St Kilda's blueprint to financial success

Re: St Kilda's blueprint to financial success

Is it true that at Hawthorn and Carlton players are issued with personalised gambling cards so the machines know when to pay out.
All perfectly legal within the rules of the salary cap.

The poor pokies revenue is due to Wad Fraser's inability to get our license for pokies moved to South Rd (ie bent over by Topsy) so our social club venue which houses them could be rebuilt at a better more visible location

saintspremiers wrote:The poor pokies revenue is due to Wad Fraser's inability to get our license for pokies moved to South Rd (ie bent over by Topsy) so our social club venue which houses them could be rebuilt at a better more visible location
It was Kingston council which blocked the move to South Road.
They wanted a reduction in the number of machines.

longtimesaint wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:The poor pokies revenue is due to Wad Fraser's inability to get our license for pokies moved to South Rd (ie bent over by Topsy) so our social club venue which houses them could be rebuilt at a better more visible location
It was Kingston council which blocked the move to South Road.
They wanted a reduction in the number of machines.
That's exactly what I said!

Topsy was the mayor

Dave McNamara wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Firstly dave JO will not happen because no one is going to build a 16k stadium for 200 million and play about 2 games there a year. We could only play interstate sides and only those that dont have a following. leaves GC and GWS. Or do you want games like the WB and us played there and 10K of our supporters dont get in and thats just forgetting the 200 million.
Firstly Pluggs, that's been addressed in several other threads... there are ways and means, especially if it's a joint submission with other supporting bodies... oh, and as you well know... Rome wasn't built in a day (nor did it need be.) Just think big Pluggs. I know you can. :wink:

plugger66 wrote:I have an idea. lets get our sponsorship in order and forget about moving games to Geelong, is that where you mean, because those names are very confusing. I have no idea who else got offerred that money but if its a side from the western suburbs it would make sense to offer that sort of money. If its a side from the south east they may offer us 50 cents and did you see his pitching arm the other night. Geelong make money on reserved seats and entry fees. We had 13K to GC at Etihad where dont have to reserve a seat unless you want to. Imagine the crowd an hour down the road where you have to reserve a seat and the game is on Foxtel. Im guessing 7k.
It's not our problem how the Hillbillies make their money out of home games... if they are going to offer $750K per home game played down there... then that makes it their problem if we only get 7000 people turning up... and I reckon better 7000 turn up at Hillbilly Hoedown under that sort of deal, than 7000 turn up at Dockedlands under our current deal. :idea:

I'd be signing up to the deal they offered the Poodles in a flash. And as part of the 'package', I'd make sure games were double headers, with Sandy/or Saint's ressies playing beforehand. (Development squad before all of them too... if we still have one.)

Play four home games a year there for three years and we'd be easily a net $10mil better off (figures in earlier posts in this and that thread I started). After that, we'll be on the rise again, and so will the number of our fair-weather supporters who start turning up to games... so won't need that Hillbilly Hoedown offer any longer. 8-)

plugger66 wrote:As I said we will be offerred a rap singer who cant pitch a ball for that type of crowd. Now im happy for you to come back and at least try and prove what ive said is wrong but dont talk in riddles. I could dig up Frank Gorshin to do that.
Congratulations Pluggs. You're way, way ahead of me. 8-)

You have clearly worked our who the Hillbillies are (or was Geelong just a wild guess on your part :wink: )... whereas I have no idea what you mean by rap singers who can't pitch a ball...? :?

I'm convinced this account is run by a little kid.

Dave McNamara wrote:
saintbrat wrote:we're not making a fortune from our machines
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/a ... 7102811873

wonder why the digital editor put Hawthorn mid table when is should be at the top?
So, the Skid Marks gouged $18.5 million from lower socio-economic areas... Caroline Springs and Wavo' Gardens. :evil:

(Safe bet that the new more 'upmarket development' on the old VFL Park side doesn't contribute too many poker machine players. And I don't see an address anywhere in Boroondara listed amongst the Piss n' Poo's gouging venues. :idea: :idea: )

And they have the nerve to call themselves the 'family club'. Disgraceful! :evil:
i hate f****** poker machines..who ever allowed them into victoria should be shot and his ashes scattered to the four winds....the only thing named after that buffoon ....whoever he was..... should be a men's urinal.....

Dave McNamara wrote:

wonder why the digital editor put Hawthorn mid table when is should be at the top?
So, the Skid Marks gouged $18.5 million from lower socio-economic areas... Caroline Springs and Wavo' Gardens. :evil:

(Safe bet that the new more 'upmarket development' on the old VFL Park side doesn't contribute too many poker machine players. And I don't see an address anywhere in Boroondara listed amongst the Piss n' Poo's gouging venues. :idea: :idea: )

And they have the nerve to call themselves the 'family club'. Disgraceful! :evil:

I haven't worked out which club you are talking about but you do realise if AFL clubs don't have them then it could easily be one single person making all this money. Better that non profit clubs get the cash rather than a Mathieson type.

Dave McNamara wrote:

I haven't worked out which club you are talking about but you do realise if AFL clubs don't have them then it could easily be one single person making all this money. Better that non profit clubs get the cash rather than a Mathieson type.
West Coast Eagles and Fremantle don't have them, and they are two clubs very financially well off. WA thankfully don't have poker machines in pubs & clubs.

Only place for pokies is at Burswood Casino, so leave it all to Jamie Paker, he'll end up losing more than he makes. Karma, he's been making some monumental poor business decisions (as well as female squeezes)....long may that last :evil: :evil:

I've only walked into Burswood Casino a couple of times and looked the types of people playing pokies................ the losers, deadbeats & lumpen proletariat......... sadly the types that can least allow to lose their money. They all seem to have shifty eyes

loris wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:

West Coast Eagles and Fremantle don't have them, and they are two clubs very financially well off. WA thankfully don't have poker machines in pubs & clubs.

Only place for pokies is at Burswood Casino, so leave it all to Jamie Paker, he'll end up losing more than he makes. Karma, he's been making some monumental poor business decisions (as well as female squeezes)....long may that last :evil: :evil:

I've only walked into Burswood Casino a couple of times and looked the types of people playing pokies................ the losers, deadbeats & lumpen proletariat......... sadly the types that can least allow to lose their money. They all seem to have shifty eyes

Obviously they cant have them because of the laws but in Victoria there is a set amount of poker machines and if footy clubs don't have them then other places do and that could easily be a just one person making a fortune. They will be played whoever owns them, may as well be a non profit organisation. Well at least one that returns money to sharholders through deeds on a footy ground.

loris wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:

the missus used to be treasurer for the local junior footy club...took over from another woman who used to run the canteen on footy days...the club used to run a meat raffle on friday nights ,,,sometimes i used to go and help the misus sell tickets.....thev woman who ran the canteen was always sitting by herself playingthe pokies.....i used to ask her if she ever won anything. as pokies are designed to eventually take all your money..she assured me she knew her limits.........she was eventually arrested and sentenced to imprisonment for knocking off over 100 grand from her employer.....her kids ..... one of whom played footy with my youngest...... were devestated.....i hate f****** poker machines....

loris wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:

the missus used to be treasurer for the local junior footy club...took over from another woman who used to run the canteen on footy days...the club used to run a meat raffle on friday nights ,,,sometimes i used to go and help the misus sell tickets.....thev woman who ran the canteen was always sitting by herself playingthe pokies.....i used to ask her if she ever won anything. as pokies are designed to eventually take all your money..she assured me she knew her limits.........she was eventually arrested and sentenced to imprisonment for knocking off over 100 grand from her employer.....her kids ..... one of whom played footy with my youngest...... were devestated.....i hate f****** poker machines....
terrible story stinger but oh so common. grew up in Sydney and watched addicts at RSL'S and Leagues clubs put their wages through the one armed bandits (as they were then). OK for someone like me who hardly gambles, and got drinks and food subsidised.

Pokies, wreck lives and familes

loris wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:

terrible story stinger but oh so common. grew up in Sydney and watched addicts at RSL'S and Leagues clubs put their wages through the one armed bandits (as they were then). OK for someone like me who hardly gambles, and got drinks and food subsidised.

So does drinking, smoking, drugs and other forms of gambling. 95% of people aren't effected though so do you ban all these things for the 5% who are effected. I would think not and this comes from someone who hates pokies and whose mum still plays them weekly.

loris wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:

So does drinking, smoking, drugs and other forms of gambling. 95% of people aren't effected though so do you ban all these things for the 5% who are effected. I would think not and this comes from someone who hates pokies and whose mum still plays them weekly.
Why cant you stay on subject?

This is about poker machines. Drinking, smoking, drugs are all health related issues that would be far better for the community and the community revenue if they didn't exist.

There will always be gambling. But apparently I cant have an opinion on pokies unless I include every other vice in the flipping world.

You just have to be contrary and combative for the sake of it dont you?

just try letting others having an opinion without having to stick your nose in all the time.

I know you are upset at me because I made you look like a dill in the Petracca thread, but dont start stalking my post they way you do Dave McNamara because of your incessant urge to argue.

loris wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:

Why cant you stay on subject?

This is about poker machines. Drinking, smoking, drugs are all health related issues that would be far better for the community and the community revenue if they didn't exist.

There will always be gambling. But apparently I cant have an opinion on pokies unless I include every other vice in the flipping world.

You just have to be contrary and combative for the sake of it dont you?

just try letting others having an opinion without having to stick your nose in all the time.

I know you are upset at me because I made you look like a dill in the Petracca thread, but dont start stalking my post they way you do Dave McNamara because your incessant urge to argue.
You are very angry person who seems intent on trying to get me to be angry. Not going to work because I find you too funny. By the way I will say as I please so you can tell me what to subject to keep on but I will take not one bit of notice especially as what I brought up is relevant. And who said you cant have an opinion? What is wrong with you? Arent I allowed to also say my opinion? Weird and strange. And you never made me look like a dill because its impossible coming from a person who had the mods do his work if they called him another nic. You know what BM if you don't like what I write put me on ignore. Yep you will see quoted posts but you wont see ones I reply to you. You seem childish enough to do that. There isn't many, actually no one, who has forced people to get warnings because of using old nics.

And finally what a childish outburst for a pretty basic and soft comment. Issues. Yep. Even under a new nic. the old issues come out. And stop biting your hand as you read this. And finally again why this anger towards me all of a sudden. I haven't changed my style. Just sick of me hey BM or it really a new person typing?

So typical P66. You cannot help but jack threads and start flame wars.

You keep referring to me as angry. This is an infantile and quite asinine thing to repeat.

You continue to be contrary just for the sake of it. The subject was poker machines. I was directly replying to stingers story and related it to my experiences.

It had nothing to do with alcohol, or cigarettes, or other forms of gambling, but you had to stick your nose in trying to start an argument.

The way you continually have to be a contrarian, then personally attack anyone who dares to take your simplistic and ignorant posts to task is done to antagonise and to poison the well . Even to the extent you try to belittle a reply to your posts by attacking that it has been quoted.

P66, I understand from reading this forum for many years you get fixated on a poster who dares to disagree with you. For a long time it was Con, lately it has been Dave Mac, now it is my turn. How about you try not to respond to every single opinion another poster makes?

Experience would suggest it is impossible for you not to.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:So typical P66. You cannot help but jack threads and start flame wars.

You keep referring to me as angry. This is an infantile and quite asinine thing to repeat.

You continue to be contrary just for the sake of it. The subject was poker machines. I was directly replying to stingers story and related it to my experiences.

It had nothing to do with alcohol, or cigarettes, or other forms of gambling, but you had to stick your nose in trying to start an argument.

The way you continually have to be a contrarian, then personally attack anyone who dares to take your simplistic and ignorant posts to task is done to antagonise and to poison the well . Even to the extent you try to belittle a reply to your posts by attacking that it has been quoted.

P66, I understand from reading this forum for many years you get fixated on a poster who dares to disagree with you. For a long time it was Con, lately it has been Dave Mac, now it is my turn. How about you try not to respond to every single opinion another poster makes?

BM I was not hijacking the thread at all. I pointed out other things that are also as bad as poker machines and for some reason you didn't like it. And you couldn't be more wrong about people who disagree with me. I couldn't give a rats how many times I disagree with others, if they make a point I agree with I will say so even if its someone who I constantly disagree with. I haven't even noticed that I have disagreed with you a lot lately. I think you are taking it far to personally. And unlike many in this case I know I attacked the poster but also unlike many they fail to also see they attacked me not that I could give a rats. As I have said before I know no one on here so I couldn't care about what anyone thinks of plugger66 because my name is actually Steve. Attack the real Steve and I may care but plugger66, who gives a rats. There are far to many soft people on here who attack but then claim its always someone else. About time they look in the mirror.

And I still say what I said in my comment was relevant and on topic and was in no way having a go at you. It could have been written by Steve and I still would have said exactly the same.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:So typical P66. You cannot help but jack threads and start flame wars.

Lol this is one of the most pathetic reactions to a completely legitimate post I have ever read.

The post was on topic, relevant and not intagonistic even in the slightest.

Not sure what you're trying to achieve with this unfounded hysteria.

plugger66 wrote: So does drinking, smoking, drugs and other forms of gambling. 95% of people aren't effected though so do you ban all these things for the 5% who are effected. I would think not and this comes from someone who hates pokies and whose mum still plays them weekly.
I agree, I think alcohol is a far bigger social issue, with a higher cost to society.

As for pokies, I would suggest gambling as a whole is the issue, not just pokies.

Getting back to the clubs finances, the two main areas we need to improve are sponsorship and membership.
Hopefully with a young and exciting list (and if we win a few games) both will improve.

citywest

HitTheBoundary wrote:
plugger66 wrote: So does drinking, smoking, drugs and other forms of gambling. 95% of people aren't effected though so do you ban all these things for the 5% who are effected. I would think not and this comes from someone who hates pokies and whose mum still plays them weekly.
I agree, I think alcohol is a far bigger social issue, with a higher cost to society.

As for pokies, I would suggest gambling as a whole is the issue, not just pokies.

Getting back to the clubs finances, the two main areas we need to improve are sponsorship and membership.
Hopefully with a young and exciting list (and if we win a few games) both will improve.
As our team improves so will our finances but we still need to reduce the amount of games we play at Etihad. If we play 2 home games in NZ and 4 home games at the MCG that would go a long way to fixing our finances for good. This would leave 5 home games at Etihad so it would be a win win for the Saints and it would put Etihad on notice. If you don't give us a better deal we will move another game away. :evil: :evil: :evil:

citywest wrote:
HitTheBoundary wrote:

As our team improves so will our finances but we still need to reduce the amount of games we play at Etihad. If we play 2 home games in NZ and 4 home games at the MCG that would go a long way to fixing our finances for good. This would leave 5 home games at Etihad so it would be a win win for the Saints and it would put Etihad on notice. If you don't give us a better deal we will move another game away. :evil: :evil: :evil:

You do realise we aren't going to play home games at the G whilst we are going poorly and you do realise one game is probably all that Wellington want unless they get very travel figures. We have no bargaining power by the way because the AFL control all that. Get up with CW.

citywest

Melb play home games at the 'G' and they have been pathetic for nearly 10 years. No reason why we can't play a few home games there every year. As far as NZ goes we should explore the possibility of playing a second game in Wellington. If it's not possible then I would look at Auckland. After all they have a population of 1.5million (approx) and Wellington only have 400,000 (approx). I don't know if Auckland have a ground that can accommodate AFL but we should at least investigate this. If we keep playing 11 or even10 games every year at Docklands we are at best limiting ourselves to always being a struggler or at worst doomed.

citywest wrote:Melb play home games at the 'G' and they have been pathetic for nearly 10 years. No reason why we can't play a few home games there every year. As far as NZ goes we should explore the possibility of playing a second game in Wellington. If it's not possible then I would look at Auckland. After all they have a population of 1.5million (approx) and Wellington only have 400,000 (approx). I don't know if Auckland have a ground that can accommodate AFL but we should at least investigate this. If we keep playing 11 or even10 games every year at Docklands we are at best limiting ourselves to always being a struggler or at worst doomed.

Luckily for Melbourne the G has been their home ground for 100 years. Unluckily for us it has never been our home ground and certainly wont be why we are struggling with crowds. Its not hard to work that out. And for the 50th time there is no footy sized ground in Auckland. Saying it 100 times doesn't make a ground exist there. It isn't hard to understand.

citywest

citywest wrote:Melb play home games at the 'G' and they have been pathetic for nearly 10 years. No reason why we can't play a few home games there every year. As far as NZ goes we should explore the possibility of playing a second game in Wellington. If it's not possible then I would look at Auckland. After all they have a population of 1.5million (approx) and Wellington only have 400,000 (approx). I don't know if Auckland have a ground that can accommodate AFL but we should at least investigate this. If we keep playing 11 or even10 games every year at Docklands we are at best limiting ourselves to always being a struggler or at worst doomed.

Luckily for Melbourne the G has been their home ground for 100 years. Unluckily for us it has never been our home ground and certainly wont be why we are struggling with crowds. Its not hard to work that out. And for the 50th time there is no footy sized ground in Auckland. Saying it 100 times doesn't make a ground exist there. It isn't hard to understand.
How do you know definitively that there is no ground suitable in Auckland?

citywest wrote:

How do you know definitively that there is no ground suitable in Auckland?
Because I read it and logically we would play there if there was one.

citywest

Show us where you read it Plugger!!! Maybe paste a link on here?