Changes v Hawks

Re: Changes v Hawks

BigMart wrote:Radical changes

No

Just obvious ones?!

Why can't we just do what Luke Bev does and drop players who don't perform

Jacks Back wrote:

No

Just obvious ones?!

To do this you need to have some idea about who is not performing rather than just having a perceived whipping boy (i.e Gilbert)

longtimesaint wrote:Do any of you posters that want radical changes ever watch the matches? -there is so much rubbish spoken.
Dropping either Webster or Gilbert is plain stupid -Webster had a quiet game and made one bad turnover but was among oukvery best the week before.
Gilbert is one of our most desperate players and does more 1%'eras than anyone.
To bring in a kid like White who is not even in the best at Sandy is laughable.
It is time to realize that we are a developing side and at this stage will not often best top four sides.
With another pre-season and further draft/trading we might be there next year.
We are a developing side, and we need to develop the players that will lead us to a flag.

Sinclair must play.
Dunstan should go out.
Then give Long a spell and bring in DMac.
Out: Dunny,Long, Longer
In: Hickey, Sinclair, DMac

Stevens for Gilbo an option just to see where Stevens is at and rest Gilbo.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Sinclair must play.
Dunstan should go out.

Stevens has concussion.

Might not be fit to even play.

Out: Dunstan & Long
In: Stevens & Sinclair

In : Hickey & Sinclair
Out: Longer & Long
Hickey more atheletic and fresher against McEvoy.
We need plenty of pace and run to beat Hawks.

Dunstan should go out.

Stevens has concussion.

Fair call. Scrub Stevens.

Gives us more run and carry (the way to beat hawks) and Sinclair cant get less touches than Dunstan (12).

Out Minchington (can only play against Geelong), Long.

In Sinclair, DMac

Dunstan should go out.

Stevens has concussion.

Fitness test for Koby

In the last quarter we were out contested with Geelong always seeming to have that one extra player - and those players on the end of the contests having pace and flair.

Our ruck contest fell away, so the ball was being put to the advantage of their mids exclusively who had the supports noted above.

Then we had a few things going against us like the ball bouncing on its end and back over Montagna's head and some protection being afforded certain Geelong players.

And not defending the goal square off marking contests so our small defenders need to be looked at.

Plus we had Longer being exposed for mobility and impact so Geelong virtually with one extra player.

So look at the aspects of the game where we were exposed, noting we were able to cover those aspects for 3 quarters before the holes saw us exposed in the last quarter.

Geelong out structured us all day - and it told in the end.

That is a coaching and selection issue.

So, for next week, we firstly have to look at our structure acknowledging who our next opponent is, and where.

We can not go into a game giving away such an advantage because it will come back to bite us.

And look at the ability of EVERY player to run, carry and deliver whenever they are on the end of the contest chain and are put in space.

Because Geelong killed us there too.

In the last quarter they just had one too many for us to actually force the ball into a contest.

White Winmar wrote:Clubs were lining up to give usa Kate first rounder, early second rounder for him. Rejected them all. Thanks genius.

I'll take this one thanks 8-)

Outs: Longer, Long, Bruce and Dunstan

Ins: Hickey, Sinclair, Marshall and Stevens

Longer not good enough around the ground

Long now knows where he needs to improve to play AFL

Bruce and Dunstan need the kick in the arse a stint in the VFL should provide!!

Once again, I reckon we lacked that extra midfielder/running-type player.

Blitszards (sp?) provided them with what was effectively that extra player, and particularly in the latter part of the third, he had a real impact. And in that final quarter, the extra runner could well have meant our runners wouldn't have tired as much.

For next week, and assuming no fitness issues...
- Stevens in for Long. (Sorry to see Long go though.)
- Hickey (or anyone else on the list) for Billy.
- Next in line - Sinclair and White (whom I reckon we need to look at fast tracking a bit, if possible).

Paddy: is not ready to be returned yet! Marto is correct. He ain't AFL-level fit, and it's holding up his progress - big time!!!
I'd take the (apparently) controversial step of pulling him from playing for several weeks (or more), so he can concentrate full time on hitting-the-track and hitting-the-gym. Come back a new man in the latter part of the season, and he'll show us some of what he can really do!

And also, I still want some more from DS's man Dunstan.

PS: From listening to Richo's post-game address to us members:
Sinclair would have to be a pretty good shot for next week.
But the standout point for me - Billy. Wow! Talk about textbook 'being damned with faint praise'.

Some of you may get your wishes, I reckon Richo might be making a few changes after seeing him on AFL360 last night. He looked like he was seething, particularly when Chris Scott said that in the end the game wasn't won by the tactical battle, that it was his leaders that stood up and went up a level in the final quarter. The look on Richo's face was sheer disappointment and annoyance, he agreed with Scott and it was obvious he was really disappointed with how we responded when the game was up for grabs. He wasn't a happy camper at all. Good to see.

Saint wagga

Linton Lodger wrote:Some of you may get your wishes, I reckon Richo might be making a few changes after seeing him on AFL360 last night. He looked like he was seething, particularly when Chris Scott said that in the end the game wasn't won by the tactical battle, that it was his leaders that stood up and went up a level in the final quarter. The look on Richo's face was sheer disappointment and annoyance, he agreed with Scott and it was obvious he was really disappointed with how we responded when the game was up for grabs. He wasn't a happy camper at all. Good to see.
I hope he put the blowtorch on himself for some selection howlers - we basically played 2 men short with Longer and Long having near zero impact on the entire game. I'm not fazed by Long, he has talent and looks a player, but why was he fast tracked into the side with no runs on the board?? and that stinks i reckon!! Go back to Sandy young lad, rack up 20-30 posi's and a couple of goals for a month and do what Minch, Lonie, templeton before him have all had to do to squeeze into a defensive forward slot. As for Longer, I guess they had to give him a go to keep his hunger up, but he was really really bad. So we essentailly were 2 men down on output.

Saint wagga wrote:
Linton Lodger wrote:Some of you may get your wishes, I reckon Richo might be making a few changes after seeing him on AFL360 last night. He looked like he was seething, particularly when Chris Scott said that in the end the game wasn't won by the tactical battle, that it was his leaders that stood up and went up a level in the final quarter. The look on Richo's face was sheer disappointment and annoyance, he agreed with Scott and it was obvious he was really disappointed with how we responded when the game was up for grabs. He wasn't a happy camper at all. Good to see.
I hope he put the blowtorch on himself for some selection howlers - we basically played 2 men short with Longer and Long having near zero impact on the entire game. I'm not fazed by Long, he has talent and looks a player, but why was he fast tracked into the side with no runs on the board?? and that stinks i reckon!! Go back to Sandy young lad, rack up 20-30 posi's and a couple of goals for a month and do what Minch, Lonie, templeton before him have all had to do to squeeze into a defensive forward slot. As for Longer, I guess they had to give him a go to keep his hunger up, but he was really really bad. So we essentailly were 2 men down on output.
re Long - he looked like he would steo right in during the JLT and some kids do that - see Pepper-Powell and Long's mate at Geelong. So worth the test - unfortunately he looks a fair way off so back he goes - but maybe that decision should have been made after his first game.

Joffa Burns wrote:
White Winmar wrote:Clubs were lining up to give usa Kate first rounder, early second rounder for him. Rejected them all. Thanks genius.

She'd certainly be more useful.

White Winmar wrote:
Joffa Burns wrote:

She'd certainly be more useful.
She never held a candle to her mother. Goldie could coach a football team, too.

Mum was handy in the army as well.

To be fair - we don't have anyone even close to the ability and experience of Selwood or Dangerfield.

Dropping blokes won't change that.

Selwood and Dangerfield were looking around in the last quarter I reckon almost wondering why they were getting the ball so easy- sure they are class, but without any pressure they look even better. Those who didn't bother running with them, or playing too far off them, should be in the firing line, as not only did they let two champs off the hook, they barely got the ball themselves!

Maybe Richo should ask himself about his defensive setup in the last quarter, as it bombed out badly, and not the first time this season.

White Winmar wrote:Mum was handy in the army as well.
Ah, good old Private Benjamin!

longtimesaint wrote:Do any of you posters that want radical changes ever watch the matches? -there is so much rubbish spoken.
Dropping either Webster or Gilbert is plain stupid -Webster had a quiet game and made one bad turnover but was among oukvery best the week before.
Gilbert is one of our most desperate players and does more 1%'eras than anyone.
To bring in a kid like White who is not even in the best at Sandy is laughable.
It is time to realize that we are a developing side and at this stage will not often best top four sides.
With another pre-season and further draft/trading we might be there next year.
White is in the best at Sandy and was named as such in The Age.

My best for Sandy last week were Pierce, White and Rice.

Jacks Back wrote:

No

Just obvious ones?!

Fair enough but how do you know if a player is performing to the coaching staff instruction and expectation?
Not sure they should be dropped because a couple of Sainsational punters suggest on a fan website they are not performing.

Paddy was an obvious one as he was not doing the team basics.

How does anyone on here know how Gilbert or Dustan performed in the roles they were asked to play?
Might have been great or woeful? You can never doubt their effort or commitment.