Sam Gilbert say F%$k U to all the doubters!

Saint_J

Sam Gilbert say F%$k U to all the doubters!

what a game by the Gilbo..............

Unforgiven

Re: Sam Gilbert say F%$k U to all the doubters!

I never hate on the guy, but I'll put my hand up and say I'm not a fan. Credit where credit's due, really solid game by Gilbo.

I think we've got him in a better role this year. As long as he's as far away as the opposition goals as possible Im happy.

What a game indeed.

Carpe Diem

Geeez do we need this thread every bloody week.

Yes he's in the best form he's been in for sometime... he's playing exceptionally well.

Many ppl myself included have criticised past performances. Most of those same ppl are praising him now.

Yep stuck it right up the armchair (non) experts, the "why is he getting a game" brigade.

Tonight is an example of why Gilbo gets selected.

I ask you the people, who no doubt regularly yell "just kick it", when has The Gilbo ever let us down in a big game?

He has finally found his calling. Relief ruck/extra mid. Aside from a kick off the shin on a fast break couldn't fault his game today.

Nice thread

most of the detractors have already pulled their heads in...but a bit late..everyone has seen that they really don't know much about the caper.
Last edited by The Fireman on Sat 06 May 2017 12:11am, edited 1 time in total.

As he has done all he's CAREER!!!!!

one of the detractors trying to validate their poor judgement :)

Saint_J

was a bit emotional tonight... thread just came about. nothing really to say sure you all feel the same way just that amazing feeling when u know all team is gelling and making statements.

one thing, this is the best defence we've had in a long time.

barneyboyz

Linton Lodger wrote:Yep stuck it right up the armchair (non) experts, the "why is he getting a game" brigade.

Tonight is an example of why Gilbo gets selected.

I ask you the people, who no doubt regularly yell "just kick it", when has The Gilbo ever let us down in a big game?
Most of this year is why he is getting a game. Many footballers make mistakes and in the backline it shows most, but Gilbo is a significant reason why we won tonight, and why we have been very competitive this year. Love you Gilbo, you are a star mate

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

Love him as the relief ruckman instead of wasting Bruce there.

Gilbo does your head in. In the first half he made some clangers and killed us badly a couple of times with his disposal and I was thinking - drop this guy. Then in the second he pulled off some huge plays with his spoiling and clean up work. He's just so damn versatile and adding relief ruck to his kit has been a masterstroke. The wild ride that is the Gilbo-express continues!

Bluthy wrote:Gilbo does your head in. In the first half he made some clangers and killed us badly a couple of times with his disposal and I was thinking - drop this guy. Then in the second he pulled off some huge plays with his spoiling and clean up work. He's just so damn versatile and adding relief ruck to his kit has been a masterstroke. The wild ride that is the Gilbo-express continues!
Exactly
You have to love his efforts. Never stops trying but
The thing with him is , at this stage of his career , If he was to play in a GF he would have to be the 22nd player picked .
You would like to think that many of the younger players had gone past him for consistency by time that arrives .

barneyboyz

Bluthy wrote:Gilbo does your head in. In the first half he made some clangers and killed us badly a couple of times with his disposal and I was thinking - drop this guy. Then in the second he pulled off some huge plays with his spoiling and clean up work. He's just so damn versatile and adding relief ruck to his kit has been a masterstroke. The wild ride that is the Gilbo-express continues!
Understand what you say, but many are making those mistakes. What is happening though is that the team brushes that off and says, f__k that, we're having a crack...make some mistakes, yes, but in doing so we'll also make turnovers. Some of our best players over the last few weeks have been our turnover kings, but man, they bleed red white and black, that's what I want, I do, you do and most every one here does and I just love someone who can make a mistake and desperately want to rectify it...Geary is king... and Gilbo...and Webster...and Steven

All turn over the footy, but really, these are the souls of our team

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

Gilbert was amazing tonight...he was far better than his statistics show...he was all over the ground contesting, spoiling, smothering, tapping on, shepparding as well as contesting the ruck and defending. If they measure these pressure acts he would have set a new record.

Reckon he'll score well in the coaches votes and the B&F.

The Peanut

Toy Saint wrote:Gilbert was amazing tonight...he was far better than his statistics show...he was all over the ground contesting, spoiling, smothering, tapping on, shepparding as well as contesting the ruck and defending. If they measure these pressure acts he would have set a new record.

This :mrgreen:

The Peanut wrote:
Toy Saint wrote:Gilbert was amazing tonight...he was far better than his statistics show...he was all over the ground contesting, spoiling, smothering, tapping on, shepparding as well as contesting the ruck and defending. If they measure these pressure acts he would have set a new record.

This :mrgreen:
+1000

Wombat15

Easily a smokey for the B&F. This bloke may cop a bit of heat at times but he embodies everything that richo wants from his players. Gives everything and more every week. May be the worst kick in the team but its been like that for 10 years so who cares. he makes up for it with his intercepts, body on the line and the fact hes willing to bang with the big boys in the ruck who are 10cm taller than him. Its great to see Gilbo has put the injuries behind him and cemented himself as one of the first blokes picked in the side every week.

citywest

The sooner Goddard replaces Gilbert the better we will be.

citywest wrote:The sooner Goddard replaces Gilbert the better we will be.
you really know nothing, Goddard and Gilbert are completely different footballers. Goddard is not very quick, has no where near the tank and can really only play as a tall defender. Gilbert has played almost every position on the field for us and is the utility player in our list.
Goddard iif he makes it (and there is no guarantee that he will) will replace Brown when he is ready

Proph3t of egan

citywest wrote:The sooner Goddard replaces Gilbert the better we will be.
Seriously? Gilbert had his statistically best game for the club of the year, and people are still calling for him to be dropped

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think