What was said to Murphy?

Re: What was said to Murphy?

Geary has rung Murphy to state that the saints went too far and to apologise. Reported on SEN.

Caved in again.......more ammo for media
Can not recall any captains ringing s milne after sledged!!!!

Murphy going to call jake....

Johnny Member wrote:
“Would you say that to someone in the street?

“Would they say that to Murph is they were walking up the street to him. If they did, I guarantee you it would be a different reaction.”
Such a silly and irrelevant analogy.

You can't tackle or bump someone in the street either Wayne.
Don't attribute Carey's f****** remarks to me.

Amend your post please.

Johnny Member wrote:

“Would they say that to Murph is they were walking up the street to him. If they did, I guarantee you it would be a different reaction.”

Amend your post please.

Is your name Wayne is it?

mullet wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:

OMG just about choked on my coffee. Wayne Carey the guy who walked up to a girl in the street and grabbed her breast.

Wayne carey who was having an affair with his best mate and team mate's wife.

Wayne Carey who has dabbled in illicit drugs.

Yep what a role model.

Good god. And all the girls that were paid off by norf to keep their mouths shut.
You forgot about the time he glassed his missus in the States.

Johnny Member wrote:

Amend your post please.

Is your name Wayne is it?
Have a look at your post and learn how to quote properly ffs, or don't quote at all.

I did say please.

chook23 wrote:Caved in again.......more ammo for media

Have a look at how many families and women are in the crowd, and in the rooms after the game.

Now that the media have put rubbish accusations out in the public domain, club has to go into damage control.
Respect for women is not just a cliche like politicians trot out all the time.

The player-led meeting involved no coaching staff and is commendable in addressing any negative public perception.
It's showing that "it's not what we stand for"
and behind the scenes, we'd do it all again, no regrets,
but the public face is different.
Malcolm Turnbull says "we all have to tighten our belts"
but I don't think he dives under the couch cushions for spare change for a Big Mac, I'd wager

You take a careful public stance and reduce criticism and offence,
but crikey, out on the field, anything goes (within reason)
Last edited by WellardSaint on Mon 15 May 2017 6:55pm, edited 1 time in total.

WellardSaint wrote:

Have a look at how many families and women are in the crowd, and in the rooms after the game.

Now that the media have put rubbish accusations out in the public domain, club has to go into damage control.
but I don't think he dives under the couch cushions for spare change for a Big Mac, I'd wager
Do you do that? Personally, I haven't,but I might in future now that you have put the idea in my head.

saintsRrising wrote:Geary has rung Murphy to state that the saints went too far and to apologise. Reported on SEN.
Now we've re-taken the moral high ground, I hope the media moves on.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-05-15/m ... ts-concede

Enough already.

Barrett's call for an inquiry belongs in the same industrial waste bin as his comments about Shinner.

And pity help Murphy now. His response just gave 16 other teams fresh material for some totally PC sledging.

Grimfang

Perhaps we should all bring a box of tissues to the next Carltank match? Can wave them at Murphy every time he gets near the fence.

Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons; for you are a quick and tasty morsel.

Still no word on what was actually said....

Another beat up

The media love this...

WellardSaint wrote:

Do you do that? Personally, I haven't,but I might in future now that you have put the idea in my head.
Showing my age now.
Everything is on plastic these days.
But I remember years ago, playing poker with some mates (just for coins, small pot)
and one guy used to dive into the back seat of his Ford Cortina for coins

Darth Vader

I back Geary and the playing group on this. Whether they really felt the need to apologise or were nudged by the club is irrelevant. They care enough about their public image/media response to do it so good on them.

Darth Vader wrote:I back Geary and the playing group on this. Whether they really felt the need to apologise or were nudged by the club is irrelevant. They care enough about their public image/media response to do it so good on them.
Like.

Darth Vader wrote:I back Geary and the playing group on this. Whether they really felt the need to apologise or were nudged by the club is irrelevant. They care enough about their public image/media response to do it so good on them.
Nice and succinct :mrgreen:
Not as verbose and loquacious as my own contribution :shock: :roll:
but as insightful nonetheless

+1 Common sense!

I never liked it when Anthony Franchina sledged Nicky Winmar over a relationship bust up. Some stuff is crossing a line. If we did, then Geary has done the right thing.

Takes the oxygen out the media fire in any event.

Let's go back to talking about Kelly ...

Jon Ralph has just given the Saints an almighty serve on SEN.

Because we were mean, we now shouldn't be allowed a women's team, other clubs should taunt Roo about Maddie, and, I s*** you not, compared St Kilda's teasing to Essendon's doping saga - we used the sledging to win at all costs, like Essendon took drugs to win at all costs.

I'm turning off SEN for a while now.

mullet wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:

OMG just about choked on my coffee. Wayne Carey the guy who walked up to a girl in the street and grabbed her breast.

Wayne carey who was having an affair with his best mate and team mate's wife.

Wayne Carey who has dabbled in illicit drugs.

Yep what a role model.

Good god. And all the girls that were paid off by norf to keep their mouths shut.
You forgot about the time he glassed his missus in the States.
Goddamn he is a keeper isnt he

saynta wrote:Murphy should harden the f*** up.

It's a footy field ffs.
I remember when Brisbane's Voss told a young Saints player that his father was rooting the young sainters mother.
We all had a good laugh about that...
I remember that one too. And our bloke cracked-up at the comment, subsequently missing his set shot for goal.

Clearly Brett couldn't kick straight whilst laughing his head off. :D

But our young emerging team still won that game against the (then) all-conquering Teddy Bears.

Grimfang

Somebody should alert the Herald-Scum to Jon Ralph's clearly apparent addiction to the drug, Hype.

Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons; for you are a quick and tasty morsel.

I wonder if teasing him about spelling Marc with a C would be deemed too far also?

So, what was said to Marc Murphy? (Apart from, how come your parents couldn't spell?)

Well, it seems that as the team's captain and (close to) best player, a bloke can only stand being told just so many times, that,
"Daisy Thomas is on way more $$$ you mate." :mrgreen:

dragit wrote:I wonder if teasing him about spelling Marc with a C would be deemed too far also?
Damn!

You beat me to that one, Dragstar. :)

The_President

St Chris wrote:Jon Ralph has just given the Saints an almighty serve on SEN.

Because we were mean, we now shouldn't be allowed a women's team, other clubs should taunt Roo about Maddie, and, I s*** you not, compared St Kilda's teasing to Essendon's doping saga - we used the sledging to win at all costs, like Essendon took drugs to win at all costs.

I'm turning off SEN for a while now.

Sledging someone on who might've danced with your missus is completely different to sledging someone about their dead sister.