A message to the "rest Roo" brigade

Re: A message to the "rest Roo" brigade

DownAtTheJunction wrote:I would cut Riewoldt plenty of slack. He’s had a poor patch but anyone who has provided so much is entitled to some ordinary performances. This year he has kicked multiple goals and been ‘best on’ in some games. That’s got to put him way ahead of anyone competing for his spot.
He may need a rest. He may be injured, but let’s not be too quick to write his eulogy.
Agreed, I think he needs to be rested and not be played forward permanently. However, he should be cut as much slack as possible. There's no way I'm writing his eulogy.

Linton Lodger wrote:
The_President wrote:
Linton Lodger wrote:First centre bounce of the game, Seb Ross gets the clearance kicks to the vicinty of Roo. Roo & his opponent chase the footy and Roo is already hobbling 20 seconds into the game. He needs to be rested.

Riewoldt doesn't want to be rested.
That's the issue.
That's the Coach's decision.
You sure about that?
Some on here would prefer if it was named the Riewoldt Football club.
He was reputedly instrumental in Watters' demise maybe Richo fears his displeasure?

The_President wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:I dont really understand the OP.
The rationale behind resting Roo is actually to SUSTAIN his career.
Long season and he might even have next year to get through as well.
We need to be smart about it.

So yes I am fair and square in the 'rest Roo brigade'.

I'll be back here trolling you if he gets injured in the next few weeks dont you worry about that.

You'll find that the talks of another contract next year might take a while because one party is pulling left and the other is pulling right.
He's not doing himself any favours taking the ground on one leg and being restricted to the forward line.

Personally I'd like him to play on next season so long as he gets himself right and doesn't play as a permanent forward.

I would love Bruce McCartin or Membrey to kick 3 and have 19 possessions in a poor game

Should I stat a compare of the 4 players for this year for a laugh?

BigMart wrote:I would love Bruce McCartin or Membrey to kick 3 and have 19 possessions in a poor game

Should I stat a compare of the 4 players for this year for a laugh?
But Marty I've been told you can't look at possessions. Anyway, it was less than 20 so not good enough. And 3 goals? Meh, we kicked plenty so that doesn't count either.

Richo in a HUN article says they may rest Roo after the bye (ie he may not play in Adelaide), which will give him a break he needs. Heaven help us in Adelaide! Imagine if Bawoose or Paddy could kick 3 goals in a game???

McCartin needs to be rested.
Unless a loss is acceptable.

I don't think McCartin will be rested. He'd earned that promotion on good VFL form and it's a lot to expect for him to shine in a side that was comprehensively thumped.

That said. I didn't agree with Bruce being dropped to get him in and still don't. We need he and Paddy and Membrey in a young, developing forward line.

Roo played pretty well against Sydney after two very poor weeks beforehand. And his season before that was brilliant. I think he would have benefited with a rest against Carlton and we would have lost nothing for having Paddy in instead of Roo. Though at this stage unless he's struggling as much as he was a couple of weeks ago there's not much point in giving him a week off against the Dogs. We can genuinely outsize them up forward and we should take advantage of that. Also, he's got a fairly decent record against them!

mad saint guy wrote:Roo played pretty well against Sydney after two very poor weeks beforehand.
Very poor?

I could understand average. But very poor?

Bloody hell, I don't think anyone is suggesting that Roo be rested because of his form.

Its about keeping his body right and not curtailing his career. I'm sure Roo hasn't given up on winning a Premiership. If that's his goal and I'm sure it is, his body needs to be looked after. That would include minimizing his time as a forward where he gets hammered from pillar to post.

Well he is being rested as reported on TFS

Roo rested.

mad saint guy wrote:Roo played pretty well against Sydney after two very poor weeks beforehand. And his season before that was brilliant. I think he would have benefited with a rest against Carlton and we would have lost nothing for having Paddy in instead of Roo. Though at this stage unless he's struggling as much as he was a couple of weeks ago there's not much point in giving him a week off against the Dogs. We can genuinely outsize them up forward and we should take advantage of that. Also, he's got a fairly decent record against them!
I don't know about very poor but I agree with the rest of the sentiment

Don't worry. It's all good. Acres, Gresh and JB will kick 10 between them and a few more from Skunk & Paddy and we will somehow win

Maybe Gilbo can float up forward for half the game??

Good sense to rest the champ. We need to get used to "Life after Roo" anyway.

thejiggingsaint wrote:Good sense to rest the champ. We need to get used to "Life after Roo" anyway.
Unfortunately you are spot on.

Don't know about you lot, but the selected team will not look reliable without Riewoldt for a LONG time.

His body is rooted though. And really for the first time in his career it is readily visible.

bigred wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:Good sense to rest the champ. We need to get used to "Life after Roo" anyway.
Unfortunately you are spot on.

Don't know about you lot, but the selected team will not look reliable without Riewoldt for a LONG time.

His body is rooted though. And really for the first time in his career it is readily visible.

Don't write off Roo yet. I reckon he's perhaps got 2 more seasons after this. Just a little knee flare up but he'll be roaring to go in 2 weeks time to start play Radelaide.

Last game, 19 possies and 3 goals. If PAddy returns those stats the week we'll be creaming ourselves.

Melbourne surgeons use 3D printer pen filled with stem cells to draw knee cartilage

GRANT McARTHUR, HEALTH EDITOR, Herald Sun

May 24, 2017 8:00pm

Subscriber only

MELBOURNE surgeons have used a 3D printer pen filled with stem cell ink to “draw” new cartilage into damaged knees, opening up a world of possibilities for human body part replacements.

The breakthrough Biopen paves the way for the Melbourne-led team eventually to repair damage to bones, muscles and tendons, and even to tissue in organs such as the heart, the liver, and the lungs.

It has been used in six sheep to repair knee injuries similar to those commonly suffered by Australian rules footballers.

saintspremiers wrote:Poor Rooey needs a rest so says many.

Poor Rooey- and he's clearly sore but is often that way - still had 19 effing possies and kicked 3 effing goals.

So let's "rest Rooey" against the Dogs and get torn a really big hole that can't be stitched together. Why bother with finals this year eh?

Rooey is tougher than titanium nails - he knows he's got a week off in a fortnight and that will do just fine thank you very much b

:D :wink:

Note that is not Roo's normal wonky knee that is the problem at present, but this time is 'bone bruising' in his 'good(???) knee!!!!!

loris wrote:Note that is not Roo's normal wonky knee that is the problem at present, but this time is 'bone bruising' in his 'good(???) knee!!!!!
Yeap and may we'll keep him out for up to 4 weeks!!!!!

stonecold wrote:
loris wrote:Note that is not Roo's normal wonky knee that is the problem at present, but this time is 'bone bruising' in his 'good(???) knee!!!!!
Stoney did you like my use of !!!!! ? :P

loris wrote:
stonecold wrote:
Stoney did you like my use of !!!!! ? :P
Yeap, love it, keep up the good work!!!!!

Richo has today indicated that Roo is not actually being rested as such but rather has a sore knee froma knock that he received last game from which he has not quite come up from.

And indeed the OUT indicated: Nick Riewoldt (Knee) rather than Nick Riewoldt (Managed)