I have 3 months to fight the big C

Playon

I have 3 months to fight the big C

Well after getting ct scans last week, my doctor's prognosis is that I have cancer with 3 months to live with little chance of survival. I can't tell you how devastating this is for my family. To say that im on an emotional roller coaster is an under statement, at my worst I keep thinking of how my 2 young kids are going to grow up without a father and at my best im thinking about how im going to beat it. It's extremely difficult to be strong all the time. I'm trying my best to make it easier for my family but often failing.
Some of the important things I've learnt in the past few days are, life is too short to be angry, you can never spend too much time with friends and family, never puts things off, when your times up its too late

I've been in hospital since visiting the doctors, the misses didn't appreciate my suggestion to wait until after Friday night's game. I guess i knew that anyway,
So now I have to beat cancer if I want to see. the saints play finals

Anyway I thought it best to explain why I won't be able to continue the tipping competition. I don't have a pc in hospital and don't know how often i'll have to be here
Does anyone want to take it over?
And why I won't be able to help with links
I'll probably only read from now on

I'm going to beat this damm thing, I have to be there for my kids

Re: I have 3 months to fight the big C

Good Luck mate, best wishes for you and your family.

Best of luck

I simply cannot imagine what you are going through. But fight like hell and then fight some more - the St Kilda family is a big one and we'll be with you every step of the way

Good luck seems a trivial thing to with for, but I genuinely hope you get some. So much of it comes down to this.

Make sure you stick around for a flag (or two).

Mate that is totally shitouse.

Would you like a visit from the players by any chance at some stage? I'm sure it can be arranged.

That God fellow is worse than AFL HQ.
He gave Cancer every first round pick for a decade.
Fight your hardest for a miracle win.
But expect the umpires to be cheating for your opponents.

During the breaks in the game, plan for your family's future.
Get the best professional financial advice, leave them videos for their birthdays and heaps of photos of yourself having fun with them.

We all hope to join you when our boys win their next flag.

Very sad to hear, mate. Have no idea what to say but we will be always here for you. Spoil your kids, embrace them hug them everyday.

Holy F***!!

What a tough situation for you and your family, my best wishes are with you Playton.

All of our thoughts and prayers are with you!

Positivity can be a powerful thing, and every minute that you can spend with your youngsters will ne cherished.

Don't be afraid to ask anyone for anything, no matter how silly it may sound, a smile, a hug, a word here and there can help lift the spirit and that is how you beat this. A friend of mine was given a 5% chance if he had the chemo treatment (for Leukaemia) 0% if he did not - he was that far gone - that was 25 years ago. I know that it is hard, but hope and caring is what it takes and you have more reason to hope and care - your youngsters.

I know that this sounds like platitudes - but it is the best advice that I can give - laugh and love and be loved - never push someone away because it gets too hard and you think that will make it easier, let them see you in your best moments and your worst - let them hold you if you need it - draw on their strength - use their love

AND f****** WIN!!!!

Prayers and Positivity

Belief and belief in the Saints

make every post- and every day a winner

You can beat it Playon.. You will beat it Playon
Just believe you will with your heart and soul .. I'll be barracking for you. I'm sure the whole site is..

All the best to you and yours.

Many who get through things like this say it gave them an edge and a sense for life that they otherwise would not have... may this be your story too.

there are no words......

fight the good fight

This is really sad news.

Obviously not across your situation but it might be worth getting a second opinion.

All the best.

The power of the mind is immense. Stay positive. Be an aggressive fighter. If there's a chance then you must fight to earn the right to live. Vitamins that can help your boby's own immune system to stay strong and anything that will give you inner health or help maintain high levels of nutrients for inner health should be researched. Keep planning. Live in the now but imagine and think about all the things you want to stay alive for. Never give in to the disease and never give up hope. I hope you get through this and see your kids grow up and see the Mighty Sainters win a flag

Sorry to hear the bad news P. Most important question - can you get to see the games in hospital - number 1 priority now we are tearing up the comp :wink: All the best with the treatment. You sound like a fighter. Just channel Lenny Haze going after the footy to beat it - fearless, focused and with the Saints army behind you. :D

Terrible news mate, all our thoughts are with you as you fight this thing off.

Playon. Your words inspire me. There are times in our lives when a game of footy just doesn't rate a mention in the greater scheme of things. By the same token however, there are also times when, because of a game of footy and following a footy club, you are touched by a sense of mutual love and support. Be assured my dear Saints friend, your saintsational family are with you. Sending love Dave and family xxxxxxxx

All the best, mate. Sending you all the positive vibes we can muster.

ace wrote:...During the breaks in the game, plan for your family's future.
Get the best professional financial advice, leave them videos for their birthdays and heaps of photos of yourself having fun with them.

We all hope to join you when our boys win their next flag.
I'm very sorry to here it Playon.

Unfortunately I have no advise of how to beat the big "c".

ace's advise of videoing yourself with all those around you is a good thing. The same for anyone with older parents. Get a video of the them for your own memories and also for your children.

I have no idea of your financial condition but I'm a follower of the Barefoot Investor and he had a letter from someone in a similar predicament with the advise looking at the financial side (I know, the last thing on your mind).

Question: Sadly, my husband has just been advised that his cancer has moved to ‘terminal’ (he is only 48). We are devastated, but the reality is we have to make some hard decisions about where to go from here. Luckily, we have always believed in having life insurance, and that will more than cover the mortgage, so financially my boys (10 and 13) and I will be okay.

Answer: My heart breaks for your family.

If I was your husband, my only wish would be to make sure that my family was financially secure.

So let’s grant him that wish.

Speak to his super fund immediately and lodge an application for a terminal illness condition of release, for which you’ll need sign-off from two doctors (one a specialist). This will give you access to his death benefit now, instead of having to wait.

Then, sit down as a family and discuss what you’re going to do. Now here’s the really important point -- turn this into a life lesson for your boys. Explain to them that you’re going to be okay because their father is a good provider who made sensible financial decisions, like taking out adequate insurance.

When you get the payout, pay off the mortgage, put something aside for a final holiday together (or to pay hospital expenses), put three months of living expenses in a Mojo savings account (extra if you’re taking a break from work), and park the rest in a 12-month term deposit so you can allow yourself time to grieve. The best way to look after your sons is to be financially strong yourself.

saintvic

I'm so sorry to hear this, wishing you strength and positivity to fight this.

I hope the Saints keep winning for you!

saintkid

I'm sorry to hear this too as Playon is one of the really nice supporters here, always respectful of other's opinion and happy to help out with any info.

Stay positive and strong. Doctors are not always right. There are many examples of people beating the big C and I believe you will too.

Best wishes for a health battle you will win, from me and the family Playon!

saint64

That's terrible news Playon. Love and best wishes to you and your family. We are all your friends on here.

Playon - please fight with every once of energy you have. My thoughts are with you. Please PM if you need anything at all to assist you.

Simon

Hi Playon,

such a difficult situation for you and your family.

I hope you can get some comfort knowing that you have this community supporting you.

Thinking of you.

Keep your chin up.