Petracca v McCartin

Re: Petracca v McCartin

SMS wrote:Bont petracca and bevo. :(

faarrrrrkkkkk.
Don't forget J Riewoldt at FF and Judd probably with a year or two left to go. :D

Three weeks ago McCartin took 15 marks and dominated. Now at 20 he is finished FFS

McCartin will come good - but how long will it take? TBH I would have rathered taken Petracca and traded GWS for the likes of Stewart or similiar. I just dont see McCartin being a reliable sucess story that will take us deep into finals, but hope I am wrong?

Impatient Sainter wrote:McCartin will come good - but how long will it take? TBH I would have rathered taken Petracca and traded GWS for the likes of Stewart or similiar. I just dont see McCartin being a reliable sucess story that will take us deep into finals, but hope I am wrong?
You didn't see him at Sandy today did you.
He is a very versatile and effective key position forward.
I have no doubt we made the right decision!

Maybe Marshall and Battle will be our quality Key Forwards.

We need to use our 2 No.1 picks on quality mids WITH CLASS DISPOSAL.

SMS wrote:4 MASSIVE ERRORS
1. Beveridge. We had him. Why we chose a stuttering idiot over a legend like bevo is beyond me.
2. Billings over bont. Chose a snot nosed toorak kid who had a nice kick but also the grit of a demons player.
3. Petracca over McCartin. Chose a slow diabetic smallish KEY forward over the standout 190cm midfielder with class and skill rarely seen. Ffs.

So how to fix the current situation?
Another 2-3 years rebuild in the bottom four. Finish 14-16th get HIGH PICKS and use em on fast skillful midfielders.
Trade dunstan back to SA, Acres back to WA and grab quality KPD.
PAY huge money FA FOR GCS LYNCH or another high quality PROVEN KFP.

Good news is Longer and Hickey will be fine for 2021.

So 2 years bottom 4. Tank games. Get speed and quality mids
You forgot make Jack Lonie captain

RODOS wrote:
BigMart wrote:It's an excuse for our players, being young... but opposition player gets 23 and 2

There nothing special

Seriously, I'd be happy if any of our leadership group did that
I understand what you're saying I just don't think it was that great a performance in a dominant team. Billings got 20 and 1 (having 15 at half time), sure he's been in the system longer, but 23 touches and 2 goals aint that amazing. It's a good performance, sure. And Re the 'excuse' part, that applies to other people, not me. I haven't posted anything regarding youth being an excuse, in fact I haven't posted much at all.

Oliver however, now he's the kind of player that on output can draw comparisons with judd. Different players, but in regards to age and impact.

Also, I must concede at this point, petruckstop makes me feel nauseous upon sight, there's just something about him. That goal celebration.. jesus christ.. get off my stream screen.

He'll probably go on to be a great player, I'm just think the 'we lost by picking paddy' line is a little premature..
Now there's a perspective. I hadn't thought about that, agreed Petracca's game was good but hardly awesome and Billings' (under duress) was just as good as Petracca's.

I really wonder how many people on here really know the game if they cannot see how good Paddy McCartin is.

He's the best reader of the ball in flight I've seen since Plugger (the sign of a Champion key forward). His hands are incredible, he's smart and quick thinking in the clinches and attacks the aerial contests with authority and no fear. When the ball goes near him it looks like things will happen. On top of that he's a very skilled footballer in general.

And lets just wait and see how Petracca, Billings and Gresham stack up against each other in 2 or 3 years.

Very happy we took paddy he'll be a gun

Linton Lodger wrote:
desertsaint wrote:we all want to play finals this year, and on that timeframe i reckon petracca would have been the better choice. but realistically we're looking longer ahead, so i'm holding off on criticism of the decision for another year. Always though next year was the year we should be a guine top eight contender. the year after top four. roo will be gone, and a powerful marking forward will be essential to our success.
No, I actually want this list to win a Premiership. I don't give a crap about making up numbers for the finals.
this year? good luck.

First things first. Paddy NEEDS to string at least 4 games together.

I'm more worried about

Billy Longer VS Zach Merrett

Agree with O.P
Wasnt like Petracca wasnt a known quantity. Was known he was always going to be a star.
Wouldnt rely on a big man, McCartin is injury prone, and will proabably miss 4 years all up by the time his good average career is done.

Remember BJ? Hawkins? Even Ablett junior. All written off early as overrated. I could name plenty of others. Give the kid a break! Paddy will be a gun when his body is right.

RODOS

any chance you could give us some info on how he played? Marshall/Battle too?

also Acres

We keep talking up Paddy

Really because we hope he's going to be a gun... and he'll probably be a good player.

But from what I've seen

Limited physically, double grabs a bit, kicking a mixed bag, slow, and poor awareness.

I would suggest a Cloke/Hawkins career, which is pretty good. But #1 good?... when I can see a Martin style career for Petracca.

Too late now anyway, Paddy needs to get fit though... and those who think he is fit, or looks in good shape, absolutely kidding themselves... he's still not even defined in his musculature and a poor runner

Eyespy

RODOS wrote:
any chance you could give us some info on how he played? Marshall/Battle too?

also Acres

Was told Acres played " Champagne Football yesterday and looked like a " million dollar race horse "

1. Beveridge. We had him. Why we chose a stuttering idiot over a legend like bevo is beyond me.
2. Billings over bont. Chose a snot nosed toorak kid who had a nice kick but also the grit of a demons player.
3. Petracca over McCartin. Chose a slow diabetic smallish KEY forward over the standout 190cm midfielder with class and skill rarely seen. Ffs.
Nice counting. How many errors?

BTW
SMS wrote:
I am proud that the saints are doing those things needed. Great president now and reiwoldt is the greatest leader weve ever had. Richo is the right man and with gillonat the helm we have a chance.
and in a thread on who we might draft, you did quite well
SMS wrote:Billings
Hartung
Dunstan
And best for last.
SMS wrote: This decision to get McCartin is whats best for us. StKilda. We need a Roughead, not another billings/Dunstan combo. Granted Petracca looks fantastic and will no doubt be a gun. BUT McCartin loves footy more than anyone.
3 out of 3, or is that 3 out of 4?

I love footy... can I get drafted?

I'm out of retirement

Do they Rookie 43yos???

BigMart wrote:I love footy... can I get drafted?

I'm out of retirement

Do they Rookie 43yos???
We're only looking at good blokes mate.

*joking, joking :D

Yes, the old no d***heads policy

I heard Petracca interviewed poorly... that's important

St.Roly

kosifantutti wrote:
Nice counting. How many errors?

BTW
SMS wrote:
I am proud that the saints are doing those things needed. Great president now and reiwoldt is the greatest leader weve ever had. Richo is the right man and with gillonat the helm we have a chance.

and in a thread on who we might draft, you did quite well
SMS wrote:Billings
Hartung
Dunstan
And best for last.
SMS wrote: This decision to get McCartin is whats best for us. StKilda. We need a Roughead, not another billings/Dunstan combo. Granted Petracca looks fantastic and will no doubt be a gun. BUT McCartin loves footy more than anyone.
3 out of 3, or is that 3 out of 4?

If there's one thing I love, it's evidence.

Greg T

Paddy will be an absolute star in his own right one day

Club got it right,great replacement for Saint Nick and there's not
To many of his size and strength around

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key
RODOS

wasting a bit of time and started having a look at Josh j kennedy (eagles) career. For his first two seasons he averaged something .6 and .5 goals a game respectively, then 1, then 1.9 for two years, and it basically kept going that way, slow incremental improvements until last year with 3.6 gpg.

To compare that to paddy, in his first year he played 6 games and kicked 3 goals (.5 per game), he averaged 9.3 touches and 4.3 marks (.8 contested)

In his second year however he played 11 games, kicked 14 goals (1.3 per game - not to mention reduced game time due to injuries). He still went for 4.4 marks a game, but his contested marks went from .8 to 1.5. A really good sign, in a way, is that his average touches actually went down from 9.3 to 7 per game (no doubt effected by injury), but his goal average tripled.

So even with his injury effected second season (missed probably 2 games of time on ground there abouts due to injury) he has still managed to improve consistently in the areas we need him to, which is goals per game and contested marks per game. So far, by stats alone he has the best full forward in the afl covered, and by a fair margin.

We just have to give the big lad some time, he's definitely heading in the right direction

Yep, Paddy's tracking nicely, albeit interuppted by injuries.

The most exciting thing about him is his reading of the ball in flight, I haven't seen anything like it since Tony Lockett.

He hits the footy with perfectly soft hands and controls it beautifully.

He appears to be really quick over the first few metres on the burst, as was Lockett.

He's got a quick brain and hands under pressure and he generates opportunities.

Although he has yet to establish consistency kicking for goal, his field kicking demonstrates that he's elite by foot.

He attacks an aerial contest with a manic fearlessness.

He has to deal with playing at the highest level as a diabetic. That makes him very focussed with extreme mental toughness.

Taking Paddy at No.1 wasn't clever, shrewd or visionary, it was a no brainer.

Petracca is a gun, he is going to be a really good player, but he ain't Lenny Hayes or Rob Harvey.