three clubs best players and a sprinkling of top up players at aligned clubs.

Sandy at Full strength would give the VFL team a run
Not a reflection on Plappy's coaching then?????

Jordan Lisle - The spearhead... perhaps Plappy should have played?!

Plappy has a good record at Burnie, Sandy Dragons and Casey.

Coaching a bunch of blokes who didn't quite cut it in the afl ...

AFL Listed players play in both the WAFL and SANFL competions as well and are unavailable to represent either WA or SA

The VFL has more teams that either the WAFL and the SANFL

Further, the AFL Salary Cap restrictions on the WAFL and the SANFL to discourage player movements from the VFL to either SA or WA impacts including because Metro Clubs can pay more than State League Clubs can to attract marquee players.

In both the WAFL and the SANFL the AFL Clubs competing in those competitions are a long way from dominant despite fielding full time players versus part time players - and not being subject to salary cap restraints with situations where one player is earning all of and more than the entire SalaryCap of the WAFL and SANFL Clubs they are competing against

Many Victorian players move to the SANFL or WAFL for more money.

In the SANFL, the Clubs field League, Seconds and Under 18's on a Salary Cap imposed by the AFL (for some unknown reason).

So the salary on offer from SANFL Clubs to former AFL players is not a determining factor.

What is a factor is players returning to their original Clubs.

Hence, in the case of Norwood, you have Grigg, Panos, Shenton, Fuller, Georgiou, Terlich, Phillips, Wilson, Bode, Forster among others.

Their return sometimes entices others they played with, and became mates with, at AFL Clubs.

And players on AFL Lists recommend their former Clubs to players departing AFL Lists.

So there is Networking to build your SANFL List, which numbers some 70 or more players.

The Salary Cap (and I think it is less than $500,000- per Club) means players are not enticed by money.

ALL players on SANFL Lists are in full time employment other than their Contracts at their SANFL Clubs, which return pocket money only.

The AFL imposed Salary Cap on the SANFL Clubs (except Adelaide and Port Adelaide) was $360,000- PA in 2015 and I understand it has not moved from that.

And that covers paying players to field League, Seconds, Under 18's and Under 16's sides.

So the money is definitely not the attraction - and SANFL Clubs are under pressure from Community and Country Clubs to retain players.

Seconds players have to be remunerated at a minimum $75- per game, so there is at least 10% of the Salary Cap.

Part of the attraction (and a major one for wa and sa players) is the prestige of the wafl and sanfl - both were the premier leagues in their states, and in some respects, given only two clubs each in the national comp, still are. The vfa/vfl has always been seen as the much poorer little brother in victoria.

Agree.

Norwood were established in 1878, and have the history they have.

Pre the AFL, Norwood could recruit VFL players such as Jim Taylor, Bob Kingston and Ross Dillon among others who, when recruited, represented the VFL in interstate football.

Players of the ilk of the Late Bob Shearman and Len Fitzgerald and Haydn Bunton Senior went to other SANFL sides.

And the likes of Phil Carman and Michael Taylor (late in his career, then returning to Norwood) went the other way.

In today's world Norwood get a senior season or two from the likes of Aish, Dumont and Fantasia before they are drafted at 18 years of age.

Each of Aish, Dumont and Fantasia played in SANFL Senior premiership sides at 16 and 17 years of age.

BigMart wrote:Jordan Lisle - The spearhead... perhaps Plappy should have played?!

Plappy has a good record at Burnie, Sandy Dragons and Casey.

Coaching a bunch of blokes who didn't quite cut it in the afl ...
Quite aware of Plappy's coaching record/history, given that he has coached my young bloke, but thanks for your expert opinion once again!!!!!

Imagine how many WA hacks Twatters would've drafted had he still been coach ?

Justin Plopp! :)

White Winmar wrote:Justin Plopp! :)
Jeff Geischien once said, 'If Plappy was 2 inches taller he would have been the next Royce Hart'.
Not hard to see why Jeff didn't coach at AFL Level for long and coached the Umpires!!!!!

Plappy was a gun, at lower levels... a shorter version of Jack Riewoldt

Dominated Statewide League Tas as an 18yo

his height was the reason he couldn't play his best position at league level. As a FF.

Knee and serious neck injury then stopped him from becoming a solid league player in different roles.

His toughness was ridiculous in Tassie when he returned to coach Burnie. Bordering on psycho!

BTW stoney
I know Justin, he's a good man.

BigMart wrote:Plappy was a gun, at lower levels... a shorter version of Jack Riewoldt

Dominated Statewide League Tas as an 18yo

his height was the reason he couldn't play his best position at league level. As a FF.

Knee and serious neck injury then stopped him from becoming a solid league player in different roles.

His toughness was ridiculous in Tassie when he returned to coach Burnie. Bordering on psycho!

BTW stoney
I know Justin, he's a good man.
No worries, I'll say gidday to him from BigMart then, so he will know who you are then!!!!!

Surprisingly, that's not my name?

And I hope the name of wrestler isn't your real name?... seriously? I think it's an interesting nic

Remember SC

The North of Tas is very much made up of small communities and towns where everyone knows everyone. Especially in sport. It's no big deal.

I grew up, knowing who Eli's dad was, (a gun in the 80s) played against Mavs uncle in the early 90s, school footy/Aths against Matty Richo...

Local cricketers were Jamie Cox, Dene Hills, Shaun Young... before they moved down south. Punter played rep... albeit as an bottom Ager...

It's no achievent knowing someone of talent...

Yes Marto, your right, I could also name drop, as many on here could, but It is of little significance!!!!!

My Nic was given to me by some old footy teammates, (just to satisfy your interest)!!!!!

My interest was facetious

BigMart wrote:Surprisingly, that's not my name?

And I hope the name of wrestler isn't your real name?... seriously? I think it's an interesting nic

Remember SC

The North of Tas is very much made up of small communities and towns where everyone knows everyone. Especially in sport. It's no big deal.

I grew up, knowing who Eli's dad was, (a gun in the 80s) played against Mavs uncle in the early 90s, school footy/Aths against Matty Richo...

Local cricketers were Jamie Cox, Dene Hills, Shaun Young... before they moved down south. Punter played rep... albeit as an bottom Ager...

It's no achievent knowing someone of talent...
Everyone knows everyone up North or just related to each other?

Or sharing the same bed, which is why we have to deal with what we have to deal with!!!!!

<warning for baiting>

Is it just me or have multiple threads on here degenerated to the days of the now banned P66

The numbers contributing seem to have increased in numbers since that period of high jacking threads - but that may be in jeopardy given the high jacking we are again seeing