Seb Ross

Seb Ross

Best game I've seen him play tonight. Where others seemed to be struggling twds the end of the 3rd quarter he was running on top of the ground. He looks superfit and just keeps getting to contests. Ball use was excellent and set heaps up. Looked almost a cut above, dare I say. Best on ground for mine. He has well and truly arrived

Re: Seb Ross

Yeah I'm impressed with his ball use in the last few games. It was a criticism of mine that he wasn't damaging enough despite racking up possessions. But seems to have gotten that little bit more composure to really assess the options and take the best one.

Has Armo being out meant that he had to step up in responsibility? Bit of pattern here with Demps going out and Robbo stepping up, Armo out and Ross stepping up. Sometimes mid-age players need to stop having their hand held and be forced to take responsibility on the field before they will reach their potential. Which makes me wonder about Roo and Paddy.

Gun

I think Ross has changed a bit where he would often to flick the ball out the back and let someone else do the risky kick forward or crab it sideways to an easily open guy - yes thats an effective disposal but does it do damage? Now his first instinct is to try and move forward and do some risk-reward footy by breaking the lines and trying to hit targets forward of the ball even at the risk of getting tackled or turning it over. That is what is meant by taking responsibility. You back yourself to beat the oppo press and penetrate them. Onward Sebby old boy. He could turn out to be our marquee onballer.

Bluthy wrote:
Which makes me wonder about Roo and Paddy.

Bluthy wrote:
Don't you roll your eyes at me Emo boy. Its a valid question. We did a s*** load of kick-it-to Roo in the first 3 quarters. Roos seeming injury might have freed up space for others.

Bluthy wrote:
Don't you roll your eyes at me Emo boy. Its a valid question. We did a s*** load of kick-it-to Roo in the first 3 quarters. Roos seeming injury might have freed up space for others.
Yeah, retire Roo...

Bluthy wrote:
Yeah, retire Roo...

This is not the thread but we should be able to have an adult discussion about this without the emo, petulant, sarcastic, teenage eye-rolling. Grow up. :roll:

Gun. Will be next Captain.
End of story.

Bluthy wrote:
Yeah, retire Roo...

This is not the thread but we should be able to have an adult discussion about this without the emo, petulant, sarcastic, teenage eye-rolling. Grow up. :roll:

I'll respond anyway which way I choose, Bluthy. :roll:

You gave an opinion and I responded by telling you what I thought about it.

You just didn't like the response so you grow up. :roll:

Unlike some, I don't need 1,000 words to say it.

Sorry an emo offended you, but tough.

Grow a pair.
Last edited by SaintPav on Sat 06 May 2017 10:16am, edited 2 times in total.

Ross' last quarter was enormous!

Gun

Johnny Member wrote:Ross' last quarter was enormous!
The time and space he created and the poise he demonstrated in heavy traffic to pinpoint a pass to Bruce, who goaled, was a text pook example of how football should be played.

SuperSaint

He's a ripper and a quality person. Emerging as a star midfielder and will be better than Jobe his first cousin. :)

Freebird

Bluthy wrote:
Yeah, retire Roo...

Grow a pair.
Pav :roll: a troll is a person who sows discord on the Internet by starting arguments or upsetting people,

I love the way he has time to stop and look around when he has the ball.

Freebird wrote:
Bluthy wrote:
Yeah, retire Roo...

Grow a pair.
Pav :roll: a troll is a person who sows discord on the Internet by starting arguments or upsetting people,
Thanks for the internet definition Freebird.

Now fly away and mind your own beeswax.

Bluthy wrote:

Maybe, but you still had to have your little dig at Seb.

Totally unnecessary imhfo.

Of course we kick it to Roo

He's a champion, should he be ignored??

We kicked it to Membrey also (8 marks) Bruce (contested but was beaten) Acres
And our small impacted

Our forward line functioned well as a unit... they all can't kick 5 weekly

It has all year - except conversion

Proph3t of egan

Would be one of the Star mice fielders if he could kick a goal. The thing separating him from jack Steven is that

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think

Meanwhile, saynta, we can sit back and sagely nod our heads re Seb eh? :)

BigMart wrote:Of course we kick it to Roo

He's a champion, should he be ignored??

We kicked it to Membrey also (8 marks) Bruce (contested but was beaten) Acres
And our small impacted

Our forward line functioned well as a unit... they all can't kick 5 weekly

It has all year - except conversion
No, not ignored just rested when not right!

loris wrote:Meanwhile, saynta, we can sit back and sagely nod our heads re Seb eh? :)
Sure can Loris me dear.

The boy is now a man and the class midfielder everyone is hanging out for.

Was there for all to see, not just me.

Ross is quite an interesting prospect...
His talent, skill and spot is the team is beyond question.

I have to say, that I was feeling a bit frustrated with him at 3/4 time... he'd missed a square up pass and what should have been an easy goal and I found myself asking that same question again... for all his great work, is he actually damaging enough?

Then of course comes the last quarter and he's everything you could want him to be...
Not only a dominant mid like he had been all day but on several occasions he was the play maker too. Set up a few of those last quarter goals.

When Ross went up a gear the team went up a gear.

I want to see more of that

borderbarry wrote:I love the way he has time to stop and look around when he has the ball.
Me too!
That's the biggest change I've noticed in him the year. Hardly wastes a possession.