Caleb Daniel

SuperSaint

Caleb Daniel

Had to mention this guy on TFS tonight. He is seriously a gun of a player. Love watching him and didn't realize he is that short. Bulldogs got a ripper in him. Seems a great kid and only 20 still.

Re: Caleb Daniel

Good player. Already.

Good Junior, Good Senior ... go figure

BigMart wrote:Good player. Already.

Good Junior, Good Senior ... go figure
Like 99.9% of drafted players go figure

He may have lasted a little too long in the draft, if you missed the point?

Opposition Forum please

BigMart wrote:He may have lasted a little too long in the draft, if you missed the point?
Yeah never ever happened before.

Forget Billings/Bont and McCartin/Petracca ...

Never forget that we chose Lonie instead of Daniel, and this after releasing a
video of the recruiting team pumping up Daniel's tyres. A serious stuff-up.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote:Forget Billings/Bont and McCartin/Petracca ...

Never forget that we chose Lonie instead of Daniel, and this after releasing a
video of the recruiting team pumping up Daniel's tyres. A serious stuff-up.
I can forgive the Billings- Bont decision as Bont was a late bolter that really only the Dogs and Pies rated in the top 10.

Petracca - mccartin the jury is still out for another year or 2 until we see if Paddy develops into the dominant big man everyone thought he might become

Daniel was better credentialed than Lonie in every aspect except height - yet we overlooked him and then picked someone who really isn't that much taller in AFL terms. Mark that one down as a fail.

Zed wrote:
Daniel was better credentialed than Lonie in every aspect except height - yet we overlooked him
Not sure if that was deliberate.

Lonie was very good in his first year, Daniel was great last year playing more midfield than Lonie… I think it helps playing in a very strong side too.

Not many players getting around these days who make it as a specialist small forward.

So all this year we're just going to be enviously salivating over all the players we didn't get - Petrraca, Oliver, Daniel, da Bont - with that perfect hindsight? Mine would be Carlisle over Francis. But you drive yourself mad doing that.

Caleb Daniel........ can't most of you recall, 'noddy04' our Saintastional, South Australian resident saying like a broken record, Saints should select Daniel?

If I can recollect correctly, and I usually do !! Many on this site were saying he was too small for senior AFL football and couldn't kick far....... so 'noddy04' was drowned out by the vociferous mob. I'm sure 'noddy04' even argued that he was holding his own against men as he was playing SAFL footy, not the boys own annual stuff. Tho' I may be amiss with this latter statement. I am allowed the occasional recall error!!

Now many can see the skills Caleb has, and his size & length of kicking ability is not a major drawback. Gee hindsight is a wonderful thing 'ain't it?

So our recruiters like most on this site got it wrong - win some, lose some, dem's d' breaks!!!

Good call 'noddy04'.

lewdogs

God it's depressing in here this week. Whinging over how we should have chosen Petracca, Daniel, Bont. Bloody hell we go to pieces quickly.

dragit wrote:Lonie was very good in his first year, Daniel was great last year playing more midfield than Lonie… I think it helps playing in a very strong side too.

Not many players getting around these days who make it as a specialist small forward.

So why in the post-Lyon era have we recruited, drafted or traded in so many small forward types that can't go into the middle?

whiskers3614 wrote:
So why in the post-Lyon era have we recruited, drafted or traded in so many small forward types that can't go into the middle?
I think that the club tries very hard to find nuggets that others have passed over.

This has had the result of quite a few good value pick-ups. ie Weller, Membrey, Bruce, Robo.......

However it has also had the effect of not enough genuine mids as most clubs have tended to put more weight on gaining mids and more mids. So the other clubs probably tend to draft/buy the mids before the Saints do.

The Saints have with our draft picks gained a lot of flankers including small forwards.

It was good to see Steele last draft/trade period being a priority.

Dupe post
Last edited by MC Gusto on Thu 30 Mar 2017 4:25pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lots of us were campaigning for Daniel. The most surprising / worrying thing for mine is our recruiters supposedly had Lonie at pick 20 odd? Weird

Re Bont. Clearly at this stage the best player from that draft. Remember before us gws had picks 1&2 so we weren't the only ones to miss him. Also as many have mentioned he was a late bolter and many pundits had billings as quite possibly the most talented in his draft year...still think billings will be a jet and may well compete at the same level as the bont in time but like Judd and hodge

Petracca v paddy - I would not change that for the world. I reckon paddy will be an out and out star. A key forward for the generations. There will be plenty of Midfielders like petracca, only one paddy