Cousins is now a crack junkie in downtown LA? Version 2

evertonfc wrote:
yipper wrote:Remember that game at Subi - 2?? years ago. Cousins sledged him at the end of the game and Harvs refused to shake hands.
Peter Caven had his body smashed up by Tony Lockett in 1994.

A year later, they were teammates, developed a great mutual respect and Lockett went on to become one of Sydney's greatest players...

Times change.
big difference......spur of the moment thing...both running for the ball in opposite directions ...caven wasn't looking ..plugger turned at the last moment and jumped into him...it happened right in front of me....
Lockett described himself last year as a "thug who could play a bit".

I don't think he was taking the mickey, either. Lockett used to pummel blokes for a laugh.

Rick Kennedy, Guy McKenna, Matthew Hogg and Eddie McGuire would testify his attitude with the Saints was horrendous. He made a choice in 1994 to stick his elbow up - and let's face it...spur of the moment stuff is usually driven by an existing attitude (and Lockett's was to physically trash opponants).

Brilliant player, but a change of club seemed to get him on the right track. Seemed to do a lot of growing up with the Swans...

New city, new start...it can do a lot for a player.

From all reports the crack he's into isn't drug-related.

Cameron Diaz anyone? :wink:

all of those incidents were explainable...i know plugger a bit....lovely young bloke ..as i have said on here a few times......i only regret that the crutch didn't split eddie's fat head down the middle.....

stinger wrote:all of those incidents were explainable...
I'm sure Cousins could explain it all if he needed too...Joey Johns has... :?:
i only regret that the crutch didn't split eddie's fat head down the middle.....
ROFL...one of your best, Stinger.

TimeToShineFellas

evertonfc wrote:I'm sure Cousins could explain it all if he needed too...Joey Johns has... :?:
Joey Johns is definitely more of a mature person than Ben Cousins who can obviously see the error of his ways, and is MAN enough to admit them and do something about it.

Cousins is nothing more than a cashed-up up bogan who thinks he's untouchable.
Last edited by TimeToShineFellas on Fri 02 Nov 2007 3:49pm, edited 1 time in total.

cowboy18 wrote:From all reports the crack he's into isn't drug-related.

photoshopped?

Dan Warna wrote:
cowboy18 wrote:From all reports the crack he's into isn't drug-related.

photoshopped?

yep....

Riewoldting

Some cheeky prick has photoshopped Justin Timberlake's head on to Ben Cousins's body. :shock:

"To be or not to be" - William Shakespeare
"To be is to do" - Immanuel Kant
"Do be do be do" - Frank Sinatra

evertonfc wrote:
yipper wrote:Remember that game at Subi - 2?? years ago. Cousins sledged him at the end of the game and Harvs refused to shake hands.

A year later, they were teammates, developed a great mutual respect and Lockett went on to become one of Sydney's greatest players...

Times change.
big difference......spur of the moment thing...both running for the ball in opposite directions ...caven wasn't looking ..plugger turned at the last moment and jumped into him...it happened right in front of me....

I don't think he was taking the mickey, either. Lockett used to pummel blokes for a laugh.

Rick Kennedy, Guy McKenna, Matthew Hogg and Eddie McGuire would testify his attitude with the Saints was horrendous. He made a choice in 1994 to stick his elbow up - and let's face it...spur of the moment stuff is usually driven by an existing attitude (and Lockett's was to physically trash opponants).

Brilliant player, but a change of club seemed to get him on the right track. Seemed to do a lot of growing up with the Swans...

Everton, Are you equating Plugger's actions/lifestyle with that of BennyBoys?

Other than that famous time in the Saints Social Club when he decked the Social Club Manager, and his 'brush' with the law over the greyhounds, what has Pugger done in his private/social life to get anywhere near BennyBoy?

Has he been involved in drunken brawls at nightclubs?
Has he bee associating with known 'underworld figures'?
Has he run away from a booze/drug testing facility?
Has he been found unconscious outside a casino?
Has he been in rahab for a month?
Do I need to continue to list the litany of 'mistakes' BennyBoy has made?

No, Plugger was a 'country larrikin' who found himself in the bright lights of the big city, adored by tens of thousands, and apparently unable to cope with this 'big city' way of life.
He chose, by accidnet only as his first choice was Collingwood, to leave StKilda and go to Sydney where he was certainly not 'known' by comparison to here. At the same time (in his mid twenties) he started to mature.

BennyBoy appears to have made a conscious choice to enjoy the 'gangster lifstyle' with all its trappings. If you seriously believe that a month in rehab is enough to get him over his addiction then you need to tell all Governments around the world of this fabulous cure. Because no Government anywhere is aware of this 'miracle cure' for the tens of thousands of their drug addicted citizens.

I'm told by health people that the only way you can possibly start to get yourself on the path back from addiction is to realize yourself that your lifestyle is the problem. Until you make that conscious effort to change that lifestyle you will never get out of it. The fact that BennyBoy, in this latest escapade, had been partying with Chick for 3 days at nightClubs with all the assorted hangers-on from previously, leads me to believe that maybe he just doesn't get it yet? Hopefully for him and his family/friends sake, he will soon before he ends up in a far worse predicament.

From all reports, Michael Gardiner, who was equally at home in that scene, made a conscious decision to change his lifestyle last year and it appears that so far so good for him. Is he recovered from it? He will probably never be fully recovered from his lifestyle and it will be a continual battle for him to stay out of trouble. But at least he appears to be trying.
BennyBoy on the other hand seems to believe that he doesn't really have a problem and he is doing what he needed to do to play, and earn the money which funded his lifestyle.

The AFL hsa 'egg on its face' by allowing BennyBoy to play after his 1 month 'wonder cure' in Malibu and IMO will make it impossible for him to play next year. They will now be ultra cautious in their dealings with him and another month in Malibu Rehab is not going to be sufficient for them to give him their stamp of approval to play.

if i was walking along holding diaz's hand...i would be looking a tad happier than he is......

evertonfc wrote:

Times change.

Not saying he was as bad, but Plugger had a stack of issues.

A change of scenery did him the world of good in many ways, and I honestly believe Cousins can get himself right if he extricates himself from Perth and surrounds himself with good people.

I actually think having Gardiner around is good for him...I'm pretty sure Gardy would help support him on choosing a better path in life.

I'm not saying I'm an expert - I'm not - but I feel Cousins is probably reasonably well equipped to get back on track.

TwoTowers

What self-righteous hypocrites some of you are.

The reality is that Cousins requires detoxing before his admission to the rehab center. Plenty of complete fabrications passing as 'news'. So he has deviated off his recovery but that should have been obvious to everyone in the first place otherwise he would not have been going back there. This is par for the course for recovering addicts. If Cousins made it known that he would need detoxing in a hospital before starting his in-house rehab then the media gets into him in any case. He can't win but I hope he eventually gets his life back together poor bugger.

that as maybe twotowers

but I dont want him as a st kilda player.

TwoTowers wrote:What self-righteous hypocrites some of you are.

The reality is that Cousins requires detoxing before his admission to the rehab center. Plenty of complete fabrications passing as 'news'. So he has deviated off his recovery but that should have been obvious to everyone in the first place otherwise he would not have been going back there. This is par for the course for recovering addicts. If Cousins made it known that he would need detoxing in a hospital before starting his in-house rehab then the media gets into him in any case. He can't win but I hope he eventually gets his life back together poor bugger.
Great post.

I just hope Benny gets his life back on track first of all...

And after that, if he wants to keep playing footy, I certainly hope he gets that chance. Nobody owes him anything, but playing AFL football with another club would do a lot for his rehabilitation IMO...

I'd love to see us get in there and offer him a helping hand, try and do what we can to see if we can help him get his life on track, and hope he can play some great footy with us along the way.

We certainly don't have a moral obligation to do anything, but if we could help him, and he could help us...I wouldn't say no.

evertonfc wrote:
evertonfc wrote:[

Not saying he was as bad, but Plugger had a stack of issues.

A change of scenery did him the world of good in many ways, and I honestly believe Cousins can get himself right if he extricates himself from Perth and surrounds himself with good people.

I'm not saying I'm an expert - I'm not - but I feel Cousins is probably reasonably well equipped to get back on track.
There's where our opinions differ.
I don't believe that BennyBoy has shown any indication publicly that he is looking for a 'change of scenery'. He was more than happy to remain in Perth living his own lifestyle. It was the WCE who terminated him, and not him wanting to leave so that he could 'turn his life around',

I'm told that recovering alcoholics who join AA have to publicly stand up and admit their addiction. So far BennyBoy has never publicly admitted a drug addiction. He has publicly admitted to 'substance use' and to me that is an indication that he still won't admit to himself that he has a problem.

stinger wrote:if i was walking along holding diaz's hand...i would be looking a tad happier than he is......

If you were walking along holding Diaz's hand you'd have the other one in your pocket looking for the heart pills. Or maybe the viagra.

Alcoholics dont have to go on national TV and admit anything. They admit it in a small controlled group.

Ben Cousins has no obligation to publicly say anything.

Mr Magic wrote:I don't believe that BennyBoy has shown any indication publicly that he is looking for a 'change of scenery'. He was more than happy to remain in Perth living his own lifestyle. It was the WCE who terminated him, and not him wanting to leave so that he could 'turn his life around'
Apparently a Victorian club (it seems common knowledge it was us) put in a bid for Cousins on the last day of trade week.

Cousins was very enthusiastic when told by his manager, went to talk to Worsfold about it, but he knocked the deal on the head.

Of course he'd rather stay a loyal, one-club player - who wouldn't? - but it might do him good to join with a new club, and I'd suggest he'd now be pretty eager to link up with a new club and change his ways.

And let's face it, why on earth would he be going to the USA now if he wasn't hell bent on trying to straighten up - and paying for it himself?

Make no mistake - the bloke is trying. He needs to keep at it, but at least he's not sitting on his arse with a fork stuck in his veins wondering where he can get his next clap.

Riewoldting

evertonfc wrote:He needs to keep at it, but at least he's not sitting on his arse with a fork stuck in his veins wondering where he can get his next clap.
The naked hookers might be a good source

"To be or not to be" - William Shakespeare
"To be is to do" - Immanuel Kant
"Do be do be do" - Frank Sinatra

evertonfc wrote:
Mr Magic wrote:I don't believe that BennyBoy has shown any indication publicly that he is looking for a 'change of scenery'. He was more than happy to remain in Perth living his own lifestyle. It was the WCE who terminated him, and not him wanting to leave so that he could 'turn his life around'
Apparently a Victorian club (it seems common knowledge it was us) put in a bid for Cousins on the last day of trade week.

Cousins was very enthusiastic when told by his manager, went to talk to Worsfold about it, but he knocked the deal on the head.
I heard Ricky Nixon talk about this on 3AW the night BennyBoy was arrested and the story was a little different, if my recollections are accurate.

Nixon suggested to BennyBoy well prior to Trade Week that maybe he should move to a Melbourne based Club (and whilst he didn't name the club, speculation is that it was us). Nixon then approached some Clubs and one of them expressed an interest in discussing it further. BennyBoy then went to Worsfold and was told he was a required player so that was the end of the story - according to Nixon.

evertonfc wrote:

I heard Ricky Nixon talk about this on 3AW the night BennyBoy was arrested and the story was a little different, if my recollections are accurate.

Nixon suggested to BennyBoy well prior to Trade Week that maybe he should move to a Melbourne based Club (and whilst he didn't name the club, speculation is that it was us). Nixon then approached some Clubs and one of them expressed an interest in discussing it further. BennyBoy then went to Worsfold and was told he was a required player so that was the end of the story - according to Nixon.
Then - if that's what you believe to be correct - wouldn't Cousins have flatly told Nixon he wasn't interested in being traded before going to Worsfold...?

And wouldn't Cousins have instructed his agent about what he wanted to do?

Why would Nixon be fishing if Cousins was so keen on staying in Perth?

st.byron wrote:
stinger wrote:if i was walking along holding diaz's hand...i would be looking a tad happier than he is......

If you were walking along holding Diaz's hand you'd have the other one in your pocket looking for the heart pills. Or maybe the viagra.
wouldn't need either mate.......do you??????

The word that ive heard is, that while Cousins didnt want to leave Perth, he was keen to move to Melbourne and only Melbourne (the city).

We were the club that he (read: Nixon) spoke to in the last days of trade week, and when Ben went to Honest John and asked for permission to speak to us about contracts / details, he was denied and told he was a required player.

End of story.

st.byron wrote:

wouldn't need either mate.......do you??????

lol. Nah, think I'd be ok.

Mr Magic wrote: I'm told that recovering alcoholics who join AA have to publicly stand up and admit their addiction.
Do you really think this is likely? Publically? What does AA stand for? The point is for a person to admit to their peers/fellow sufferers that they have a problem in a CONFIDENTIAL setting - not relevant for Joe Bloggs to hear about it from him on national TV. You really think that Benny is ever going to be ANONYMOUS. Fair dinkum, think before you write........