Revenge - for those of us 40 and over

Today's game against Carlton - at home - presents as one of the more winnable matches on our fixture, and St. Kilda supporters born in the early-mid 80s would probably only see Carlton as an old time powerhouse - sort of like Melbourne.
But those of us born more than 35 years ago will remember the terrible shellackings and heartbreaking losses year in, year out, to the mob from Princes Park.

Off the top of my head I remember we lost to them by 100 or more points 5 times in a row at Princes Park in the 70s. In 120 games at Princes Park against them we won only 17 times.

In our first 120 games against Carlton at all grounds we won only 18.
We had never beaten them at the MCG until 1998.

Before the 90s our highest ever score against them was 114 - which was a losing score (surprise) in 1977, and had been equalled or bettered by them 37 times. Our biggest ever win was only 53 points.

At the beginning of the 21st century our record against them stood at 35 wins 156 losses!

Since then, younger Sainters who started following the club in the mid-nineties would have experienced minimal anxiety heading off to a game versing Carlton.
Since 2002 we have won 17 games against them. They, in turn, have 6 victories against us. Most of these occurred during our recent 2014-2015 down period.
Should we win today we will have won as many games against them in 15 years as we did in the first 66 years of the VFL!
During this period we have accomplished one of the most stunning performance reversals possible - we've gone from winning only 17% of our matches against Carlton - to 25%.
We have bettered our best ever score 13 times since the dark days of the 80s. And our top 7 winning margins have all come since 1991.

We even handed them one of their only 2 losses in their most recent premiership year, and it was a hiding.

I remember 1989 when we beat them on the back of a showcase from Lockett and we celebrated for six months afterwards - this alone goes to show just how much the culture of the club has changed since the 80s. Now we expect to win, and to beat Carlton, a side we only beat 27 times until the mid-80s, is just another game.

Having said that, for me, Carlton games have an extra significance and I will certainly be belting out the St Kilda song with my two sons at the final siren should we win today. Carna Sainters!
Last edited by samuraisaint on Sat 13 May 2017 1:16pm, edited 2 times in total.

Darth Vader

Re: Revenge - for those of us 40 and over

Yeah my most hated team by miles. Too many bad memories.

citywest

Let them ROT!!!!!!!!!!

wotever1

Screw them.
Where is Elliot now ? You arrogant piece of .....
Collins still ripping us of with Spotless

Spot on! I never do any good in the tipping as I have 2 rules. Always pick StKilda, never pick Carlton. (somewhat over 40)

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

I get almost as much joy over ANY Caaaaaaarlton loss as any StK win, so today will be like a double win.

I remember one game at Princes Park, where we all stood like sardines in the cargo hold of a fishing trawler,
packed tightly, stifling,
we lost that close one, and all I could hear were the shouts of entitled Bluescum
loving their Sticks and other cheating players
The enemy seeing our team as the Christians and theirs as the Lions
"go on, eat em, they're weak, go on, smash em"

hate the Bluescum as much as The Filth

Bruce G McAbee

As good as last week's win was, winning today means so much more to me. Carlton are a real club where the GWS is just a made up one by the AFL for tv rights.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Today was an underwhelming performance

Ape_Man

Bruce G McAbee wrote:As good as last week's win was, winning today means so much more to me. Carlton are a real club where the GWS is just a made up one by the AFL for tv rights.
Carlton hasn't been a real team since the draft was introduced. Without being able to buy a premiership they have been a rabble.

HardSaint

We still won today and that's what counts
The nearest I've ever been to getting in a fight at the football has been against those humorless entitle bunch of turds
The history of our poor success rate is ingrained with them so much so that it's its hurts like the worst insult when we win against them
As scrappy as today was, and the expectation of the sort of hiding we dished out in the mid 2000s, we got the points and showed them up again - always sweet to beat

BigMart wrote:Today was an underwhelming performance
We won mate, enjoy.

Twice they came at us and twice we pulled away.

Happy we won

Thought we butchered the Ball forward of centre

Who cares. It is a win and we would have lost that game last year.

Good sign

HardSaint wrote:We still won today and that's what counts
The nearest I've ever been to getting in a fight at the football has been against those humorless entitle bunch of turds
The history of our poor success rate is ingrained with them so much so that it's its hurts like the worst insult when we win against them
As scrappy as today was, and the expectation of the sort of hiding we dished out in the mid 2000s, we got the points and showed them up again - always sweet to beat
Pull your head in.

Never get into a fight about footy. Not worth it.

Only saying this as you're a fellow sainter so don't take it the wrong way.

Just don't do it. Walk away.

HardSaint

Pull your head in.

I said the nearest.... the closest, and it involved a guy in my face jostling and shoving
then going on to get in another Saints supporter, a dad with is 2 young kids

a call of "go home, mum's run a bath" from someone and the ensuing laughter finally dislodged him

HardSaint wrote:
Pull your head in.

I said the nearest.... the closest, and it involved a guy in my face jostling and shoving
then going on to get in another Saints supporter, a dad with is 2 young kids

a call of "go home, mum's run a bath" from someone and the ensuing laughter finally dislodged him
What a f***wit!

Sounds like you handled it well.

Saw the word 'fight' and reacted.

Meant well.

HardSaint

hey I've given 'em enough stick in this last 20 years to make up for the pain of the previous 20
the guy with the Nick Stevens haircut 5 years after Steven's retirement - really didnt see the funny side of my jibes

still, humourless, entitled and i daresay a little too punchy

HardSaint wrote:hey I've given 'em enough stick in this last 20 years to make up for the pain of the previous 20
the guy with the Nick Stevens haircut 5 years after Steven's retirement - really didnt see the funny side of my jibes

still, humourless, entitled and i daresay a little too punchy
INCORRECT
We can never ever ever give these pricks too much stick - never!

SAAD

Carlton flogs were out in force today...couple of incidents around the ground. One involving a blues fan throwing a beer on a saints fan. Glad we beat them!

SAAD wrote:Carlton flogs were out in force today...couple of incidents around the ground. One involving a blues fan throwing a beer on a saints fan. Glad we beat them!
Yep they must have smelt a win, lol. I'm glad we beat them. Just would have loved to smash them though.

HardSaint

Jacks Back wrote:
SAAD wrote:Carlton flogs were out in force today...couple of incidents around the ground. One involving a blues fan throwing a beer on a saints fan. Glad we beat them!
Yep they must have smelt a win, lol. I'm glad we beat them. Just would have loved to smash them though.
when they play us they always smell a win cos of the years of knowing they'd win, without any doubt
they get awful shitty and tend to lash out for their poor sense of smell
that aroma aint been around since the bad old days of salary cap rorting and cheque book poaching

You have a real talent for missing the point of the thread.