Geary the blueprint for future

Imho Geary was our best player easily today.

What does this teach us ? There are no short cuts to success.
You can't trade your way to a flag .
People who fret about gifting games to kids performing well in the vfl and want to cling to the past need to consider geary jack and armo and look fwd not back.

You need to pick talented kids and then develop them.
Get them to work hard and reward that. Have a positive culture that doesn't force a grinding apprenticeship. Know they will have down games..probably even down years.
For the most part. Players play their best footy from 24 to 28 around the 100 game mark.
I'm sure we can all think of exceptions. Well big whoops. On average you need guys playing well in that age group.
That's our challenge for the next give years. Don't panic. Be patient. Stick to a plan sainters.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 20 Apr 2013 8:39pm, edited 4 times in total.

Re: Geary the blueprint for future

Geary was great today, heaps of run off half back... on the other hand Steven tried hard but seems to have lost some silk he once had.

Geary got heaps of the ball because the ball entered Essendons forward 50 about 3 598 876 million farking times. Sure he got a few kicks out of the backline but they kept coming flying back over his head.

Cairnsman wrote:Geary got heaps of the ball because the ball entered Essendons forward 50 about 3 598 876 million farking times. Sure he got a few kicks out of the backline but they kept coming flying back over his head.
Mate he was all over the place competing and he doesn't make mistakes anymore. Gun.

Cairnsman wrote:Geary got heaps of the ball because the ball entered Essendons forward 50 about 3 598 876 million farking times. Sure he got a few kicks out of the backline but they kept coming flying back over his head.
his run kept us moving other wise it would not have come out and GOAL dopers!

I hope he's made captain, great work ethic

Needs to improve his disposal & decision making.. Great work ethic and ball winning ability, regularly butchers it.

Hemi Baxter

Best endurance runner at the club. We need more.

Not big enough, which is not something he can remedy. We lack height all over the ground. It's why we miss Sean so much.

Ah you serious?

He was allowed to run out of the back 50 because he isn't fast and his disposal is usually pretty poor.

It is similar to CJ. He can get as much of the ball as he wants as it as useful as a dead old person with the ball.

SainterK wrote:I hope he's made captain, great work ethic
Work ethic can't be questioned. Kicking can. How about we choose a captain with both skill sets. He is a very good player though now and has worked hard to get where he is. Keep it up Gears. One positive at the moment.

the blueprint should be Geelongs blueprint. They just keep rolling new kids out all the time. I am so jealous of them but at the same time love watching them. Thats the blueprint I want

He's a goer

Love his work

8856brother wrote:
SainterK wrote:I hope he's made captain, great work ethic
Work ethic can't be questioned. Kicking can. How about we choose a captain with both skill sets. He is a very good player though now and has worked hard to get where he is. Keep it up Gears. One positive at the moment.
Our captain now isn't the best kick in the comp.

I'd rather a captain this time with work ethic, and who isn't a KPP and shouldering the expectation that comes with that.

He's kicking isn't that bad, last week he was equal second at the club for score assists.

Which turn overs was he responsible for??

Don't remember any???

Jack, Gilbo and Jones make him look like Darren Jarman

philtee

Agree with OP - Geary our best player with smart plays all over the ground, generating rebounds,
setting himself up as a loose man, getting a fingernail into the contest when it mattered.
Plenty of tonight's players should be shown a Geary highlights reel to see the level of intensity
they should be aiming for.
And don't worry about no Goddard - the player we were badly missing tonight was........
Zac Dawson.

BigMart wrote:Which turn overs was he responsible for??

Don't remember any???

Jack, Gilbo and Jones make him look like Darren Jarman
Don't think anyone mentioned he turned it over today, even though he does it a bit. Kicking is not his best asset. He is very good though.

philtee wrote:Agree with OP - Geary our best player with smart plays all over the ground, generating rebounds,
setting himself up as a loose man, getting a fingernail into the contest when it mattered.
Plenty of tonight's players should be shown a Geary highlights reel to see the level of intensity
And don't worry about no Goddard - the player we were badly missing tonight was........
Zac Dawson.
that's a joke isn't it..???.have you watched him play recently.???......most overrated key position player in the afl.....he's crap...always was...always will be .....

Geary got in the way or intercepted plenty of times when they had us beaten and were all surging fwd...

I think the result would have been much uglier without him. And plenty of the balls he cut off mightnt have showed up in stats.

Seriously....while Geary has great heart, and workrate....that some see him as our saviour shows how lowly we have sunk.

If he is our best, then that just confirms that in the here and now that we are a bottom 4 team.

Geary is our new Blake, our new Baker. A guy that will work hard, bleed for the club and will play many many games.

But if he is our best, we are doomed.

saintsRrising wrote:Seriously....while Geary has great heart....that some see him as our saviour shows how lowly we have sunk.

If he is our best, then that just confirms that in the here and now that we are a bottom 4 team.

Geary is our new Blake, ore new Baker. A guy that will work hard, bleed for the club and will pay many many games.

But if he is our best, we are doomed.
Agree with that.. but i think I havent made myself clear with what Im trying to say here.

Hes no saviour. Hes not our best and Im hoping he remains a good honest and solid citizen for another 5 years.

But we got him pick 58 in the Rookie draft!!!

The point is he we have got the best out of him and turned him into a genuine AFL player.

Hes the development blueprint - If we can get a guy like Geary 58 in the Rookie and turn him into an AFL player who plays 200 games - well imagine what we can do if we get some serious talent in if we have the right development culture???

What im saying is if we develop all our kids and get the same amount of improvement and gradual devolopment we are seeing from Jarryn - well we are doing the right thing as a club and we will get success.

Sooner or later we are going to have some real guns walk into the club - and we want to make sure we are set up to get the most of people with a little, some, and a LOT of talent.

If you cant take your hat off to someone like Geary and want to wait for a superstar to walk in off the street with mega talent and save us all well then we will fail and never win a flag. That has been the Saints way in the past.

Lets have a system that maximises talent. Thats what Jarryn has done. Thats why hes my blueprint player (not because I think he is a saviour or anything)

The Redeemer wrote:Ah you serious?

He was allowed to run out of the back 50 because he isn't fast and his disposal is usually pretty poor.

It is similar to CJ. He can get as much of the ball as he wants as it as useful as a dead old person with the ball.
Me thinks you have him mixed up with Jack Steven or basically you dont really have a clue.

Round 4
Geary 16 Disposals @ 81% Effective
Steven 21 Disposals @ 67% Effective

Round 3
Geary 23 Disposals @ 87% Effective
Steven 32 Disposals @ 69% Effective

Round 2
Geary 12 Disposals @ 75% Effective
Steven 23 Disposals @ 61% Effective

Round 1

Geary 28 Disposals @ 82% Effective
Steven 25 Disposals @ 72% Effective

St Fidelius wrote:
The Redeemer wrote:Ah you serious?

Me thinks you have him mixed up with Jack Steven or basically you dont really have a clue.

Round 4
Geary 16 Disposals @ 81% Effective
Steven 21 Disposals @ 67% Effective

Round 3
Geary 23 Disposals @ 87% Effective
Steven 32 Disposals @ 69% Effective

Round 2
Geary 12 Disposals @ 75% Effective
Steven 23 Disposals @ 61% Effective

Round 1

Geary 28 Disposals @ 82% Effective
Steven 25 Disposals @ 72% Effective

Me thinks you have backman effectiveness confused with mid effectiveness. Blake runs at about 80%. Dal runs at about 70%

philtee wrote:Agree with OP - Geary our best player with smart plays all over the ground, generating rebounds,
Zac Dawson.
that's a joke isn't it..???.have you watched him play recently.???......most overrated key position player in the afl.....he's crap...always was...always will be .....
agree on dawson... in 09 it was the other defenders that made him look good... man i was very happy when he left for the purple fuzz

Stanley is a our new champion full back SW has nailed that idea! I would like to see him run more out of defence, he hass some excelent pace

Me thinks you have backman effectiveness confused with mid effectiveness. Blake runs at about 80%. Dal runs at about 70%
Agree, this comes up every year where a some backman is claimed to have great disposal effectiveness.

Backman often chip the ball around and have many disposals under minimal pressure. Mids will have most of their disposals under pressure. This makes a big difference. Opposition teams leave players alone to encourage their opponent to go backwards.

Geary under the pump is a poor user of the ball.

Having said that if Steven ever wants to become an A Grade mid he needs to be able to use the ball better under pressure, and that is often why a good mid is a good because they can.