St Kilda applies for a Womens Football team( now 2020)

Re: St Kilda applies for a Womens Football team( now 2020)

AFLW is rubbish to watch. And the reason is simple.

It's not the lack of skills - they are OK.

It's not the passion and endeavour- that is ezcellent.

It's simply the lack of scoring as they play on grounds that are too long. Girls can't lick as long as the boys and as such should play on shortened fields. Scoring would increase dramatically and it would be footy with footy scores not soccer scores.

Well, it's good we're finally getting a team in 2020. Will be there to watch them at Moorabbin with bells on.
saintspremiers wrote:It's simply the lack of scoring as they play on grounds that are too long. Girls can't kick as long as the boys and as such should play on shortened fields. Scoring would increase dramatically and it would be footy with footy scores not soccer scores.
Can't argue with that, SP. It's like seeing the Little League at half time back in the day when they used the entire field. One goal by a team would pretty much seal a win. I hope this modification done by the time our team plays in the comp.

The Barometer

Fantastic news! I will be at the first game with my daughters cheering on the red, white and black. Was having a hard time explaining to my four year that the saints didn't have a womans team and was becoming resigned the fact she would eventually choose another club to support in the womans comp, not any more!

“One in four female players in Victoria currently live and play in Bayside Melbourne, making it arguably the single strongest region for women’s football in Australia.

So how in hell did the Kangas get in before the Saints? With Carlton, Dogs and Demons all neighbours of North Melbourne, not to mention the Pies what logic was applied to have them in the competition over the Saints who have to wait the extra year?

saintsRrising wrote:“One in four female players in Victoria currently live and play in Bayside Melbourne, making it arguably the single strongest region for women’s football in Australia.

So how in hell did the Kangas get in before the Saints? With Carlton, Dogs and Demons all neighbours of North Melbourne, not to mention the Pies what logic was applied to have them in the competition over the Saints who have to wait the extra year?
I assume the AFL saw more money in it with North striking up this Tasmania joint venture. Pretty shrewd of North to do that.

Sainternist wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:“One in four female players in Victoria currently live and play in Bayside Melbourne, making it arguably the single strongest region for women’s football in Australia.

I assume the AFL saw more money in it with North striking up this Tasmania joint venture. Pretty shrewd of North to do that.

and semi satisfies the push for Tasmanian team

and Geelong obviously need more funds and teams playing on their ground to pay for the development

Proph3t of egan

North should just move to Tasmania permenantly, it's the only thing they have going for them

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think
Proph3t of egan

Also, I can't help but feel that the women's talent field will be super shallow by the time we join up, and that we may be doomed to be down the bottom of the ladder unless we get access to the bay side talent area

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think

Terrific news for the club! Go Saints!!

MickThomas

Proph3t of egan wrote:Also, I can't help but feel that the women's talent field will be super shallow by the time we join up, and that we may be doomed to be down the bottom of the ladder unless we get access to the bay side talent area
More young ladies will become interested in AFLW,
so the talent pool is actually going to grow.
Not quickly, but it will grow, it won't shrink at all.

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

MickThomas wrote:
Proph3t of egan wrote:Also, I can't help but feel that the women's talent field will be super shallow by the time we join up, and that we may be doomed to be down the bottom of the ladder unless we get access to the bay side talent area
More young ladies will become interested in AFLW,
so the talent pool is actually going to grow.
Not quickly, but it will grow, it won't shrink at all.
Yep, I reckon you could be onto something there, Mick.

saintspremiers wrote:AFLW is rubbish to watch. And the reason is simple.

It's simply the lack of scoring as they play on grounds that are too long. Girls can't lick as long as the boys and as such should play on shortened fields. Scoring would increase dramatically and it would be footy with footy scores not soccer scores.
I don't think licking is a problem

Sounds like the AFLW has suddenly made you become aroused :mrgreen:

MickThomas

Umm...I've suddenly become interested in this AFLW

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

Re: St Kilda applies for a Womens Football team

LTN16 wrote:No big loss missing out. Womens football will be the biggest flop and won't last.

Who really enjoys watching it? It's just not the same..

I agree, It's just a PC fad.

Bit like a yo-yo, rub-ix cube. and that finger spinning crap.
You are both wrong.
Womens footy is here to stay.
Sure they might have to tweak the rules to make it higher scoring.

Great news the Saints will finally get a team.
Great for girls.
Great for our brand.

Junior

As the self appointed AFLW person on this site, I can put to rest concerns re talent pool.

What we are seeing now is very much women who have had limited exposure to elite pathways, there is now real structure and resources in place for the youth girls coming through.

There is now TAC cup teams, AFlL under eighteen academy's and through the growth of teams more participation. As well as state based academy's.

The St Kilda womens team that beat the ADF earlier in the year are considered the best undrafted players in the state, the week before that game they played the AFL academy under 18 girls and were played off the park. The talent coming through will be huge and only getting better.

The club has put a lot of work in already and had the best players in the Bayside region training on a Monday night throughout August, regardless of whether you enjoy the womens game or not it is here to stay and very exciting and important for our female supporter base in particular.

A champion team will always beat a team of champions.
Gordo'
Location: banned for a spell, things didn't turn out so well, every thread i played, ffs was lucky i stayed!!!

Enrico_Misso wrote:
LTN16 wrote:No big loss missing out. Womens football will be the biggest flop and won't last.

You are both wrong.

Great for girls.
Great for our brand.
You're too flowering right there mate!!! ffs, we're a flowering foundation club!!! so flowering well should have been a foundation club for women's footy too!!! :evil: but, better flowering late than never.............I guess. :roll:

Fortitude Fidelity Sainta.

Will be dead in 3 years....especially if they add teams and drop the standard.

Enrico_Misso wrote:

You are both wrong.

Great for girls.
Great for our brand.

fugazi wrote:Will be dead in 3 years....especially if they add teams and drop the standard.
Standard may drop but the AFL will keep pumping millions into AFLW.

Is just like GWS - all about gaining a foothold in rival turf.

AFLW is about branding the AFL as not just a boys club. It's also about getting more women watching AFL games and convincing Mum's to let their kids - both boys and girls, play te game.

fugazi wrote:Will be dead in 3 years....especially if they add teams and drop the standard.
Standard may drop but the AFL will keep pumping millions into AFLW.

Is just like GWS - all about gaining a foothold in rival turf.

AFLW is about branding the AFL as not just a boys club. It's also about getting more women watching AFL games and convincing Mum's to let their kids - both boys and girls, play te game.
There's no doubt that Women's footy has taken off. So much so that they are struggling to find grounds to play on. I have teenage daughters and girls everywhere are signing up. Dropping out of their current sports to give it a go.

The current standard is woeful however. About 3-4 really good players in each team and the rest are duds. I watched a couple of quarters in different games on TV (couldn't hold my interest any longer) and even my 17yr old daughter exclaimed to me, 'they can't kick, they're hopeless dad!'

Now the AFL are introducing more teams???? I agree with SP, it's purely a marketing exercise by the AFL to get a foothold with women. Very smart. However how are the clubs going to feel about this when they actually have to start paying all the expenses themselves rather than the AFL footing the bill. Eventually the AFL are going to have to charge ppl to walk through the gates as well if they (the women) are to be taken seriously. Some giant steps ahead. I can't see the standard being watchable for at least 10 years when todays girls start coming through.

Moods wrote:There's no doubt that Women's footy has taken off. So much so that they are struggling to find grounds to play on. I have teenage daughters and girls everywhere are signing up. Dropping out of their current sports to give it a go.

The current standard is woeful however. About 3-4 really good players in each team and the rest are duds. I watched a couple of quarters in different games on TV (couldn't hold my interest any longer) and even my 17yr old daughter exclaimed to me, 'they can't kick, they're hopeless dad!'

Now the AFL are introducing more teams???? I agree with SP, it's purely a marketing exercise by the AFL to get a foothold with women. Very smart. However how are the clubs going to feel about this when they actually have to start paying all the expenses themselves rather than the AFL footing the bill. Eventually the AFL are going to have to charge ppl to walk through the gates as well if they (the women) are to be taken seriously. Some giant steps ahead. I can't see the standard being watchable for at least 10 years when todays girls start coming through.
You make some good points Moods. Whilst the best are pretty damn good, depth, and hence standard, is a consideration. Hopefully though, the girls will surprise to the upside...
Junior wrote:As the self appointed AFLW person on this site, I can put to rest concerns re talent pool.

What we are seeing now is very much women who have had limited exposure to elite pathways, there is now real structure and resources in place for the youth girls coming through.

There is now TAC cup teams, AFlL under eighteen academy's and through the growth of teams more participation. As well as state based academy's.

The St Kilda womens team that beat the ADF earlier in the year are considered the best undrafted players in the state, the week before that game they played the AFL academy under 18 girls and were played off the park. The talent coming through will be huge and only getting better.

The club has put a lot of work in already and had the best players in the Bayside region training on a Monday night throughout August, regardless of whether you enjoy the womens game or not it is here to stay and very exciting and important for our female supporter base in particular.
And I'm sure that you've been a good dad, and taught young Ms Moods 1 & 2 how to kick... and with both feet. :wink:

How can anyone play a game of footy at Moorabbin? The plans I've seen don't even have a stand or facilities.

Jacks Back wrote:How can anyone play a game of footy at Moorabbin? The plans I've seen don't even have a stand or facilities.
There will be games played there. Just none that will be likely to draw a sizeable crowd.

So perfectly suited to some VFL or some WAFL (ie against interstate team or the Kangas) and other games.

But as for the Saints mens team', only intraclub and the like.

On skills. As most girls have only just taken the game up in terms of actually playing it it is no wonder that skills are awful. It takes time. Very few can master a sport in only a year or two. Just look at internationals who are gifted athletes who can fail to become ok.

It takes time.

However I do agree that women''s football will mainly be a participation sport.' BUT there is nothing wrong with this.

Aussie crowds topday basically just follow the top tier of any sport. Look at Sheffield Shield Cricket for example. Two men and a dog. Big Bash goes ok as there is no real BigBash International Cricket on in Australia on a regular basis. So a short season BigBash goes ok.

So yes I think that women's football will mainly be participation. But do not underrate the importance of having a women'' team on the long-term viability of StKFC. Women are over 50% of the potential supporters and so with a large chunk of girls now playing the game there will be some aspirational thoughts going on, and with a StKFC team you will then see potential supporters drift off to other clubs.

StKFC most definitely needs a women's team IMO.