Nathan Freeman. This is it.

Re: Nathan Freeman. This is it.

CURLY wrote:
whiskers3614 wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:He cost us pick 31 FFS.

It's not a Lovett
Not far off it.
At least with Lovett the contract amount was discounted somewhat.
I imagine as well as Freeman's 3x300k we would have some significant medical expenses to cover.

Filth would be absolutely giggling, fancy getting more for Freeman than what they gave for Ball!
The bloke is obviously a fruit loop, no physical injury can possibly keep you out for 4 years!
You have NFI
No probs champ.

The club is doing everything right.
We have great depth.
The umpires and the AFL are corrupt, and the only reason we are denied success.

Am I doing this right or do I still have NFI?

I think this whole thread is for people with NFI.
The club is fortunate to be run by those with some idea!

sunsaint wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:So is this it...... or is viewtopic.php?f=1&t=92404 it?
help me sRr im stuck in an infinite loop
So am I.

White Winmar wrote:
sunsaint wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:So is this it...... or is viewtopic.php?f=1&t=92404 it?
help me sRr im stuck in an infinite loop
So am I.
So am I.

I must say, I'm finding Tony74's lack of a post in this thread a little discomforting. I know he's probably sick of answering questions about Nate, but the club was confident enough to slate his comeback for round three. Now I may be wrong and fallen for a bit of "fake news", but this is one time I'd have expected Tony to come out swinging at all the doubters and knockers. Even if only to call out the round three return as false. Why the silence? Tony, my good man, where are you and do you have any news that's fit to hear?

Poor Nate must be very frustrated. Three and a half years after being drafted in the top 10, he hasn't even been close to a senior game. When you see how long some guys take to grow into their roles and bodies at AFL level, I can't help thinking Nate has missed a good sized chunk of his very important developmental years. He is a very long way from finally realizing his dream. The site of the rehab room after all this time would be enough to give anyone the s***s. I really hope he is getting the right treatment for his psychological well being. This must have taken a severe toll on him. Some have suggested on here that his problem is psychological. It may well be. Only he and the staff know the truth. If it psychosomatic, it doesn't necessarily mean he's making it all up in his head. The pain associated with psychosomatic illnesses masks other emotional distress. The pain is real, not imagined. Just as we can think ourselves well, we can most certainly think ourselves into becoming sick. Just think of the links between stress and illnesses. I'm not saying this is the case with Nathan, but it would be interesting to see the results of the extensive examinations he underwent in Germany. Sometimes, illnesses go undiagnosed or misdiagnosed because an obvious cause can't be found.

I hope this is not true for Nathan. There is nothing more frustrating and worrying than not knowing what is going on inside your body. This only adds to the loop of distress and causes immune deficiencies, slow healing, pain and rapid aging. When Nathan played his first game in the development league, he blitzed, with 46 possessions up to 3/4 time, when he was benched. Clearly, nothing was wrong or felt out of place, unless the club kept it quiet. His games later in the season were telling. Even in the development league, he struggled, with his form in the Sandy senior side being totally underwhelming. Why did they keep playing him? Were they trying to convince him nothing was wrong?

I'll watch with interest to see if Tony74 responds tonight. I hope he does, announcing Nathan has been selected in whatever game Sandy and its reserves are playing, even if it is an intra-club scratch match. I'd love to see him just get out there and show us all why we chased him in the first place. If the club sticks to the line that it wasn't all about this year, but next, they are kidding themselves and us. They said exactly the same last year. Jamie Cox let that pearler slip out in a doorstop presser. If it turns out he spends a fourth year entirely out of the game, with no end in sight for the problem and all avenues exhausted, then I fear it will be the end for him.

Players that come from minor leagues into the seniors are confronted with a great deal more in terms of preparation, etc.
AFL seniors is not just gymwork, training at Seaford, and going to a game. There's pre and post-game stuff as well.
Nathan would have seen how seniors prepare, as an observer, but his focus would be firmly on just getting himself fit and injury-free.
He hasn't done any pre- and post-game preparation apart from what's required for Devel league, which would be not as comprehensive.

So if, and it's a big if, if he ever gets ready for a senior tilt, he hasn't got a routine like the guys who've played 40+ games.
His lifestyle will change a lot, and it will make demands on him.
It just makes any return much harder for him, if and when it happens.

p.s. example: if a player is studying at uni (Jason Blake was engineering I think) there is lectures to attend, assignments to complete,
and if Nath has a nice routine with his study and training that works fine, becoming a senior player will ramp up the demands on his time.
Lots of senior players can juggle households (Dylan Robbo has 3 kids) and/or study, no worries.
But such a quantum shift would just make it harder for Nathan. Imagine sitting at a PC for hours to get that assignment out, instead of doing his Pilates or (Mav-type) yoga.
Something's gotta give...
Poor young fella has a lot in front of him

Freeman named for Sandy seniors on Sunday.

Along w the extended Saints bench.

You bloody beauty, Spinner! A practice match I take it. I really hope he doesn't pull out at the last minute. If he's good to go, I hope he does well.

dragit wrote:I reckon he'll play senior footy this year.
And everyone on here will claim how they backed the club all along.

Spinner wrote:Freeman named for Sandy seniors on Sunday.

Along w the extended Saints bench.
Seniors! Good news after last year's extended efforts in the twos.

Fingers, toes and every bloody thing crossed he goes well.

HitTheBoundary wrote:

Yeap, your on the money, as I've cranked.on about since day one, 2018 is the year the club expects him to be right!!!!!

Richo mentioned Freeman tonight just now on SEN in the context of North going after Kelly. Talked about how clubs aim to understand where they're at and what they need irrespective of age, experience etc... then went on to say at St Kilda Freeman was selected on this basis - and then along the lines of hopefully it will work for us. Just good to hear his name brought up deliberately by Richo himself. Freeman's in the conversation.

Wombat15

HitTheBoundary wrote:
I've been buying Freeman stock since day one. I've spoken to his former trainers and I'm willing to stay on Freeman Island. Cost us basically nothing in a trade for a former top 10 pick. But as you've said can't wait for all to jump on the boat for this kid. Shouldn't be a whipping boy when it was collingwoods serial killers....sorry "medicos" that screwed his rehab and original preparation plan for his first pre season.

Freeman picked to play at 1PM in the Sandi Seniors Practice Game this Sunday 8th April. http://www.sandringhamfc.com.au/news.aspx?id=589

What did we give away to Collingwood in exchange for Freeman?

If this guy isn't out on the paddock soon, we can stick a fork in him. Should never be recruiting injury prone and unproven players. Will we ever learn?

I'm hoping he's a solid contributor forSandythis year and he gets an AFL game towards the end of the year. Anything else is a Bonus

Sainternist wrote:. Should never be recruiting injury prone and unproven players. Will we ever learn?
Yes that worked really well with Judd and his dodgy shoulders.......

Sainternist wrote:What did we give away to Collingwood in exchange for Freeman?
After all the Academy picks re-arranging looking at the draft now it looks like it ended up being Pick 32 : Brayden Sier who has played the stellar total of zero games to date.

Further if you look who was taken in the entire draft after that ignoring father/sons only really Marcus Adams stands out, and he was a mature player that we most likely would not have taken.

So what did we give up for Freeman? Effectively it would appear to be bugga all as far as I can see.

Any progress reports?

BackFromUSA wrote:Any progress reports?
Game is tomorrow dufus!

So no progress?

So what did we give up for Freeman? Effectively it would appear to be bugga all as far as I can see.
Trade wise I would agree
Money wise and salary cap wise it's a different matter Freeman vs drafted kid

BackFromUSA wrote:
Game is tomorrow dufus!
So no progress?
Crowd: 000000

Goals 0
Behinds 0

Reports 0

Injuries Nil

sunsaint wrote: Money wise and salary cap wise it's a different matter Freeman vs drafted kid
Again not really as with salary cap there is a minimum payment for the club, and the Saints have been at that. They have bank the max to pay over 100% the next few years if required.

So the clubs was able to pay Freeman overs when it did not really count. So from that point it was quite a smart tactic.

After his 3 years is up he will either be good enough to play on, or he will be gone.

Anyway a player like Freeman is a bonus type player that if it comes off is great. The make or break will be whether the Saints can land two genuine guns over the next two years. That was the plan, and if they don't then the list will not be what the club intended.

BackFromUSA wrote:
Game is tomorrow dufus!
So no progress?
Some of the Zebs players are having a round of golf at Royal Melbourne, some are playing indoor beach volleyball, 3 are at somebody's engagement party,
4 are driving to Philip Island for a picnic, and there's a couple helping some mates move house, 2 more are building a backyard shed