St Kilda Acquire Nathan Brown

Re: St Kilda Acquire Nathan Brown

millarsaint wrote:Can someone please risk the filth pages and report back? Is no one brave enough? Don't look at me.
Had a look on their BF section... consensus seems to be disappointment and sadness from the Pies fans, lamenting their lack of a backline.
As well as plenty of trying to justify the decision... too one-paced, best football is behind him, game's passed him by, too immobile, B-C grade player, etc. etc.

SaintPav wrote:Are the Filth supporters filthy that he's going?

That would be a good indicator if he's any good.

I don't dare go there to have a look.
This is Paige Cardona's reaction:
"Nathan Brown is the most one-dimensional, limited player in the competition. Saw the best of him years ago. All the best tho, Rambo!"

also:
"Brown is going to St Kilda on minimum chips. Gubby Allen refused to let Collingwood match offer. Doesn't rate him one bit."

Held my breath and looked at the Filth fan forum. Surprisingly, there are people on there who are literate and sound reasonable :shock: :shock: :shock:

A few takes on Brown leaving them from their forum :

"Thanks for the memories Browny.
May you enjoy your football under a coach who has some sort of competence for the position."

"Brown rejected an offer from Collingwood 3 months ago, long before we recruited Wells. He wanted more money than we thought he was worth and he initially thought he could get more dosh from the Roos. After the Roos lost interest in him he apparently came back to Collingwood, but by then our offer had been reduced. Now he has gone to the Saints. Good luck to him, but let's not distort what's happened here."
This was disputed by someone else so not sure about the truth or otherwise in it.

General flavour of comments are that his best is past him and he lacks mobility in a game where everyone needs to be able to run run run. Varying degrees of angst about his kicking ability.
Many acknowledging his ability to keep gorillas quiet.

Consensus on there could perhaps best be summed up as :

"Regardless of the reasons why he's no longer a pie, the important question is "is he in our best 28 players?"
Before you answer, please remind yourself that this will be for season 2017, not season 2010!

Wombat15

st.byron wrote:

Consensus on there could perhaps best be summed up as :

"Regardless of the reasons why he's no longer a pie, the important question is "is he in our best 28 players?"
Before you answer, please remind yourself that this will be for season 2017, not season 2010!
Based on Talent; No

Based on Needs; Yes

He'll provide depth and cover until Goddard is established,rehabbed and ready to go. Also perfect injury cover for the scenario that we had this year and means we arent calling on the likes of Lee, Delaney and Roberton to play on key forwards.

Wombat15 wrote:Based on Talent; No

Based on Needs; Yes

He'll provide depth and cover until Goddard is established,rehabbed and ready to go. Also perfect injury cover for the scenario that we had this year and means we arent calling on the likes of Lee, Delaney and Roberton to play on key forwards.
If Brown can keep the likes of Hogan and Kennedy to 1-3 goals instead of 6-9 goals then I couldn't give a rat's arse what his running capacity and rebound is like. Very handy acquisition at a great price

These are his player ratings for each game of 2016. Looks to do OK to me. Good pickup.

7 Syd Not beaten one on one at full back; one of the few Magpies to win his position.
6 Rich Defended stoutly on Griffiths and Vickery at times. Played his role well.
5 StK Showed little respect to McCartin early and got caught a few times. Took Bruce in second half in a good battle.
5 Melb Thrown task on Hogan and battled him pretty well for the most part.
6 Ess Took Mitch Brown for long periods and quelled him all match.
5 WCE Had no real answer to Kennedy but to battle on. Pushed him wide for marks though.
- VFL OK down back before injuring hamstring in the third term.
- Hamstring.
- VFL Did well down back and stuck close to Werribee opponents all day.
- VFL Fair down back and made some good spoils but wasn’t his best outing.
- VFL Bye.
5 Frem Began on Pavlich. Tried hard and did the little negating things well.
6 Carl Solid as a rock at full back. Didn’t put a foot wrong and worked superbly with Reid.
3 GWS Low key in defence initially on Cameron but overhead strength was handy.
6 Adel Great job on Walker, restricting him to one goal.
3 NM Had his moments with B. Brown and dropped marks. Fought on late.
5 WCE Had trouble at times with Kennedy but stuck to his task and did a fair job.
5 Rich Battled Griffiths at times and had him covered from start to finish.
5 WB Picked up Roughead and Boyd when they rested in attack. Solid and efficient.
4 GCS Big job opposed to Lynch and was troubled when the ball came in without pressure.
3 Haw Had resting ruckman at times and OK defensively. Rarely sighted going other way.

I regulary go on the Filth forum as I like seeing what they think about stuff. Most of them are just normal footy fans like most of us. I like reading their take on other sports.

And their thread titled 'Laugh at Carlscum' has been going for a few years and is exceptionally hilarious when the Scum lose

st.byron wrote: "Regardless of the reasons why he's no longer a pie, the important question is "is he in our best 28 players?"
I think this is an important question for us too considering he will likely be one of the higher paid players at the club…

If he is short term cover, is he better than Sam Fisher?

If Brown plays, who misses from: Dempster / Geary / Carslisle / Gilbert / Webster / Newnes / Savage / Goddard / McKenzie etc

st.byron wrote: "Regardless of the reasons why he's no longer a pie, the important question is "is he in our best 28 players?"
I think this is an important question for us too considering he will likely be one of the higher paid players at the club…
Most reports have his salary as being low. Certainly will not be one of the higher paid players at the club.
Seems he just wanted a 2 year contract and saw an opportunity to play some footy at St Kilda.
There is no indication in any reports that we made big offer in terms of salary

SuperDuper wrote:Most reports have his salary as being low. Certainly will not be one of the higher paid players at the club.
Seems he just wanted a 2 year contract and saw an opportunity to play some footy at St Kilda.
There is no indication in any reports that we made big offer in terms of salary
Well that's good news…

"He has averaged 10 disposals, four intercept possessions and one intercept mark a game this season, all ranked below average for a key defender by Champion Data."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/t ... 24088c1775

We need him to stand gorillas - rarely beaten and as someone said, unlike Delaney, has played regular senior AFL footy for that reason

Kicking is ordinary and don't want him dashing down the wing - just play a role and stop a Hogan or Buddy tearing us a new one. Cost nothing and that's his job for 2 years IMO

The gorillas are also getting leaner and more agile but their not getting any shorter. It's his height that will be his greatest asset for us at the moment when we need 2 talls in defense. It's where guys like Chips, Gilbo, Dempster and Robbo have struggled.

You mention Buddy who is feared for his agility and speed more than anything. Guys like Cameron and Patton from GWS and Wright and Lynch from GCSuns are your new tall forwards that are quick on the loose ball, so perhaps Brown needs to shed a few kgs to match them when the footy hits the ground

Playon

New Saints defender Nathan Brown is talking on NAB AFL Trade Radio.

Here's a summary:

Good to have a new club and even better it's St Kilda.
I was fairly honest with where I was in chatting with Bucks at the end of the season. Had to make a big call on playing future.
Went away then decided it was time to move on.
Change of scenery. Been there for 10 years. I wasn't stale but just something I needed.
I still have some growing to do in footy and the Saints and Alan Richardson the right ones to help. Knew 'Richo' when he was a development coach at the Magpies.
Made him feel like an 18-year-old just starting out after that first meeting.
The Saints can play some great footy and I was on the receiving end of that.
Good culture and a place full of confidence.
Did a physical work-out for the Saints at an oval in East Malvern. They smashed him.
Unbelievable to be a teammate of Nick Riewoldt and not an opponent.
Had a ball at Collingwood. Sad to leave.

http://www.afl.com.au/trade/trade-talk

Cost us nothing. More than happy to have him so we can be patient with Hugh.
Also allows Carlisle to be more damaging and go for his marks.

Gershwin wrote:
SaintPav wrote:Are the Filth supporters filthy that he's going?

That would be a good indicator if he's any good.

I don't dare go there to have a look.
This is Paige Cardona's reaction:
"Nathan Brown is the most one-dimensional, limited player in the competition. Saw the best of him years ago. All the best tho, Rambo!"

also:
"Brown is going to St Kilda on minimum chips. Gubby Allen refused to let Collingwood match offer. Doesn't rate him one bit."

Seriously, does anyone on this forum give a flying for what the filth think? Their supporters, all of them, and I do mean all of them, are feral.

I heard Brown interviewed on trade radio. I like the sound of him. Sure he's a one-on-one key defender and maybe the game has moved away slightly from his particular skill set but he's still got some good footy in him.

I do not rate Buckley as a coach and Allen is probably going to be banned from footy for some time for his role in the Whitfield affair so what they think of Brown is irrelevant from our club's point of view.

Paige is entitled to her opinion.

NB knows he needs to learn Saints footy. He also knows he needs to adapt. He says he is willing to lean new tricks and I believe him.

He cost us nothing except what we are paying him. He fills a need for another key tall defender.

Let's give him a chance I say.

Richo was instrumental in getting Brown. They go back a long way. I trust our coach and I respect his judgement and his ability to get the very best out of his players.

So say all of us IMO.
Last edited by damienc on Tue 18 Oct 2016 6:41pm, edited 1 time in total.

Is Paige one of those pink pies or just your random toothless tramp stamped feral filth ?

Not that there is anything wrong with being pink these days.

She sounds bitter to me and twisted. Just your typical one eyed Magpies supporter

magnifisaint wrote:She sounds bitter to me and twisted. Just your typical one eyed Magpies supporter

saynta wrote:Is Paige one of those pink pies or just your random toothless tramp stamped feral filth ?

Not that there is anything wrong with being pink these days.
Wow mate, really classy stuff…

Verdun66

Paige is ok. One eyed Pies fan of course. When Nathan Freeman came to us she very quickly pointed out that Collingwood had completely mucked up his rehab, and been difficult to him. She wished him all the best and could completely understand why he was leaving. Her view on Brown would be quite genuine, and it is up to him to prove those people wrong.

Am happy we got him because the gorilla-keeper role is one where we have struggled. Great cover at worst.

I'm liking his maturity and character-

Nathan Brown says being at St Kilda makes him feel like an 18-year-old again.

The former Collingwood full-back said he left the Magpies feeling he needed a change and was very happy to be at the Saints.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/st-kilda-s ... s5rwq.html

Verdun66 wrote:Paige is ok. One eyed Pies fan of course. When Nathan Freeman came to us she very quickly pointed out that Collingwood had completely mucked up his rehab, and been difficult to him. She wished him all the best and could completely understand why he was leaving. Her view on Brown would be quite genuine, and it is up to him to prove those people wrong.

Am happy we got him because the gorilla-keeper role is one where we have struggled. Great cover at worst.
She sounds bitter. She should show a bit more grace. It doesn't look good for her given she likes to spruik herself as some sort of U18 expert.

repta

Could he be used as a back up ruck? Similar to Josh Bruce role this year. 195cm.