Changes for the Blues

Re: Changes for the Blues

BigMart wrote:Weller - ordinary?

Check his numbers
Surely I don't have to explain that I'm speaking about the season overall and not just based on the Hawthorn game

The mob was ready to crucify him after the first few games

twirlyhair

Weller, team leader must come back in. Would love to see Paddy play but don't know who would come out.
In Weller, out wWright but stiff.

longtimesaint wrote:
BigMart wrote:Paddy was average against inferior opposition, in average conditions.

If we look at the entire pre season/season... Marshall is close... but not required.

I would say

In
Weller
Out
Wright or Minch? Neither played poorly.

Roo will play unless injured
Minch was quiet after the early goal -I think Weller would come back in.
Mearball got 8 disposals till 3 qtr time. Last Qtr, he got another 9!

WellardSaint wrote:
longtimesaint wrote:
BigMart wrote:Paddy was average against inferior opposition, in average conditions.

If we look at the entire pre season/season... Marshall is close... but not required.

I would say

In
Weller
Out
Wright or Minch? Neither played poorly.

Roo will play unless injured
Minch was quiet after the early goal -I think Weller would come back in.
Mearball got 8 disposals till 3 qtr time. Last Qtr, he got another 9!

Yeah. Surprising comment. :shock:

we are going well when supporters start questioning Weller.

Don't be suprised if Steele is managed this week, but, not if Koby gets rubbed out!!!!!

coopergrech

Weller will be in for Wright, unless Stevens get rubbed out.

Otherwise whoever Mav comes in for will be stiff.

The Fireman wrote:we are going well when supporters start questioning Weller.
Short memories on this forum sometimes... ppl were calling for his head post Melbourne and screaming for it post his 15 disposals vs Brisbane. I'm not having a crack at the kid coz I didn't see any of our games from between Melbourne and Geelong but he wasn't particularly popular on here.
Now the very ppl that were having a crack (cough cough BM) are feigning outrage that he could ever be questioned

saynta wrote:According to the Saints coaches,Marshall is a boy in a man's body.

That would put him a long way off senior selection.
I think Marshall is too skinny for senior footy just yet.

Jacks Back wrote:

We had another skinny Saint in the 1960s- Ian Cooper

George27 wrote:Watching the replay ( more than once !) across the weekend, I thought Minchington did some good things in the last quarter. I think he will keep his spot.
Agree. His last quarter was outstanding.

The_President

I'm sure that I'm not the only one who is thinking like this.

But would love Paddy to come in against teams like Carlton & played deep out of the square. Give Nick a week off & have Bruce/Skunk push up high to fill Roo's spot.

Pull Steven & Ross aside and tell them to look for Paddy whenever they can.

Put Mincho & Sinclair at his feet.

See if we can force feed him a bag of 5 or more.

Just for confidence if nothing else.

The_President wrote:I'm sure that I'm not the only one who is thinking like this.

But would love Paddy to come in against teams like Carlton & played deep out of the square. Give Nick a week off & have Bruce/Skunk push up high to fill Roo's spot.

You're an ideas man!

Sounds good in theory, but this is a big danger game for us. Blues have fake confidence that may help them a bit

Our pressure and tackling stats may be a bit down given how much energy was exerted against GWS, so we need to play this match a bit differently

spert wrote:
Jacks Back wrote:

That we did. And he was BOG in the 1966 grand final.

The_President wrote:I'm sure that I'm not the only one who is thinking like this.

You're an ideas man!

Sounds good in theory, but this is a big danger game for us. Blues have fake confidence that may help them a bit

Our pressure and tackling stats may be a bit down given how much energy was exerted against GWS, so we need to play this match a bit differently
8 day break coming off consecutive 6 day breaks. Think we will be okay.

Dunstan & McCartin

for

Stevens & Riewoldt

Weller & Dunstan for Stevens & Wright.

Minch has played the small forward role well

spert wrote:
Jacks Back wrote:

That we did. And he was BOG in the 1966 grand final.
Ian Cooper was about 6'1" and about 70kgs, Marshall looks about 6'7" and appears to be around 90kg's

And I thought Cowboy was BOG in the Grand Final.

Saint wagga

dunstan in for Stevens
Mccartin in for Riewoldt
Weller (if fit) for Wright (stiff but Weller is in the leadership group and played very well vs Hawks, straight back in for mine)

I'll bet

Out: Roo (why play him if he's having knee problems), Stevens (sus)
In: Paddy - Give Paddy a Chance, Weller (if fit) - Richo totally hearts Weller

This would be a good chance to let Minch, Gresh & Sincs have more of a run onball. I think we need to be trying Gresh out in particular onball to see if he's got what it takes. He hasn't been hugely successful onball so far seemingly struggling with his tank but that seemed to be the long-term plan for him.

It would be a bit conservative to put Dunny back in the firsts. I think Dunny needs a chance to re-engineer his game a bit outside the white-hot crucible of AFL onball. He needs to improve his run and possessions and can work on that in the VFL for a bit.

Is Weller fit enough for this week? If so I would imagine that he will be the in.

If not, the Blues look quite quick and so DMak may get a recall as he has regained his form.

Stevens for Paddy? I am not sure about that. The Pies played a tall forward line and the Blues generated a lot of attack from their backline as the Pies forwards were too slow.

If Roo is out, then Paddy may be in. Or who knows Marshall fora taste.

However the way Richo was talking on the radio on the weekend it sound more like Roo would be playing. The 8 day break will help.

Out: Riewoldt (rested - Richo indicated he may); Stevens (suspended) & Wright

In: McCartin; Dunstan & Weller.

Lonie would be close, but I think four changes would be too many. If Weller doesn't get up, Lonie instead of Weller.

BigMart wrote:Minch has played the small forward role well
Agreed, but I reckon Lonie gives us more defensively in the forward 50. Also, Lonie was really good for Sandy and I reckon he's in our best 22 going forward.

With Weller, last in first out

We should not be taking Carlton in any way lightly and a full strength side from those available is the requirement

Given the references to "small forward" can someone tell me the attributes that define a "small forward" and why such a designated player is a requirement over a forward?

In terms of non key position forwards we have Billings and Gresham plus Weller playing forward and presenting and contributing as they are including defensively (which is a requirement across the 22 players)

Then mids such as Acres pushing forward

So I don't see that we need a small forward then absolved from nominal impact by saying it is a difficult position to play

Given Roo is 100% and therefore able to play around the ground and move forward I would still like to see McCartin in this week

To me he adds to the presence of Bruce and particularly the 188cm Membrey in the same way Carlisle and Brown have assisted our defence