Have Our Supporters Become the Softest in Victoria?

When it's the ANZAC round and we can only draw around 32 thousand on a Sunday afternoon home game against Geelong, then it's not looking good, is it?

This evening Richmond vs Melbourne drew a blockbuster crowd of 85,000, in the wet weather. Melbourne and Richmond, FFS!

To all those people who stay on their couches at home to watch it on television, get out and get some oxygen into your lungs, you absolute FOX Footy worms!

If our club can't get some on field success in the next year or two, we are bloody stuffed if our own supporter base can't even get out to cheer the team.

"Let us go forth a while and get better air in our lungs. Let us leave our closed rooms. The game of ball is glorious" - Walt Whitman

Re: Have Our Supporters Become the Softest in Victoria?

NO! (they have not)

thejiggingsaint wrote:NO! (they have not)
After winning two straight and then playing a top four team like Geelong and all we can draw is a little over 32,000; it would suggest many of our supporters are softer than ice cream.

One could say the same thing about Colondud the week before. Just coming off an interstate win (against one of the 2016 grand finalists) up against a side of kids, and the gate was what? 36k?

thejiggingsaint wrote:One could say the same thing about Colondud the week before. Just coming off an interstate win (against one of the 2016 grand finalists) up against a side of kids, and the gate was what? 36k?
Yes, that was a pissweak effort from the Film Army. Why do they not turn up? Are they addicted to FOX Footy and glued to their living room couches? Of course the Filth Army and Bummers will come out in their droves for the battle of the mediocre today. I really resent how only those two teams get the privilege of playing on ANZAC Day. I went to see the Saints in a couple of lockouts on Anzac Day against both of those respective clubs back in the 80s. It's lot of malarkey how they claim only those two clubs invoke the ANZAC spirit.

I go to many footy games, not just Saints games. I see the same sort of negative and PW stuff coming from other supporters when their side isn't on top as I do from some Sainters. Our club doesnt hold the patent on "soft supporters by ANY means!

Sainternist wrote:When it's the ANZAC round and we can only draw around 32 thousand on a Sunday afternoon home game against Geelong, then it's not looking good, is it?

This evening Richmond vs Melbourne drew a blockbuster crowd of 85,000, in the wet weather. Melbourne and Richmond, FFS!

To all those people who stay on their couches at home to watch it on television, get out and get some oxygen into your lungs, you absolute FOX Footy worms!

If our club can't get some on field success in the next year or two, we are bloody stuffed if our own supporter base can't even get out to cheer the team.

"Let us go forth a while and get better air in our lungs. Let us leave our closed rooms. The game of ball is glorious" - Walt Whitman
It's why I love this forum. How many footy sites quote Voltaire, Orwell, Whitman and Bingle with such regularity? Just love it. Sainternist the clubhouse leader with Whitman for this year. I did quote Aristotle earlier, but I think my finest work was quoting Andrew O'Keefe (apocraphyl).

thejiggingsaint wrote:I go to many footy games, not just Saints games. I see the same sort of negative and PW stuff coming from other supporters when their side isn't on top as I do from some Sainters. Our club doesnt hold the patent on "soft supporters by ANY means!
Get your head out of the blue sky jiggler.

We had won 2 on the trot. Thy had won 4 on the trot. Beautiful autumn weather and only 33K.

If you think that's fine then I feel sorry for you.

Unless the problem is Jihad. It's not a great venue compared to the G. Food prices are a rip off and I hate the closed roof when it's warm outside. Also, the game wa live on channel 7 and clearly plenty of fans CBF.

FYI we played Richmond on Anzac Eve a few years back and got a good crowd at Etihad.

We've done well losing prime slots at a whim.

Junior footy for a hell of a lot of people Sunday arvo.

CURLY wrote:Junior footy for a hell of a lot of people Sunday arvo.
Exactly!!!! I wish people would get this. Sunday games are very difficult for families, especially those who are supporting the next generation of players

Can someone give me more info on this? Curious to know why they dont play Saturday or, at the least, Sunday morning? Is it a lack of suitable ovals and they have to share?

SP "get my head out of the Blue sky" ?? What? and join YOU? In "gloomanddoomville"? are you out of your mind? Just why would I do THAT? No need to "feel sorry" for me either.... dont want your "sympathy" ( :roll: ) nor do I require it.

Stevie, I went to see my Grandson in the under tens on Sunday morning at Ashwood Oval, and there were tons of kids there waiting to play.... its like a darn conveyor belt!

stevie wrote:
Can someone give me more info on this? Curious to know why they dont play Saturday or, at the least, Sunday morning? Is it a lack of suitable ovals and they have to share?
All our games are Sunday. Saturday is Auskick.

My youngest and I arrived at half time (he played at 12.30 in woop woop). The other half went with my oldest to his 3.15 game. They watched the last quarter at home on tv.

The older they get, the later in the day they play.

So we bloody hate our Sunday fixture ...

Twilight Zombie Zone timeslot.
Play the game on Anzac day at the G and there would have been 70,000

SemperFidelis wrote:
stevie wrote:
All our games are Sunday. Saturday is Auskick.

My youngest and I arrived at half time (he played at 12.30 in woop woop). The other half went with my oldest to his 3.15 game. They watched the last quarter at home on tv.

The older they get, the later in the day they play.

So we bloody hate our Sunday fixture ...
Cheers guys. so why does this Auskick take over Saturdays? Does anyone play at night? MY son is under 10's up here this year, first game was last weekend. Ok i know its Qld and all but there are still a lot of kids playing aussie rule up here each weekend.

My sons first 4 games are Sat morn, either 9 or 10 am. During the year we will have a couple of Friday night games under lights and a couple of Sunday mornings(which I love btw).

Sainternist wrote:When it's the ANZAC round and we can only draw around 32 thousand on a Sunday afternoon home game against Geelong, then it's not looking good, is it?

That's what happens when you invest into a south east region miles away from the city - you build supporters but it's too far to generate revenue from them.

I use Palmolive

The Fireman wrote:I use Palmolive
Mrs Palmolive??

satchmo wrote:
Mrs Palmolive??
gender bias ?

The Fireman wrote:
satchmo wrote:
Mrs Palmolive??
gender bias ?
Get a room, you two!

I was fairly pliable after attending the match on Sunday.

My apologies but work came first this week. As it does for those of us whose name does not end in Packer.

But you are right. An exceptionally poor crowd when you consider the previous two contests between the clubs.

Sainternist wrote:
The Fireman wrote:
satchmo wrote:
Mrs Palmolive??
gender bias ?
Get a room, you two!
we have one...come on in.

thejiggingsaint wrote:I go to many footy games, not just Saints games. I see the same sort of negative and PW stuff coming from other supporters when their side isn't on top as I do from some Sainters. Our club doesnt hold the patent on "soft supporters by ANY means!
Get your head out of the blue sky jiggler.

We had won 2 on the trot. Thy had won 4 on the trot. Beautiful autumn weather and only 33K.

If you think that's fine then I feel sorry for you.

Unless the problem is Jihad. It's not a great venue compared to the G. Food prices are a rip off and I hate the closed roof when it's warm outside. Also, the game wa live on channel 7 and clearly plenty of fans CBF.

FYI we played Richmond on Anzac Eve a few years back and got a good crowd at Etihad.

We've done well losing prime slots at a whim.

One should never critique the jiggster .
In my eyes he is a demi-god .
I worship the pork-pie hat !

Saying that Docklands ! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Food Prices ;
Gilligan was gunna fix them wasn't he ! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Roof Closed ;
Ch7 like it shut cos the game looks better !
Gilligan , whose running the game :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Sunday twilight time slot .
Fans of all clubs hate time slot
So the smaller Vic clubs draw the short straw .
The Dogs had to win the flag to get some decent time slots .
Another thing i'm sure Gilligan will help us out with :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: