Martin, Fyfe or Kelly?

Who would you rather get..?

Dustin Martin
20%
Nat Fyfe
29%
Josh Kelly
51%

Total votes: 92

Re: Martin, Fyfe or Kelly?

I'd be delighted with any of these, Fyfe is the rumour, he'll be just fine

I'm tipping we get none of them.

Con Gorozidis wrote:I'm tipping we get none of them.
I'm tipping you're right.

Myron Gaines

Strong mail going around that Fyfe will be a Saint. Nothing to do with the Perth DJ either.

Source, MG?

I'm tipping your incorrect, in the nice way, let's see!!!!!

Club made it public from day one, we will secure a bigfish in 2017-18, so time is running out if we are still working to plan!!!!

Wombat15

Just including this because thought why not.
Apparently Josh Kelly and Jack Steele were both Room mates and great friends up at GWS. Topping 9 over 9 probably wont work in our favour but we can offer finals footy quicker than north will conisidering their list is on the down turn.

The Recruit

Wombat15 wrote:Just including this because thought why not.
Apparently Josh Kelly and Jack Steele were both Room mates and great friends up at GWS. Topping 9 over 9 probably wont work in our favour but we can offer finals footy quicker than north will conisidering their list is on the down turn.
This relationship does make a massive difference.....playing with your best mate is a a huge lure....kelly would be a great get and would make the steele recruit that much better. If he lights it up tomorrow night we know he is out to impress...:)

Ablett anyone?

Wants to come back to Victoria and probably wouldn't cost us a fortune hanging around the goals. Still playing great football.

Also, as Jon Ralph points out today in the Herald Sun, it would forestall a Dangerwood-Ablett combination.
Last edited by bigcarl on Fri 05 May 2017 12:36pm, edited 1 time in total.

It's all about Kelly. That's the word

MC Gusto wrote:It's all about Kelly. That's the word
At the end of 2016 Ahmeet and Co were clearly positioning the Saints for a trade and hence why they approached the Hawks to trade for our 2016 Pick 10.
For us to land a gun for 2018, we would already need to be in active discussion's with that player's manager. No gun moves on an end of season whim.

GWS don't give the vibe that they are confident that he is staying.

North clearly believe that Kelly is available and hence their monster offer. In reaction to that GWS did not state that he is staying, but rather that they have no interest in any North Player.

So I think Kelly is yes possibly available. So the Saints need to seen as an attractive club for him to join. Indeed we need him to see us as the THE club to join, and this why it is vital that we have a year that sees us as a promising team on the rise.

So we want North to keep losing.

We also want the Hawks to keep losing as they will be desperate for someone like Kelly.

Reportedly Kelly and Steele are close mates. That is good, but in itself is not enough to land him.
Reportedly too we have been chatting with his manager for 2 years. but again that in itself is not enough to land him.

We have the salary cap, the picks to trade, the need for someone like Kelly. We just need to get him to want to join St Kilda. and money alone will not get him to choose us.

GWS are either going to want both of our first rounders for Kelly or a first and a good player, this in addition to the huge salary we will have to pay is too much… would rather a FA and also take 2 gun kids in the draft.

Three players in, compared to one.

He's exactly what we need. Give up the hawthorn pick and our 2018 first rounder and in a a few years time, it'll look like a steal - even at a mil a year. We could keep our first pick this year for a mid and still (maybe) get a free agent.

That would be huge ...

North are too stupid for their own good. They shouldn't have declared there hand until drafting time. Can't see them existing in their own right in 10 years time.

magnifisaint wrote:North are too stupid for their own good. They shouldn't have declared there hand until drafting time. Can't see them existing in their own right in 10 years time.
Maybe they're just driving up his price to screw us…

magnifisaint wrote:North are too stupid for their own good. They shouldn't have declared there hand until drafting time. .

Do you really believe that Kelly's Manager would wait till drafting time for new clubs to table their offers?

If St Kilda is in the race for Kelly, we would have floated with his manger already what we are willing offer.

stonecold wrote:
I'm tipping your incorrect, in the nice way, let's see!!!!!

Club made it public from day one, we will secure a bigfish in 2017-18, so time is running out if we are still working to plan!!!!
You also said we were a 'lock' for Hurley and Heppell.

But seriously I have always thought Martin and Fyfe were not gettable.
Kelly on the hand - I think IS gettable.

The big issue is why would you leave GWS just before they win a flag?
I would win a flag first and then look to leave for a big pay day.

If GWS win this year then that makes it interesting.
If they get close but miss out then he might sign a 12 month extension.

May be the case. But I reckon we'll get someone who improves us.

With the sort of money you'd pay Fyfe or Martin and to a lesser extent Kelly, you could get two really good players.

I agree with Goro, Kelly is gettable and I think Fyfe & Martin will stay put (unless the wheels fall off at Richmond, which is possible).

The offer Nth have made to Kelly isn't really that great if Kelly backs himself. He'll be stuck at Nth for 9 years and for the last 4 or 5 years, maybe 6, $1mill per year may not be so huge relative to market rates then.

Secondly, Kelly has to be traded and GWS have declared that North have nothing of interest. Upon scrutiny that is probably are very factual statement. We on the other hand have picks and players.

Then we're on the verge whereas North are at the start of a rebuild.

If Kelly backs himself, I'm sure he'd be content with 4 or 5 years at $1mill per year, then see what he's market worth is in 4 or 5 years when he should be at the peak of his powers.

If Kelly is an intelligent kid, he should make one of two decisions. Stay put or come to us.

jackstevo

I think it is pretty obvious we will only get one as best. And just as obvious is the club should make a play for a FA first. Why would you pay for someone if you don't have to and as good as Kelly may become he wont be better than the other 2, certainly on the inside, and probably on the outside. I wouldn't be upet with Kelly but he costing at least the Hawks first pick and maybe something else. Making a play for other 2 costs nothing if the other club cant match. We may have the SC room ro ensure they cant match.

jackstevo wrote:I think it is pretty obvious we will only get one as best. And just as obvious is the club should make a play for a FA first. Why would you pay for someone if you don't have to .
Why would?

1/There are no elite FA's in this period

2/ The only elites are Restricted FA's.

With RFA's, if the player's club matches the offer, the player may choose to remain with his original club, seek a trade or enter the draft.

So what this means that with RFAs that there is no guarantee that you would get the player. In Dangerfield case the Cats and Crows went with the certainty of going straight to trading.

With Dusty and Fyfe if their clubs decided not to match the compo would in large part depend where each club finishes on the ladder. So if the compo does not look reasonable they may elect force a trade.

So I do not think it is obvious at all that the Saints should try and force a RFA. In addition Dusty or Fyfe might not like it either.

The odds of going RFA would increase if Freo or Richmond crash and burn and finish very low. If they finish mid ladder RFA Compo would not be as rewarding for them.

Here's one doing the rounds today: Skunky and Hawthorns pick to Richmond for Dusty!!!!!

Only a rumour and I hope it airnt so, I love the Skunk!!!!!

stonecold wrote:Here's one doing the rounds today: Skunky and Hawthorns pick to Richmond for Dusty!!!!!

bulls*** story. Has to be. Hawks pick could turn out no 1 and there could be a real gem in the draft.

Anyway the hawks pick on its own would get the job done.

stonecold wrote:Here's one doing the rounds today: Skunky and Hawthorns pick to Richmond for Dusty!!!!!

bulls*** story. Has to be. Hawks pick could turn out no 1 and there could be a real gem in the draft.

Yeah, I said the same thing mate, rumour mill is good hey!!!!!

stonecold wrote:

Yeah, I said the same thing mate, rumour mill is good hey!!!!!
I would be more worried about this mate.

"TIGERS SHOULD LAUNCH BID FOR McCARTIN: KB

IT'S only Round 7 but Richmond legend Kevin Bartlett is already looking to the off-season and more specifically the trade period by suggestion the Tigers should launch an audacious bid to lure Paddy McCartin.

McCartin is currently playing VFL for St Kilda, unable to earn a recall in the senior team despite a seven-goal haul for Sandringham against Collingwood last week.

Bartlett says the former No.1 pick is being starved of opportunities and if the Saints keep performing as they did in their smashing of Hawthorn last week, McCartin may not get back in the team.

With Richmond searching for a key forward to support Jack Riewoldt given Todd Elton hasn't reached great heights and Ben Griffiths is struggling with concussion issues, Bartlett says McCartin is the perfect fit.

"The No.1 draft pick is playing reserves footy and he's into his third year without establishing himself as a regular," he said on SEN.

"Richmond needs another forward key position player and badly.

"McCartin booted seven goals in the reserves and still no recall.

"All the talk is the Saints are chatting with the Giants' midfield star Josh Kelly and the name Fyfe keeps getting mentioned.

"The Tigers should start having a quiet word with McCartin.

"McCartin would be a great fit for the Tigers, through my yellow and black eyes."