Martin, Fyfe or Kelly?

Who would you rather get..?

Dustin Martin
20%
Nat Fyfe
29%
Josh Kelly
51%

Total votes: 92

The Recruit

Martin, Fyfe or Kelly?

Was floated on Talking Footy last night...who would you like in the red white and black in 2018 if you can only have one....

Re: Martin, Fyfe or Kelly?

Next year, our very own Jack "Man of" Steele,
will be our version of The Bont, or Fyfe.
Acres will be close behind him.

Steele is averaging 7.7 tackles per game, got 10 in Tassie.
He got 27 possies.
He has hands like the Bont.
The 2nd goal from Koby, came from Seb, who got it from a desperate extraction by Steele.

WellardSaint wrote:Next year, our very own Jack "Man of" Steele,
will be our version of The Bont, or Fyfe.
Acres will be close behind him.

Steele is averaging 7.7 tackles per game, got 10 in Tassie.
He got 27 possies.
He has hands like the Bont.
The 2nd goal from Koby, came from Seb, who got it from a desperate extraction by Steele.
All true but we need more than that to win multiple flags which is our club's goal.

Notice the word "multiple".

wolfpup

There is a chance we could get 2 of those players.

-----------

St.Kilda Forever!
citywest

Get Fyfe and Martin as FA's...$1.2 and $1.0 respectively.
Trade Hawks first round and our 2018 first round for Kelly plus their second round coming back.
Delist Gilbert to free up some cash.

Top 2 in 2018.

Please note, if we beat Greater Western Sydney on Friday we will finish top 4 this year.

None

wolfpup wrote:There is a chance we could get 2 of those players.
Not possible

BigMart wrote:None

Ideally Kelly plus a free agent. Fyfe or Martin would cost too much though so maybe Rockliff.

We'd need to give up the Hawthorn pick and perhaps the 2018 first rounder to get Kelly but, if we did, we could get Kelly, Rockliff and keep our first pick this year (and Brisbane would get great compo so for Rocky). I reckon we could do that for about $1.7-$1.8m a year and would be 50% better in the midfield straight away.

With a strong backline, improving forward line and a decent midfield, we'd be contenders from next year onwards ...

Saint wagga

Fyfe all the way, and plan B should be Whitfield. Kelly isn't an out and out star, we have our own budding guns. Thats why I reckon Fyfe is the man. Like Dangerfield to the Cats, he's a star of the comp right now and he should be even better next year if he can get a full season into him this year, followinhg a full 12 months out with that leg fracture!!

citywest wrote:Get Fyfe and Martin as FA's...$1.2 and $1.0 respectively.
Trade Hawks first round and our 2018 first round for Kelly plus their second round coming back.
Delist Gilbert to free up some cash.

Top 2 in 2018.

Please note, if we beat Greater Western Sydney on Friday we will finish top 4 this year.
Rubbish

It will cost us at least 1.5 million a year to lure either Fyfe or Martin. Kelly has a million a year for 9 years offered by Norf. Those are very big numbers. Won't get more than one of those. I'd love to get all three and would sell the farm for that to happen, but realistically it won't.

Wombat15

magnifisaint wrote:
wolfpup wrote:There is a chance we could get 2 of those players.
Not possible
I believe with our expected cap space, possible increase in TPP and the new CBA will allow us to do this. may have to get Creative with the Gilbo, Roo and Joey contracts. I imagine Dempster was on semi decent coin which will come off the books also.

realistically there is a chance you could get 2 of: Fyfe and Kelly or Dusty and Kelly. Dont think we could afford Dusty and Fyfe unless one contract was front loaded and other back loaded.

Kelly for me, more precisely the player we need, he's also the youngest of the three and probably the most gettable.

I'd be surprised if Fyfe didn't stay put at Freo. If Richmond continue and have a good season then Martin will stay. That's a big if, because the wheels could still fall off for Richmond this season and that could see him leave.

At the moment Martin is the best of the three, but he carries risks. Kelly could turn out to be better, who knows?

All in all, because of GWS' salry cap pressures, Kelly is the most likely to shift clubs. GWS have publicly said that they are not interested in doing business with North, because North have nothing they want in a trade.

I'm intrigued BM, why not? Or do you have someone else in mind?

Let's think big
All three of them - premiership window opens immediately.

Maybe Rockcliffe and Whitfield may be more the go. more realistic. After his drug test debacle Whitfield may not be too popular at GWS, and they might accept Hawthorns pick with a 2nd round back.

Don't want the club to become about one player or even a few players

Have we not learned?

BigMart wrote:Don't want the club to become about one player or even a few players

Have we not learned?
I refuse to learn until we have another Premiership Cup!

Either losers or learners??

Hmm.. who says that?

ROLS-LEE

borderbarry wrote:Maybe Rockcliffe and Whitfield may be more the go. more realistic. After his drug test debacle Whitfield may not be too popular at GWS, and they might accept Hawthorns pick with a 2nd round back.
This sounds better.

Fyfe and Martin on 1.5m per year is too much. They are worth it on the open market like how Roo was back in 09 and 2010, BUT spending too much money on high end affects our bottom six or seven players. Can't have another Eddy or Mcqualter running around on GF day because we can't afford someone better.

Would love Kelly but would cost both our first rounders plus some

Best player currently- Dusty Martin- he is winning more games off his own boot than the other two.
Best player for our balance and list- Josh Kelly
Either one of those 3 would do nicely but it's the complications of what you give for these players in draft picks/players and salary that also determines what player and deal to go for.

Don't want any. Looks like we'll get a top 5 pick from the Hawks, and ours will be between 9 and 12, I reckon. Remember, Nathan Brown is a temporary fix, so it's important to snare another tall defender. Just keep building from the ground up, and keep sneaking a few more Jack Steele types for second round picks.

fyfe or martin for potentially not costing any draft picks where as Kelly would almost cost both our firsts

BigMart wrote:Don't want the club to become about one player or even a few players

Have we not learned?
If you've got sycophants and weak leadership led by an incompetent board sure, but if you have a coach who doesn't treat players differently based on their pay, why not? Beveribge didn't give a toss if Tom Boyd was a number 1 pick or if was being paid $1m plus. He played him in the seconds until Boyd got the message and got hungry to make his mark in the team.

I think Richo is also doing that with Patty, and I think our leadership on and off field is great...I say let's get elite talent and potential matchwinners into our side. I want a player or players in the team who are a class above, so I say why wouldn't you pay them what they're worth.

A guy like JJ at the Dogs has every right to demand a doubling in his pay. We should also target him