Who needs a rest in the 2's?

Top 5 only, order not necessary.

I'll wait for others to make their nominations, but mine centre around quickness in all 3 areas (back, front and middle), a couple of blokes in the leadership group, ball use and blokes drinking too much of their own bathwater (man buns might be a tell tale sign, here).

And, I have increasing nervousness about the way some deficiencies are being designed into the side at the selection table.

Would we have been able to break the game up today, when they gave it back, or when we had first hands on it, if Jack Steven had not played?

Re: Who needs a rest in the 2's?

Dunstan - 12 possessions today, just 4 kicks. Not good enough for an onballer when Selwood chalked up huge numbers - why couldn't dunny run with him and at least curb his influence if he wasn't getting hte ball himself? I'm also worried about his disposal and decision making. Someone else deserves a chance onball - Sincs or Stevens in particular or Acres to play on ball.

Webster - I wanna see Rice or White given a go of halfback to see if they can use their good kicking. Webster's kick in the goal square was unforgivable - it was just so bad - why would you even try that? His kicking can be so erractic. Time to give someone else a crack.

Mav Weller - You can't fault him for trying his guts out but wouldn't hurt to see what someone else can do in his forward role who can also go through the middle. Would let us get Paddy back in which I think we need.

Gilbert - not sure he is bringing enough to the table anymore. So damn erratic. We have two huge backs now - we need less cover defence he provides. Mckenzie would be worth a game as replacement.

Long - great potential but his efforts today were very disappointing. The game was too fast for him - he just couldn't get in the game. Barely noticed him on the field. Time to get his mojo back in the twos.

Bruce is a possibility - tries hard again but has lost his ability to get good separation. His kicking is ordinary and general play his decision making isn't good. A break from the pressure of AFL might do him good.

Gresham going back to the VFL to play midfield might help his development. Doesn't get enough of it even when he plays a bit of onball.

Weller needs a rest
Stevens needs to play
Gresham needs to lift
Dunstan is obviously doing something the coach likes, but he must be a candidate.
We need more polish and run off half back.
I think roo might struggle for next week as well

Luke D

Needs more than a rest, he needs to get a kick?!

Long

He's had a taste, looks ok, but back to see if he can get some actual form before selection

No others really

Gresham, Billings didn't play well, but have done
I suppose retain Gilbo... not sure if another utility is needed with robbo playing so well... I'd rather an offensive user..

In
Stevens, Sinclair
Must reward for as we saw with Minch
Out
Long, Dunstan

Dunstan and Gilbo, although Gilbo did several very nice things today.
Bruce dropped unless he cuts his hair.

Agree.

But first we need players who are putting pressure on those in the 22 (allowing for the absence of Hickey and Armitage, both of which hurt us very, very badly today).

I am (of course) attracted to McCartin and today showed the reason.

I am also attracted to the likes of White and McKenzie because one deficiency which continues to hurt us is our defensive cover and rebound.

And I am looking at those 2 putting pressure on our small defenders so when (for example) Roberton does not complete a defensive mark in the goal square we have defenders at ground level to effect a clearance - and not see the opposition run into goal square space without bodies to negate and hold them up initially, then scrap the pill and use it on the way out.

Our small defenders may be honest and they may inspire with tenacity which is periodically rewarded - but we need better than that.

The other one in the "Two's" is of course Freeman, but that is a work in progress so a later stage of the season solution.

There is also the issue of using Bruce as the relief ruck.

Simply, there has to be another solution.

Longer showed today that, despite his efforts at ruck contests, he is just far too open to being exploited around the ground and Geelong fed off that leading to the result.

We have the makings, no doubt.

But from here we have to be clinical with what we are looking to introduce to the contest.

There is no place for sentiment.

Dunstan
Long
Weller

Maybe Roo (looked very ginger post ankle)

Perhaps Gilbo at 5 (sorry Firey) tough as nails today but am I correct in thinking he's playing as a mid? Doesn't get enough ball as a mid

Wombat15

If im resting anyone i think Long and Billings are the realistic targets with Stevens and Sinclair coming in.

i think roo may need a rest soon, cant kick further than 40 so hes knees arent right.

Going out on a Limb here and saying Rowan "WE ARE" Marshall may deserve a crack. seems perfect as the Ben Brown type and certainly provides more stability as a second ruck than Bruce.

Dunstan had done a very good job on danger until that last quarter but its like the West Coast game. Brown had kept Kennedy quite then we got overrun so i think thats more a coaching issue where Steele should've been shifted onto him instead.

everyone was handball happy and billings im getting frustrated with his unwillingness to kick pisses me off. there was one moment where i thought this is his chance in traffic to get us out of trouble and instead of hitting up a potential target, handballs to Longer under pressure. Soft footballer and doesnt put in enough effort for me.

Hemi Baxter

Longer has to go back to the 2's next week if for no other reason ( and there are many other reasons) than that McEvoy rucked alone all day today against Vardy and was spent in the last quarter. We need to take advantage of McEvoy's lack of skill at the fall and pace around the ground and bring Hickey back.
Richardson as good as said that Dunstan will be going back and Sinclair coming up.

Luke Dunstan - replace with Koby Stevens if fit.
Ben Long - he now knows what we needs to work on - replace with Sincs

Other than that, you can make a case for quite a few to have a rest
Josh Bruce has been out of touch for weeks imho , but probably has to keep his spot as a relief ruck.
Gresham has been struggling- a week or 2 to find his touch again maybe
Gilbo & Webster - just never know what you are going to get week to week
Billings- flashes of brilliance tease us , just doesn't seem to be able to put it together for 4 quarters
Longer - does he really give us more than Hickey ?

Whilst I disregard statistics (allowing for positioning as an offensive action so running to position to then receive, carry and dispose, not just defensive chipping of the ball or 1/2 handballs) because they can be manufactured, did you see Stevens figures for Sandringham?

Unfortunately the only measure of impact I have in regards Sandringham is the Stats and, believing that Stats can not be manufactured at VFL as they are at AFL with defensive chipping the ones who would appear in contention are White, McKenzie and McCartin including because they also perform where we have our deficiencies (and Hickey coming back).

Acres is obviously required in the centre square more often.

Acknowledging the inventiveness of Gresham, like some others of his stature he just does not have the physical attributes to perform in the centre square which is where the game is won.

He is a genuine small forward.

Long doesnt deserve to play next week.

If Hickey is adequately rested, he could come in for Longer.

If Nick Riewoldt is crook, perhaps we could roll the dice with Marshall or Battle. It's distasterous when Josh Bruce rucks, so perhaps Marshall can double as our 2nd ruck.

Unfortunately Mav Weller hasn't done much this year, perhaps Koby Stevens could have his spot and spend a bit of time in the midfield.

I'd love to see Paddy, even though it not like for like, I reckon he'd add more value than Ben Long.

I'm not convinced about Webster, and wouldn't mind giving Mckenzie another crack. If the selectors believe either White or Rice are ready I'd be OK with that.

SuperSaint

Wombat15 wrote:If im resting anyone i think Long and Billings are the realistic targets with Stevens and Sinclair coming in.

everyone was handball happy and billings im getting frustrated with his unwillingness to kick pisses me off. there was one moment where i thought this is his chance in traffic to get us out of trouble and instead of hitting up a potential target, handballs to Longer under pressure. Soft footballer and doesnt put in enough effort me.

That passage of play was hard to believe and stuck in my mind too and others around me. I agree completely with your assessment of Billings. Soft definitely and needs to learn to win his own ball.

Josh Bruce Rucking for 5 mins a quarter is really no issue

Jack Watts rucks for Melbourne
Andy Otten for Adelaide

Most clubs have a fwd relief who ain't a specialist?

Love to see Rowan Marshall get a gig, with Hickey though... because I believe Marshall is a beauty

To the top wrote:Whilst I disregard statistics (allowing for positioning as an offensive action so running to position to then receive, carry and dispose, not just defensive chipping of the ball or 1/2 handballs) because they can be manufactured, did you see Stevens figures for Sandringham?
I read somewhere Stevens only played half the game. Went off after a heavy knock.

HitTheBoundary wrote:
To the top wrote:Whilst I disregard statistics (allowing for positioning as an offensive action so running to position to then receive, carry and dispose, not just defensive chipping of the ball or 1/2 handballs) because they can be manufactured, did you see Stevens figures for Sandringham?
I read somewhere Stevens only played half the game. Went off after a heavy knock.
Koby got kinghit in the 3rd, apparently, got helped off.
Not sure if he returned.

Bluthy wrote:Dunstan - 12 possessions today, just 4 kicks. Not good enough for an onballer when Selwood chalked up huge numbers - why couldn't dunny run with him and at least curb his influence if he wasn't getting hte ball himself? I'm also worried about his disposal and decision making. Someone else deserves a chance onball - Sincs or Stevens in particular or Acres to play on ball.

Webster - I wanna see Rice or White given a go of halfback to see if they can use their good kicking. Webster's kick in the goal square was unforgivable - it was just so bad - why would you even try that? His kicking can be so erractic. Time to give someone else a crack.

Mav Weller - You can't fault him for trying his guts out but wouldn't hurt to see what someone else can do in his forward role who can also go through the middle. Would let us get Paddy back in which I think we need.

Gilbert - not sure he is bringing enough to the table anymore. So damn erratic. We have two huge backs now - we need less cover defence he provides. Mckenzie would be worth a game as replacement.

Long - great potential but his efforts today were very disappointing. The game was too fast for him - he just couldn't get in the game. Barely noticed him on the field. Time to get his mojo back in the twos.

Bruce is a possibility - tries hard again but has lost his ability to get good separation. His kicking is ordinary and general play his decision making isn't good. A break from the pressure of AFL might do him good.

Gresham going back to the VFL to play midfield might help his development. Doesn't get enough of it even when he plays a bit of onball.
Agree with most of this…
Bruce is just really fortunate that he doesn't have anyone breathing down his neck in the VFL… I think he has been pretty average for quite a few weeks going back to the last half of 2016… fro a guy on very good money he doesn't take nearly enough marks and misses too many goals… Aaron Black was far better today and he couldn't get a game at North. Bruce is only safe because we don't have anyone better.

Weller is just a great trier, plays the odd very good game but unfortunately just cannot execute consistently. Saved by being in the leadership group, but I feel like this is the type of player we need to replace in order to challenge.

Dunstan - watching the game I feel like he is doing well, loved the 50 metre goal today… but his numbers indicate that he isn't contributing enough - like the previous two though, who else do we have to come in and do better as an inside mid.

Webster - another hard trier, we have so many…

Long had a crack, probably needs to build more form now in the VFL.

I thought Gilbert was pretty good, Gresham I would stick with but ask him to maybe tone down the fancy stuff and keep it simple… people are starting to catch on to his tricks.

The fact that it is only Stevens & Sinclair that are putting their hands up at the moment is the main concern. All this depth that we thought we had was a bit of a myth.

But to be fair, we matched a decent side today, but two absolute superstars were the difference… this is why we shouldn't be shy on chasing a Dustin Martin type on huge money - we have the money let's use it.

RODOS

Bruce. Bruce is a great player when he's firing. He's not firing and hasn't for some time. He's playing a similar role to membrey but to less effect (using the eye test). Statistically he's going at 3.8 marks a game. That's down from 5 in 2015 and 4.5 last year. He's also going at 1.4 goals a game. He was at 2.3 gpg in 2015 and 1.7 last year. He doesn't crash packs

Bruce and Long out, Paddy and Marshall in.

Sincs or stevens in for dunstan

pull the trigger richo, bruce is not an untouchable. He doesn't win hit outs either.

Dunstan, Dunstan & Dunstan...

elizabethr

Carlisle. ..undisciplined loser
Brown. ..invisible
Weller. ..sore and Sorry
Longer. .couldn't get a kick in a horse stable
Montagna. .a loose lipped failure

nothing to say

Needing a rest?
Weller not doing enough.
Long has had a taste, needs to develop in the twos.
Dunstan.

Lomger was alright. Smith would have flogged Hickey.

Meatball made fools of the selefctors. He should have been in instead of Lonie weeks ago.
Maybe time to bring Paddy back. And Sinclair. And Stevens if fit.

elizabethr wrote:Carlisle. ..undisciplined loser
Brown. ..invisible
Weller. ..sore and Sorry
Longer. .couldn't get a kick in a horse stable
Montagna. .a loose lipped failure
Which team do you barrack for?

Long Gresham Dunstan are . the main three for mine.

Weller has not be icing his shots and passes. But is still working hard.

Time to give Sinclair and Stevens a crack.

After that, who should be tried out? Marsrshall perhaps? Paddy or White.

Congrats to Meatball for coming in and playing well. Was an upgrade on Lonie and is just stronger, quicker, more skilled and better all round.

Longer went ok, but also showed that he still lacks a tank. So flip a coin for him or Hickey though I would go for Hickey as he can compete for longer. Hickey would also probably do more around the ground than Longer against the Hawks. Longer to take on Mummy against GWS the week after???
Last edited by saintsRrising on Mon 24 Apr 2017 4:30am, edited 1 time in total.

elizabethr

Weller and Bruce need to taste lower grade soon

nothing to say

Ben Long 2 games 8 kicks, 6 handballs, 4 marks, 0 frees for, 1 free against, 3 tackles, 0 goals, 1 behind, 138% gametime across 2 games.
Now if he were playing at full back you would expect better figures.

He has had a taste and now knows what he must achieve but at Sandringham first.