Where are all the Lyontologists?

Re: Where are all the Lyontologists?

skeptic wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:Home game for Freo.
Tigers are 118 and it is only 3/4 time.
Lyon about to slip below Hinkley in career winning %.
Absolutely cooked as a coach.

That's weird, haven't we been hearing for ages that St.Kilda had a really average, declining list in 07-08 and yet someone this super genius managed to get those ordinary players play so far above themselves that they made back to back grand finals.

It's almost as if that crap team (Riewoldt, Kosi, Hayes, Goddard, Fisher, Dal, Monty, Milne, Ball, Hudghton, and a bunch of other lacklustre players) wasn't so bad after all
And we lost to a side that had Macaffer, Toovey, Johnson, Blair, Dawes etc.

Hardly the bloody invincibles.....

Again, Thomas IMO had a far better list - certainly a better bottom 6 than Lyon had and still couldn't get us there or anywhere near the dominance Lyon did.
I always love these list arguments - interesting but pretty futile for the purpose of comparison
how about this

GT built the core of the list that RL inherited
but the bottom 6 WERE very very much RL's bottom 6 - much to the selection confusion and angst for fans
in his time he could have drafted, developed, and traded a better bottom 6

It's a case of confirmation bias and seeing things the way you want to see them. So this is an interminable argument.

But the fact remains, the GT list was realistically too young to challenge (had no right to, really - and have a look at how long it's taken GWS for evidence of this) , plus Hamill missed the prelim. final against Port Adelaide and we had a s*** ruckman in Knobel who had zero possessions - yes zero possessions - around the ground and "won" a whole heap of useless hitouts, one of which went straight to Wanganeen who kicked the winning goal.
We only lost the game by 1 goal.
That's why ruckmen who don't contribute around the ground and try to hide behind their useless hitouts are useless.
Ruckmen need to be footballers first and foremost, and contribute around the ground.
We took a costly passenger into that final who handed wanganeen a goal!
Goddard was also knocked out in the first quarter of the Port Adelaide prelim final.

Port Adelaide then went on to slaughter the Brisbane lions in the grandfinal.

samoht wrote:It's a case of confirmation bias and seeing things the way you want to see them. So this is an interminable argument.

But the fact remains, the GT list was realistically too young to challenge (had no right to, really - and have a look at how long it's taken GWS for evidence of this) , plus Hamill missed the prelim. final against Port Adelaide and we had a s*** ruckman in Knobel who had zero possessions - yes zero possessions - around the ground and "won" a whole heap of useless hitouts, one of which went straight to Wanganeen who kicked the winning goal.
We only lost the game by 1 goal.
That's why ruckmen who don't contribute around the ground and try to hide behind their useless hitouts are useless.
Ruckmen need to be footballers first and foremost, and contribute around the ground.
We took a costly passenger into that final who handed wanganeen a goal!
Goddard was also knocked out in the first quarter of the Port Adelaide prelim final.

Port Adelaide then went on to slaughter the Brisbane lions in the grandfinal.
In fairness to Knobel, didn't he only play the last 1/4?

Con Gorozidis wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2017 8:34pm Hail the super coach!

How is the cult of Lyon traveling?

You can’t say a bad word against the messiah Conny. Not on Saintsational mate!!

Those fundamentalist Lyontologists will burn and crucify all heretics

Scollop wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 1:06pm

Post by Scollop » Mon 06 Apr 2020 11:09am
"He was passionate, dedicated and committed to all his roles as an assistant and as a head coach. He was a workaholic and he deserves to be recognised as a very good coach in his AFL career even if he doesn’t get another senior gig".

So you have the matches?

i have some stones

but a high pitched voice

takeaway,

Please try to communicate coherently and concisely

Are you asking me a question?

Spit it out. What is it boy?

the bottom 6 WERE very very much RL's bottom 6 ...

there it is

Scollop wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 2:52pm takeaway,

A question mark after the sentence usually indicates a question. I'll repeat....So you have the matches? Also, another question - is your main TV at home one of those curved ones?

Secret Kiel

takeaway wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 3:03pm

A question mark after the sentence usually indicates a question. I'll repeat....So you have the matches? Also, another question - is your main TV at home one of those curved ones?
Most of Scollop's conveniently packaged understanding of the game is from watching replays of games without aural stimulation so I'm guesing his TV could be curved but its highly likely it doesn't have speakers.

Secret Kiel wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 3:55pm

Most of Scollop's conveniently packaged understanding of the game is from watching replays of games without aural stimulation so I'm guesing his TV could be curved but its highly likely it doesn't have speakers.
I'd agree it's likely. Continued viewing of the same replays on TV, especially with the immersive experience of a curved TV, may well contribute to hindsight bias. No sound would make it worse. 3D TV is a no no.

asiu wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 2:53pm
the bottom 6 WERE very very much RL's bottom 6 ...

there it is
dont you know Asiu that we have evolved from stones to hand grenades

... lyontologists or paleontologists? Is this an archaeological dig, now?

And in late-breaking news ...
"Ancient marsupial lion fossil (lyon queenslandus) discovered in Queensland. A new genus of ancient marsupial lion has been discovered. Palaeontologists discovered the fossil at Australia's Riversleigh World Heritage Area in Queensland, Australia.Mar 3, 2020.
Cause of extinction - apparently last 4 years suffered from a 32.9% W/L rate ... couldn't adapt to the demands of a changing environment, and was evolutionarily deselected. "

evolutionarily deselected
oooooh

i like those two words

they go well together

samoht wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 5:55pm ... lyontologists or paleontologists? Is this an archaeological dig, now?

And in late-breaking news ...
"Ancient marsupial lion fossil (lyon queenslandus) discovered in Queensland. A new genus of ancient marsupial lion has been discovered. Palaeontologists discovered the fossil at Australia's Riversleigh World Heritage Area in Queensland, Australia.Mar 3, 2020.
Cause of extinction - apparently last 4 years suffered from a 32.9% W/L rate ... couldn't adapt to the demands of a changing environment, and was evolutionarily deselected. "
Of course the lyon queenslandus was a descendant of the Grantus Thom-arse-us whose down fall was due to an unshakable belief characterized by consistently inflated feelings of personal ability, privilege, and infallibility exhibiting no regard for the conventions and demands of society, believing in entitlement and special consideration.

Following the lyon queenslandus in the evolutionary chain was the Watty Scotterus a breed renowned for displaying Napoleon syndrome and oompa loompa like tendencies.

takeaway wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 2:46pm
Scollop wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 1:06pm

Post by Scollop » Mon 06 Apr 2020 11:09am
"He was passionate, dedicated and committed to all his roles as an assistant and as a head coach. He was a workaholic and he deserves to be recognised as a very good coach in his AFL career even if he doesn’t get another senior gig".

So you have the matches?
When someone has brain damage or is under the influence of drugs or alcohol they sometimes say things which only people very close to them can understand. Equally; when someone is a dummie or a nuff nuff and they speak, it’s nearly impossible to understand what they are saying unless you ask several questions to clarify exactly what it is that they are trying to convey.

Dummies can’t quite understand that they need to communicate in a way where their audience can comprehend their questions? The dummie probably thinks it’s your problem or your fault that you don’t get it.

So you have the matches?

What f***** matches? You highlighted a quote from one of my posts.

How does your question relate to the statement I made about Ross?

Secret Kiel wrote: Wed 08 Apr 2020 3:55pm

I had Cairnsman on ignore for quite a while before he was booted off the forum for constantly making personal comments.

I don’t know why his footy knowledge was pissweak compared to most posters on saintsational, but I think it could have been because he didn’t have the time to watch as much footy as some of us. Maybe that’s why he preferred to attack the man rather than provide his opinion. When he did comment on footy discussions I usually found his opinions to be bland, mainstream and not worthy of discussion.

He probably didn’t have time or the opportunity to go to as many games live as the rest of us. He probably didn’t listen to as much analysis and watch as many shows on Foxfooty as the rest of us ( sure most of the shows are entertainment drivel, but when they present stats and facts on shows like 360 or On the Couch, you learn things about teams and about the modern game).

Now as far as this newcomer in Steven Kiel is concerned, he reminds of that prick of a human Cairnsman. I reckon it’s time to foe the fucker again

i think it goes something like this :

So you have the matches?

i have some stones
(but a high pitched voice)

...insert the appropriate monty python clip here...

curved tellies , hindsight bias , grenades ,
the evolutionarily deselected journeys of the lyon queenslandus , the Grantus Thom-arse-us and the Napoleon syndrome , Cairnsmania and oompa loompa like tendencies of the Watty Scotterus

phew

that was a remember !!
...but still no monty python...

brain damage from car exhausts
the under influence of weed on our society ,
alcohol abuse in the dummies ‘n nuff nuffs time starved bland, mainstream and not worthy modern environment

think i got it all !!!

hope thats helpful. :P

Yep. Good work

Matches as in ‘to light’ rather than matches as in ‘sport/footy contest’

takeaway and Spinner and Steven can continue believing what they want and speculating that some of the posters like myself ‘changed’ our position only after we lost 2009. We’re not all sheep. Some of us are capable of being objective while still supporting most of the decisions by the StKFC and it’s officials.

I’m not going to change anyone’s mind or educate fundamentalists who believe in myths/religion/messiahs and what not...so f*** em!!

Secret Kiel

Hindsight bias nails it...

Keep reading text books with theories written by others

I’m sure that’ll help you come up with something original or creative one day

And before you say anything...unfortunately I see your posts when I’m logged off

Secret Kiel

I bet you read my posts with the sound turned down too.

I posted once that I like to turn the sound down with replays of a Saints games that I'd already been to and watched live

Now it's your go to line to try and discredit me. Good try. How is it any different to most of the footy most people watch at 1000's of live games that everyone has watched at all levels? You don't have someone in your ear commentating when you watch Sandringham or suburban footy live.

Why do you need Linger, or Darcehole or Brucey telling you how to think or telling you their opinions?

I'm sure there are boring unimaginative people like you that find it funny...no matter how many times you say the same thing

You're becoming the Sam Newman of Saintsational with your tired repetitive jokes