Saints rule out Martin

BakesFan

Re: Saints rule out Martin

Culture

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)

Megamaguire wrote:Not surprised at all.

We need team players with talented skillsets but also the mental wherewithall to focus very clearly on permenant improvement as a strategy. No offence to the Dustman but hre seems to be the opposite to the likes of Harvey, ; Hayes ; Burke and indeed Dal Santo. Don't mind the club talking with him it hopefully builds the recruiters sense of who they should aim to target.

We have a few very promising young mids in the system already if we can add number to that group in a consistent way annually from here on in the turn around will get a lot closer, sooner. Don't like the idea of letting Montagna go as with hayes i think the young guys can learn a lot of him. We still have a few significant solid citizens at St. Kilda to help the younguns acclimatize.

We don't need players that could upset the applecart. - i know we need a good number of damn good apples to add to that cart.
It can be done.

G O S A I N T S!

Makes the decision to cut Luke Ball a bit puzzling........

Was that dust white by any chance?

Excellent decisions.

Keep StKilda bogan and tattoo free.

Everyone but Richmond has ruled out Martin, Richmond should now offer him $450,000 a year to re-sign, what else can Martin do but sign, no one wants him.

Actually, before he does sign he should sack his idiot manager, just like Tina did.

Wayne42 wrote:Everyone but Richmond has ruled out Martin, Richmond should now offer him $450,000 a year to re-sign, what else can Martin do but sign, no one wants him.

Actually, before he does sign he should sack his idiot manager, just like Tina did.
Why humiliate him? It won't make him play better footy. They should probably just offer him the same contract. terms as their last offer.

Wayne42 wrote:Everyone but Richmond has ruled out Martin, Richmond should now offer him $450,000 a year to re-sign, what else can Martin do but sign, no one wants him.

Why humiliate him? It won't make him play better footy. They should probably just offer him the same contract. terms as their last offer.
Hardly loyal, he took a gamble and lost, a reduced contract would give him something to think about, the contract should definitely be renegotiated.

Wayne42 wrote:

Hardly loyal, he took a gamble and lost, a reduced contract would give him something to think about, the contract should definitely be renegotiated.
Indeed, but why stop there? Take him to court. Tiges would have a good case.

Wayne42 wrote:
Indeed, but why stop there? Take him to court. Tiges would have a good case.
Silly comment really, we won't agree obviously, i'll wait and see what Richmond do as opposed to what you post..

Wayne42 wrote:
Silly comment really, we won't agree obviously, i'll wait and see what Richmond do as opposed to what you post..
Not as silly as yours but how quaint; for Queen and country old chap?

Tigers told him to go out and seek a better deal but yeah loyalty.

I'm a little more egalitarian and I don't support blind loyalty. It's not for me but good luck to you.

It's a two way street Wayno.

Wayne42 wrote:
Not as silly as yours but how quaint; for Queen and country old chap?

Tigers told him to go out and seek a better deal but yeah loyalty.

I'm a little more egalitarian and I don't support blind loyalty. It's not for me but good luck to you.

It's a two way street Wayno.
:lol: Let's see what Richmond do, i don't think they told him to do anything but sign , good luck for your opinion, good luck for Carr as a player manager :shock: crapola :roll:

Wayne, I don't care what Richmond do. I'm talking about principle. If he's not happy he has a right to shop around. We're not close enough to know the intricacies but it would be pretty petty and petulant of them if they turn around and say we're paying you $50K less now because you spoke to other clubs. They would obviously have the upper hand now but they wouldn't end up with a happy player. They need happy players to play well not ram sh!t down his throat like they are trying to buy a second hand car. I don't mean to be rude or anything but it's kinda a bit more sophisticated than that Wayne.

SaintPav wrote:Wayne, I don't care what Richmond do. I'm talking about principle. If he's not happy he has a right to shop around. We're not close enough to know the intricacies but it would be pretty petty and petulant of them if they turn around and say we're paying you $50K less now because you spoke to other clubs. They would obviously have the upper hand now but they wouldn't end up with a happy player. They need happy players to play well not ram sh!t down his throat like they are trying to buy a second hand car. I don't mean to be rude or anything but it's kinda a bit more sophisticated than that Wayne.
Rude is part of your style, let's not be cute... :roll:

F**k Martin..Richmond will sort it out to their advantage or detriment, you and i mass debating won't alter that.

As long as we, the Saints, don't end up with the Wanker, i'm ecstatic...

go for it

Unfortunately most of our wankers were or are members of our board

Lazy 40 touches, 2 goals and 15 clearances today with a broken cheek.

It was Scott Watters who killed the deal.

Can't blame Cuddles for our apparent lack of interest this year.

Is Martin really earning less than Josh Bruce this year as suggested in this thread?

Just get him. Total gun.

Playon

Why are we bumping a 4 year old thread?

Playon wrote:Why are we bumping a 4 year old thread?
It was an accident while I was looking for a recent discussion on Martin… but it's a pretty funny read none the less.

Playon

If you start digging up 4 year old threads. I'll probably have to argue with myself :)

Were you perhaps looking for one of these?
There's been enough of them

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=92182
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=92175

Playon wrote:Why are we bumping a 4 year old thread?
It was an accident while I was looking for a recent discussion on Martin… but it's a pretty funny read none the less.

Love the historical thread bump even if an accident!

If he keeps up this form we would nearly need to make a Fyfe $1.3m type offer. Not sure the rumours of being ruled out were true. At the end of this year it could be painfully clear how we're behind in the midfield stakes compared to many of our competitors for a flag.

With Hickey, Longer, Pierce and Holmes on our list, I don't think we need to chase Steffan Martin.

yeah I guess recruiting someone with talent goes against the grain.