Jade Gresham

Re: Jade Gresham

suss wrote:
BigMart wrote:How old is Clayton Oliver?

A teenager

35 touches

Yes, he does clever things!!!!

Does he find the footy through the middle much, like Caleb Daniel did as a 68kg 'teenager'?

Yesterday
No
You contribute a lot to this forum but this is you being a goose.

Oliver was pick 4, not 18, for a reason.

All clubs would take Jade in a second if he was put on the table.
Exactly.

If one wants to compare fairly then you look at players taken about the same place.

Jade has them all covered. Rioli who was taken just prior is the closest. Jade has Rioli covered in most stats.

If he doesn't win our B&F and the Brownlow I'm ripping up my membership and he should be sacked.

Geez think some are still upset by the loss.

He had 3 goals(1 brilliant, 1 sneaky crumb, 1 opportunistic mark).
Set up a reiwoldt goal dancing round a defender. Set up Lonies goal dancing around a defender
Think he had involvement in a couple more goals but can't remember how it all exactly went down

If correct that's involvement in 6 or 7 goals out of 13.

avid

Griggsy wrote:Geez think some are still upset by the loss.

He had 3 goals(1 brilliant, 1 sneaky crumb, 1 opportunistic mark).
Set up a reiwoldt goal dancing round a defender. Set up Lonies goal dancing around a defender
Think he had involvement in a couple more goals but can't remember how it all exactly went down

If correct that's involvement in 6 or 7 goals out of 13.

Yes.
And I'm editing my votes to reflect that.

Is going to have a great career... has ubnique attributes

this one is a win for the recruiters ..

mightysainters

Give it a rest St Mart he was bloody good and one of our only shining lights..

He is class! Sure his ball winning isn't great thus far but he proves in under 18's that is not a problem for him... A lot of players develop in backline and forward line to assimilate to pace of the game.. What U don't want to see is someone who has no composure or is a bad kick.. What you want to see is skill, Polish and genuine football smart and he has that in absolute spades!

Doesn't get enough of the ball? Perhaps you should watch the Carlton game from late last year again. Got some decent time in the midfield and had 10 possessions in the second quarter alone. Don't forget he's spent most of his time as a small forward with occasional stints in the midfield, thereby gradually introducing a rookie into the most demanding of all roles in the AFL. He is the only player, apart from Steven, who shows the qualities to be that 'burst' player in the midfield we so desperately need. The kid is already vital. He will be a star. Better than Steven because he is a better finisher. Gun!

RODOS

ablett esque balance and composure

footyhead

What I saw on Saturday is Jade Gresham has all the attributes to become an elite player. He thinks quickly and make a lot of good decisions. He could be one of those freakish players we all talk about wanting. Let's not belt the kid (is he 19?) or make him out a super star, enjoy watching him (hopefully) become that super star for us.

RODOS wrote:ablett esque balance and composure
Too good to waste as a goal-sneak forward.

What are the chances a pick 18+ will be elite??

I dunno?...

Nat Fyfe 19

Or even

Eddie Betts Overlooked
Dane Swan 58
Stephen Milne Overlooked
Matt Priddis overlooked

Their initial selection tells you how good they are ranked against 18yos after that it's how they cope at the top level

Gresham has shown some really exciting signs? But is yet to play any footy that demonstrates consistent ball winning through the middle
Like Daniel or Parish or Oliver or Heeney

He's a bit compatible to Dean Rioli as far as impact goes...

mightysainters

St Mart.. Please you're just knit picking.. U have named a very low percentage of players who in reality arent 'prolific ball winners' either.. Caleb Daniel? No

The rest were all top 5 players drafted or academy rated in top 5..

Grescham showed more anyone on that field did for us.. He's something special, if you can't see that watch closer

Need this bloke in the middle.

mightysainters wrote:St Mart.. Please you're just knit picking.. U have named a very low percentage of players who in reality arent 'prolific ball winners' either.. Caleb Daniel? No

The rest were all top 5 players drafted or academy rated in top 5..

Grescham showed more anyone on that field did for us.. He's something special, if you can't see that watch closer
Big Mart is known as a sad sack on here...
but the over-hyping of Gresham on here is reminiscent of when Siposs played about 2 reasonable games in a row and was immediately annointed as the new improved BJ.Love the way Gresham moves and some of his little tricks but let's just settle and let the kid get to 30-40 games before passing judgment!

White Winmar wrote:The boy is in his second season. Nineteen years old. Nineteenth senior game yesterday. Kicked three in a side that was smashed. In our best players. Again. I don't understand why people demand so much and fail to see the potential. He is far and above the best draftee we've had in recent memory in terms of performance so early in his career. Billings? Fourth year and struggling to impact games. McCartin? Can't even get on the park on a consistent basis. Dunstan? Struggling. Acres? In the VFL. Ross? Good, but has had 5 years in the system and many on here wanted him gone in his early years. Certainly, in his second year, nobody held high hopes for him. McKenzie? Can't get a game at present. If you can't see the enormous potential in this kid, ignore his significant achievements so far and can't see him as an A grade midfielder in the years to come, then you might not know as much about football as you think you do.
Spot on brother!!

No, I'm just a realist

And

I don't demand anything, not from a kid

Anyoneone would think I'm calling him s***, why the staunch defensive... is it because we have such an inferiority complex we go a bit silly if it is suggested that one of our kids is not as brilliant as we think.

Because calling him a gun is silly

He's a kid, with some nice tricks, who creates or finishes well... he's very clever.

Ball winning ability, before we start saying he's a star

We overrate our kids, have since 2006 because really good ones have been few and far between, when we see one that can kick it, mark it, or baulk or snag a goal... we think we have a jet

Give him three seasons, if he goes up levels each year, and transitions into the middle... I will happily say he is a gun

Would you rather a clever little forward... or him being a 25 a game rover?

White Winmar is spot on.. 19 year old and you want him to have goal kicking ability, elite skills and be a prolific ball winner?!! Are you serious? Every time the ball went his way something happened, he is a little gem. The problem with modern footy is the requirement for so many mid fielders. The need for rotation is huge and quality footballers with X factor like Wingard and Gresham is the demand for them to be stamina based rotating mid fielders when their talents are amazing near the goals.
You want to see these talents near the goals ....

I want him to hopefully be a mid... because his creativity 25 times a game will be far superior to 12 times and a few snags

And I agree, calling any 19yo who gets a bit of footy here and there, and shows class a gun is very silly.

That's why I don't do it

Selwood, Judd, perhaps Bont, Cripps but very few... that's why I said 3 years.. after that, you can judge

For anyone to be labelled a gun, they need to be a CONSISTENT match winner, for an extended period

It seems to me that if anyone says a player has potential, you read it to mean that we blindly think he is s champion now...

He's playing at a standard above what I expect from him.

I like the look of him and think he will be a good player.

By all means turn that into a negative

saint-stu

Why is it even a debate? Who cares!? He is very young and has *heaps* of potential. He is a potential gun. The nitpicking is so boring.

1ac46a38

Please sir, may I have some more. He twists and turns like a....twisty-turny thing.

BigMart wrote:What are the chances a pick 18+ will be elite??

I dunno?...

Nat Fyfe 19

Or even

Eddie Betts Overlooked
Dane Swan 58
Stephen Milne Overlooked
Matt Priddis overlooked

Their initial selection tells you how good they are ranked against 18yos after that it's how they cope at the top level

Gresham has shown some really exciting signs? But is yet to play any footy that demonstrates consistent ball winning through the middle
Like Daniel or Parish or Oliver or Heeney

He's a bit compatible to Dean Rioli as far as impact goes...

He's has minimal time through the midfield. Gresh is a star for his age, even ranked that way relative to his peers by Champion data. You're kidding yourself if you can't see his potential.

He is easily our best to come out of the draft so quickly in 10 years which is also a reflection our of not so amazing recruiting.

Quite possibly the least of our worries.

Because I've seen this site overrate player after player in the last ten years

Or

Write off players also

Again,

I'm very impressed by Jade, but not OTT like many. Let the boy evolve I reckon... Or pump up his tyres like with Eli, Dunstan, Siposs, Stanley etc...

BigMart wrote:
Or

Write off players also
Geeze Pot, Kettle Black here. So it is do as I say, and not do as I do eh?

By the way the guy that was no good because his profile had no pic is now at 99 games and counting.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Tue 28 Mar 2017 7:25am, edited 1 time in total.