Luke Dunstan to be traded?

Re: Luke Dunstan to be traded?

jaxons wrote:
Vazelos wrote:Put your ego back in your box buddy..
Uncalled for post... dont let your little fame here go to your head.
I called Seb Ross in December having a break out year before anyone, give an opinion instead of little scoops that everyone knows anyway. Being a poor mans Damian Barrett doesn't impress me.
I have contacts in media and the club too but don't share them here all the time.I actually am involved in Sport and understand how it all works on the player management side.
I'm hoping Dunstan steps up but my feeling is he may fall down the pecking order in the next two years of his level doesn't improve which I hope he does considering his age.

Thanks for your resume mate.
Not interested in getting into arguments with Saints supporters.
Can tell you unequivocally that Luke is so highly regarded by leadership group and coaches at our club.
Wasn't just 'willy nilly' he was given Lenny's jumper to wear.
Likely to captain our club in a few years.
To see him mentioned as a possible trade and that you don't know where he is at, I'm sorry mate flies in the face of the entire football club's opinion on him.
Embarrassed yourself a little here.
Dunstan cant get a game - let alone is he Captain material. His endurance is miles off AFL standard and he isnt even all that big bodied.
Absolutely miles behind Ross and Newnes and nowhere near the upside of Billings, Steele and Acres.
The "ITK 'opinion' is clearly spin and not fact.

carn_sainter

Con Gorozidis wrote:Embarrassed yourself a little here.
Dunstan cant get a game - let alone is he Captain material. His endurance is miles off AFL standard and he isnt even all that big bodied.
Absolutely miles behind Ross and Newnes and nowhere near the upside of Billings, Steele and Acres.
I'm of the opinion that Dunstan isn't in the best 22 at the moment but we should acknowledge the difference between struggling to perform for three weeks and being irredeemably hopeless. His form for a brief period is not cause enough to invalidate any faith that anyone has had in him or still has in him. Fact is that coaches and players talk about him with an evidently higher level of respect than they do for other players at the club and that that must have been earned.

Ellaandjohn

Hi con. A bit harsh on that guy. He was probably doing his best. Go luke dunstans

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jaxons wrote:
I called Seb Ross in December having a break out year before anyone, give an opinion instead of little scoops that everyone knows anyway. Being a poor mans Damian Barrett doesn't impress me.
I have contacts in media and the club too but don't share them here all the time.I actually am involved in Sport and understand how it all works on the player management side.
I'm hoping Dunstan steps up but my feeling is he may fall down the pecking order in the next two years of his level doesn't improve which I hope he does considering his age.

Can tell you unequivocally that Luke is so highly regarded by leadership group and coaches at our club.
To see him mentioned as a possible trade and that you don't know where he is at, I'm sorry mate flies in the face of the entire football club's opinion on him.
+1000

Dunstan might do a lot of bullocking work, to apparently clear the way for Stuv and co,
but when Koby replaced Luke,
Stuv was still getting over 30 touches and bursting out of contests like a squeezed pimple.
Dunstan was slow, is slow, and will always be slow.

Oh, Lenny wasn't exactly Cyril Rioli, eh?
Yeah, but Lenny learnt to compensate for the "a bit less than speedy" trait.

Luke's played enough games and has shown zero improvement in this regard.
Don't care for so-called "ITK" who reckon Luke will be captain one day.
He's been dropped.
I don't want him in the team, so am I happy now?
You betcha little cotton socks I am.

I never liked Zac Dawson. I don't like Dunstan either and for similar reasons.
We have better players (Stevens, etc)
and can get better players next year.

I hope Luke captains the club one day. I think he's made of the right stuff.

If Luke Captains StK it will be a Mike Brearly situation

BigMart wrote:If Luke Captains StK it will be a Mike Brearly situation

Well in that case it would be a good thing.

Brearley captained the international side in 31 of his 39 Test matches, winning 17 and losing only 4. In his second stint as Captain he turned the flagging English ship around with them then winning the Ashes 3-1.

WellardSaint wrote:
jaxons wrote:

Dunstan cant get a game - let alone is he Captain material.
+1000
I don't want him in the team, so am I happy now?
You betcha little cotton socks I am.

I never liked Zac Dawson. I don't like Dunstan either and for similar reasons.
I reckon you guys are the ones embarrassing yourselves… being dropped in his fourth year of footy is no disgrace

He's 22 years old and has already played 50+ games in his first 3 seasons…

He may be out of form but his career isn't over just yet, can't believe anyone would be so delighted about a promising young player being out of the side.

The_President

Can anyone think of a club that's really light on for inside kids?

Dunstan and Armo to be a packaged deal.

I remember when Seb Ross was a poor runner and considered slow and look at him now. It can be worked on and improved if the player is willing to and given the time to do it. Dunstan is a smart footballer coming off 2 shoulder reconstructions since he came to us. Give him time and another pre season before writing him off.

Impatient Sainter wrote:I remember when Seb Ross was a poor runner and considered slow and look at him now. It can be worked on and improved if the player is willing to and given the time to do it. Dunstan is a smart footballer coming off 2 shoulder reconstructions since he came to us. Give him time and another pre season before writing him off.
Not writing him off just yet.

The main difference is that Luke had his best year in his first season. He has plateaued or gone backwards since then.

Seb improved gradually and then exploded last year.

Seb ave disposals by season went 8-15-16-18-26-30

Luke has gone 19-17-17-18

But agree - I think Luke shouldnt be judged harshly until next year. Needs another pre-season.

The_President

Impatient Sainter wrote:I remember when Seb Ross was a poor runner and considered slow and look at him now. It can be worked on and improved if the player is willing to and given the time to do it. Dunstan is a smart footballer coming off 2 shoulder reconstructions since he came to us. Give him time and another pre season before writing him off.

The main difference is that Luke had his best year in his first season. He has plateaued or gone backwards since then.

But agree - I think Luke shouldnt be judged harshly until next year. Needs another pre-season.
Paddy doesn't?

He's had his fair share of injuries across his first few seasons.

Repeated shoulder surgeries yes?

Does not cover for his apparent lack of pace, endurance and ability to apply a second and third effort, or cover ground to the next contest.

He is in serious danger of being overtaken by several.

jaxons wrote:

His "ITK" status has taken a battering on this one.
Saynta who acted like a real smart arse on this post has to eat his words too and " the recruit".
They came out very hard on Dunstan, Jaxon attacked the man and unfortunately for him he has lost some credibility.
You don't want to be right on these type of subjects but some of us saw things that the coaching department have now identified whilst others were rating him a lot higher and that isn't developing at this stage. With Free Agency mid fielder coming in and the natural development of others he is in trouble for mine. I don't like him in the team, there is nothing about him that gives me the confidence required to change my mind at this stage.

it was mentioned that the Swines picked Luke as a weakness,
and kept giving the ball off to a Swine who was next to Luke, knowing #7 can't run, and they just ran away from him.

Luke had that shoulder reco late last year,
and just remember that Membrey had one in late 2015, which, in his own words,
let him build up his tank with a lot of running during rehab.

So, jaxons and others, what the hell did Luke do to improve his endurance during his rehab?
He's exactly the same as the last 3-4 years.
Something is rotten in China

The_President wrote:

Paddy doesn't?
Paddy needs about three pre-seasons I think.

I havent written Paddy off. I am just being realistic about where he is at right now. I only want to see glimpses and 2-3 good games per year at this stage.
Not expecting domination. But boy he looks miles off. He looked better in his first game.
Some of the stuff on here that he is the next plugger needs to be corrected.

Funny that, I remember some posters saying similar about Jerryn!!!!!

stonecold wrote:
Funny that, you say you're an In The Know, but his name is Jarryn.

Interesting listening to Andrew Ireland on list management prior to the game tonight. He mentioned the swines weren't too fussed about losing Tom Mitchell, because as good as he is, he was considered 4th in line of the inside type midfielders. With Mills and Heeney coming on as well, and being targeted by NM last year, the swines decided to take pick 14 in exchange for him and save their bikkies for future FA and protecting their own. I think Luke might be in the same boat as Mitchell was. Seen as the most dispensable, especially given we should get a gun midfielder in the trade period.

White Winmar wrote:Interesting listening to Andrew Ireland on list management prior to the game tonight. He mentioned the swines weren't too fussed about losing Tom Mitchell, because as good as he is, he was considered 4th in line of the inside type midfielders. With Mills and Heeney coming on as well, and being targeted by NM last year, the swines decided to take pick 14 in exchange for him and save their bikkies for future FA and protecting their own. I think Luke might be in the same boat as Mitchell was. Seen as the most dispensable, especially given we should get a gun midfielder in the trade period.
I would like the club to pursue a potential replacement for Roo, because I don't see Paddy ever being a consistent KPP up forward for us.
Our mids look OK at the moment, Newnes, Steele, Stevens, Seb, Stuv, Acres, etc are all nice movers
and our priority should be another strong-marking forward first and foremost.

WellardSaint wrote: I would like the club to pursue a potential replacement for Roo, because I don't see Paddy ever being a consistent KPP up forward for us.
Our mids look OK at the moment, Newnes, Steele, Stevens, Seb, Stuv, Acres, etc are all nice movers
and our priority should be another strong-marking forward first and foremost.
Replacing Roo is like replacing Bradman - impossible. Given that we'll still have Bruce, Membrey and McCartin the cupboard won't exactly be bare. From what I've read about the up and comers the one with the ability to work up and down the ground is Battle, although reports on Marshall have been really positive.Helpfully we'll still be able to manage to kick a winning score.

WellardSaint wrote:
stonecold wrote:
Funny that, you say you're an In The Know, but his name is Jarryn.
Never claimed to be 'In The Know', you never made a spelling mistake?????

Pretty sure you have not always been a Jarryn fan!!!!!##!!!!!

By the way Samantha, you carnt ring my bell!!!!!##!!!!!

What?

The 'Jerryn Geary' who was Runner Up in the best and fairest last year and top 6 in four of the last five years?

Pretty sure he deserved the job?

It is funny
Mike Brearly averaged 18 in test cricket
Luke averages 18 disposals

Both are statistically below par... Brearly did have Botham to win him games though...
Along with Gower, Willis, Gooch etc...