Jaeger. The one that got away?

Re: Jaeger. The one that got away?

Linton Lodger wrote:You should have heard Robert Walls' interesting assessment of O'Meara, he pointed out O'Meara's substantial preference to handball. So it appears that O'Meara is lacking confidence in his leg and perhaps is limited by it. Walls queried whether Hawthorn had picked up a young player with a 29 year old's body?

We were right into him and walked away for a very good reason.

Also, Walls' view was that not many of O'Meara's many possesions actually hurt the opponent.

Jaeger bomb - its brown and gold - The Fates of Liquor and Marketing marked him as a Hawthorn player - it was only a matter of time

Its an interesting stat about his hand balling so much. But could that just be on the back of two years of probably not being allowed to kick so he's just been jogging and hand balling all the time and its ingrained for a bit. Too small a sample size to see where he's really at. But he just knows where to find the footy - that is the high footy-iq you get with him.

I thought he was worth trying for as he was one of those classy and strong 3 in 1 players that are so valuable in your midfield. They can win the ball, get it to the outside with strength and skill, and then have the vision and disposal to hit up guys. He did a PCL didn't he which can reduce your lateral movement apparently but then sports medicine is just getting better and better and they already have him out on the field.

But I doubt he was going anywhere other than Hawks ever. You don't say you want out unless you generally know where you are going. Clarkson seduced him no doubt by saying they will fix him medically but also to play in that efficient hawks system that is the envy of most players in the comp.

Still feel we need that centre-piece onballer who can dominate when the heat is on. Hoping Steele can be that for us. Or else land a trade/FA or get lucky in the draft. The decision to not use our top picks on an elite onballer with the logic that we could get one FA is looking a big shakey now. REcruiting team need to come through big time.

Gordo'
Location: banned for a spell, things didn't turn out so well, every thread i played, ffs was lucky i stayed!!!

saynta wrote:O'Meara is a very good footballer, but so is Ablett and the Suns have already blown 6 million on a guy who has no loyalty and can't wait to escape Q'ld.

Bet they wouldn't do the deal if they had their time over.

Be very wary of mercenaries is my advice.
plus one! that's some flowering solid advice, mate!

Fortitude Fidelity Sainta.

Don't forget he we got Jaeger, we wouldn't have the Dawks first round draft pick next year! Give me the draft pick for nothing anytime

Poor Jaeger, he chose Hawthorn because of the team he would be joining and the stars he would get to play with.
But no-one told him that he and Mitchell mach 2 would blow Hawthorn's salary cap into the stratosphere.
He never expected both Mitchell mach 1 and Lewis to be missing.

7 kicks
7 handballs
42.9 % eff

14 disposals against us. Hardly sighted.

dragit wrote:7 kicks
7 handballs
42.9 % eff

Prob about as good as he will get

Looks like our medicos may have got this right.

Suns and Saints the big winners out of the JOm deal.
Whoever would have thought these two could bend over Hawthorn :lol:

I hope the kid comes good and he probably will, be he has to be very, very good to break even with what they have spent on him.

I'd preferred TOM (The Other Mitchell) to JOM, I wonder what he thinks of his move to the Hawks now?

Joffa Burns wrote:Suns and Saints the big winners out of the JOm deal.
Whoever would have thought these two could bend over Hawthorn :lol:

I hope the kid comes good and he probably will, be he has to be very, very good to break even with what they have spent on him.

I'd preferred TOM (The Other Mitchell) to JOM, I wonder what he thinks of his move to the Hawks now?
O'Meara is Hawthorn's Nathan Freeman, a long term gamble. The difference is we only invested Pick 30 and are probably currently paying Freeman minimum wage. Whereas Hawthorn paid a shitload, way over and are paying him $800k per year!

There is always a significant risk when a club obtains a big name player by spending a lot of money and/or using high draft picks and/or trading its own senior players. It's not something any club should rush into lightly, and typically makes the most sense when a more lowly club is building a challenge for the top: eg, our club in 2000 when we got Gehrig and Hamill.

If you look at the history of the AFL, there have been not that many cases where a club that is already a contender has managed to win a premiership on the back of a huge trade to get an established star: indeed, I'm struggling to think of one right now. Perhaps Dangerfield will take Geelong to another premiership before he retires: I guess we'll see about that.

Some posters on here (and other AFL forums) over the years seem to get more excitement from the trade period than they do from the actual premiership season. They buy the media hype that some clubs have "won" or "lost" the trade period. I just think that's silly.

Anyway, if Hawthorn finish low enough this year that we have a first round pick which we can somehow use - with little additional sweetening - to get a Martin or a Fyfe, then go for it. But it'll be a risk compared to what we might have achieved with our draft pick: particularly because we will be paying a large proportion of our salary cap to our Martin or Fyfe, who - like any player - is always only one game away from a season-ending, or even career-ending, injury.

Just about the biggest impact from a trade I can remember was Hawthorn getting their hands on Stuart Dew: his coolness and experience were key to their GF upset win in 2008. From what I've seen of him so far at the Saints, Jake Carlisle is already bringing some of the same value to our team. Maybe trading for experience and level-headedness, rather than purely for skill, is the best way to go.

I thought JOM was OK yesterday. He's no Jack Sinclair but he has potential.

So would we give Hawthorn back their 1st round draft pick for Jaeger?

Would Hawthorn give us Jaeger in return for their 1st round pick?

I reckon the Hawks would be keen on that trade, but we wouldn't.

Toy Saint wrote:So would we give Hawthorn back their 1st round draft pick for Jaeger?

Would Hawthorn give us Jaeger in return for their 1st round pick?

I reckon the Hawks would be keen on that trade, but we wouldn't.
No chance. JOM was always a very bad idea as a potential recruit. Dorkthorn will regret it very big time.

Stian

kosifantutti wrote:I thought JOM was OK yesterday. He's no Jack Sinclair but he has potential.
Oh Kosi, that's noice :lol:

kosifantutti wrote:I thought JOM was OK yesterday. He's no Jack Sinclair but he has potential.
well they are both #1 picks....(of sorts)

Tom Mitchell is no Sam Mitchell either.
Not even close.

[quote="kosifantutti"]I thought JOM was OK yesterday. He's no Jack Sinclair but he has potential.[/quote]

Love it

Saints did look at him and made assessment which was no effing way!!!

White Winmar wrote:Mitchell and Jaeger got 75 possessions between them on the weekend in a losing side. How did our midfield go? If we'd got Mitchell, Jaeger and Vickery, we'd have creamed ourselves. Instead we got Steele, Brown and Stevens. It's why we have one flag and they have 13. They may have to wait a couple of years for their next one, but they are closer than we are,
WW I like your work but I just had to quote this post.

Even before the weekend it seemed a bit hysterial to me.

Care to clarify a bit?

minneapolis wrote:
White Winmar wrote:Mitchell and Jaeger got 75 possessions between them on the weekend in a losing side. How did our midfield go? If we'd got Mitchell, Jaeger and Vickery, we'd have creamed ourselves. Instead we got Steele, Brown and Stevens. It's why we have one flag and they have 13. They may have to wait a couple of years for their next one, but they are closer than we are,
WW I like your work but I just had to quote this post.

Even before the weekend it seemed a bit hysterial to me.

Care to clarify a bit?
It's a fair cop, 'Guv. It's early days, but happy to concede I'm wrong, already. I still think if we'd got JOM and Mitchell we'd have been excited, but Steele, Stevens and Brown all look like bargains. Nobody's perfect, Minneapolis. Except for John Eales and the Nazarene. I hope I continue to be wrong about this one.

This from "The Age" injury roundup from the weekend :

"Alarm bells are ringing at Hawthorn after Jaeger O'Meara was a late withdrawal from their clash with Melbourne with knee soreness - an issue that severely hampered him during his time at Gold Coast."

st.byron wrote:This from "The Age" injury roundup from the weekend :

"Alarm bells are ringing at Hawthorn after Jaeger O'Meara was a late withdrawal from their clash with Melbourne with knee soreness - an issue that severely hampered him during his time at Gold Coast."
This reminds me that 2 years ago, I was looking at a used, low mileage Alfa Romeo. Full service history. I joined an Alfa forum and discovered that if you have enough cash to spend on servicing at exactly the right kms, only by an Alfa specialist...and have full roadside assistance for when it goes on strike, then an Alfa can give years of driving joy.
Changed my mind. Expensive, high maintenance, quirky/idiosyncratic...but when it's able to be driven, a joy to behold.

No Alfa for me, thanks.
No JOM for the Saints, thanks

Finding it really ghoulish the way several people here are taking great delight in a young mans injury troubles. Like Freeman, why don't you be half decent and give him a couple of years to try and get back to full capacity before gloating so much.

Bluthy wrote:Finding it really ghoulish the way several people here are taking great delight in a young mans injury troubles. Like Freeman, why don't you be half decent and give him a couple of years to try and get back to full capacity before gloating so much.
yeah a bit mean spirited. we've done well regardless of how O'Meara turns out. I hope he and Freeman end up with great careers. And hey, if Jaegar ever wins a brownlow we can say to hawks fans - that's thanks to us.