Cousins is now a crack junkie in downtown LA? Version 2

Saint Mik

Dan now you are just being stupid sorry mate but how can it be a short term approach to a flag when the last and only one we won was in 1966 :wink:

And no mention of BENNY (ah bugger it):lol:

Cousins WILL NOT play AFL for twelve months hey Yipper and how is that a FACT:roll: I rest my case and i'm tired of trying to get my point of view thru to all the I KNOW WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN posters, not once have i said I know and I dont think that I do.

All i'm saying is that we will wait and see but alot seem to know more about whats going to happen than others :shock:

I do hope we get a clean, fit, RECOVERED Cousins in our team because i think our chances of a flag with him are alot better than without him IF he is right to play but that wont happen right :roll:

Forget the past, Saints footy, One better in 2010

evertonfc wrote:
yipper wrote:Why are ppl so determined to challenge those of us who think Cousins is a cheat. It is our opinion and that is that.
Eh, so those of us who would like to see him overcome his previous problems, want to see him play well again and become integrated back into society shouldn't be allowed to challenge those who want to put him on D'Arcy Island?

We're allowed to have an opinion, too. Just because it differs from your view doesn't mean we can't have one as well.
i dont see it as st kilda's responsibility to rehab him

at 30 I dont see him as a long term prospect

given his off field discretions I don't see him as a short term prospect

I believe he is morally repugnant and frankly would rather have spider at the club back again than cousins.

I don't think he will deliver a premiership and in fact he will detract from any real premiership hopes we may have.

and I am opposed to drug cheats in sports.

evertonfc wrote:
TimeToShineFellas wrote:I'd be more interested in whether RL, the coaching and leadership groups would take him.

They're the important players in this issue.
Well that goes without saying.

If the supporters had their way, I'd suggest Clinton Jones wouldn't be on our list, Justin Koschitzke would be played at FF and Jason Blake wouldn't be alive.
and he'd still get selected every week :)

yawn....

Saint Mik wrote:Dan now you are just being stupid sorry mate but how can it be a short term approach to a flag when the last and only one we won was in 1966 :wink:

And no mention of BENNY (ah bugger it):lol:

Cousins WILL NOT play AFL for twelve months hey Yipper and how is that a FACT:roll: I rest my case and i'm tired of trying to get my point of view thru to all the I KNOW WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN posters, not once have i said I know and I dont think that I do.

All i'm saying is that we will wait and see but alot seem to know more about whats going to happen than others :shock:

I do hope we get a clean, fit, RECOVERED Cousins in our team because i think our chances of a flag with him are alot better than without him IF he is right to play but that wont happen right :roll:
if you can't understand the implications for ben cousins coming to st kilda, i think its you who has issues.

as for long term, if we dont secure sponsors we wont have a long term, sponsors will think twice about giving $$$ to a club that supports someone like cousins.

north haven't made money even in their golden years and a fair wack of that would have to do with cultural issues at that club. meanwhile st kilda from 01 to 06 under RB reign did enough to attract suitable sponsors.

as for a premiership, I've argued consistantly that we have a team to win a premiership, cousins does very little at 30 with a drug addiction, attitude problems and behavioural issues to add to our mix.

yes he beat us pretty much single handedly but I believe that symptoms prior to his second half are indicative of drug abuse.

Riewoldting

BAM! (shhhh) wrote:
evertonfc wrote:
TimeToShineFellas wrote:I'd be more interested in whether RL, the coaching and leadership groups would take him.

They're the important players in this issue.
Well that goes without saying.

If the supporters had their way, I'd suggest Clinton Jones wouldn't be on our list, Justin Koschitzke would be played at FF and Jason Blake wouldn't be alive.
and he'd still get selected every week :)
And probably get more touches and have a better idea of what to do with the ball :)

(ducks)

"To be or not to be" - William Shakespeare
"To be is to do" - Immanuel Kant
"Do be do be do" - Frank Sinatra

Whoever signs him will have the job of looking after him. I think we've got a culture strong enough to help him. I don't believe we're a club so weak that one player could detract from the culture we've built.

Personally, I think signing Cousins would give the club an enourmous boost.

He's not a premiership panacea, but he gives us more of what we need: speed through the middle, an eye for goal and a desperation to win. We need all three qualities badly.

A fully fit and problem free Cousins - even for just three years - would be a huge short-term boost to our club.

We'd only be giving up a PSD pick to get him, and I believe it's in the best interests of the club to seriously consider adding him to our playing list.

I want him to help us win Banger a flag.

TimeToShineFellas

evertonfc wrote:Whoever signs him will have the job of looking after him.
How about he starts looking after himself for a change. Have the guts as a man to make the decision to change his ways.

Amazing that a 29 year old elite sportsman still needs to be handled with kid gloves.

evertonfc wrote:I want him to help us win Banger a flag.
Ah yes but do you think Banger would want him down there.........?

Riewoldting

St Kilda Grand Final Team 2008

B: L Fisher Hudghton S Fisher
HB: Gram Maguire Goddard
C: Gilbert Dal Santo Montagna
HF: Schneider Riewoldt X Clarke
F: Milne Koschitzke Ball

F: King Hayes Cousins
I: M Gardiner Dempster R Clarke Fiora

In: Fiora, Cousins
Out: Blake (inj), Harvey (omitted)

Riewoldting

TimeToShineFellas wrote:Amazing that a 29 year old elite sportsman still needs to be handled with kid gloves.
He's Peter Pan.

Saint Mik

Do you think Banger wants a flag after 20 years service he would not give a shyte who he plays with if they give the club a better chance at getting one.

What do you think about our club, are we clean as a whistle or something i'm sure over the years he has played with worse blokes than Cousins so what the difference.

I wish all our players were perfect but they wont be and always remember nice guys finish last so who gives a toss who is in the side its the end result that really matters, after 100+ years and one flag to our name is a joke and i want another one.

Forget the past, Saints footy, One better in 2010

TimeToShineFellas wrote:
evertonfc wrote:I want him to help us win Banger a flag.
Ah yes but do you think Banger would want him down there.........?[/quote]

Apparently not. Can't stand him is what I have heard.

TimeToShineFellas wrote:
How about he starts looking after himself for a change. Have the guts as a man to make the decision to change his ways.

Amazing that a 29 year old elite sportsman still needs to be handled with kid gloves.
Well, if that's what it takes to get him on the straight and narrow - a few senior people helping him get his life right in a new city - then I wouldn't turn it down.
Maybe Banger would be one of the few people in footy he'd respect enough to listen too...
yipper wrote:Apparently not. Can't stand him is what I have heard.
Source?

Riewoldting wrote:St Kilda Grand Final Team 2008

if harvey was omitted for cousins, I would never support st kilda again

as for either side presuming to know what harvey would think :roll:

and whats makes anyone think he has ANY respect for st kilda players let alone harvey, given his and Kerrs behaviour towards harvey on the field not that long ago.

total disresepect to one of the greats of the game.
Last edited by Dan Warna on Fri 02 Nov 2007 2:13pm, edited 1 time in total.

Riewoldting

Dan Warna wrote:

Hey, anything goes, it's one flag in more than a century, remember?

Dan Warna wrote:

FFS Dan - it's Fiora for Harvey, and Cousins for Blake.

How thick are you?

:twisted:

Riewoldting

evertonfc wrote:FFS Dan - it's Fiora for Harvey, and Cousins for Blake.

How think are you?

He's about as think as they come.

evertonfc wrote:
Dan Warna wrote:

How thick are you?

I think the implication of what you intended to argue is clear. :roll:

evertonfc wrote:
TimeToShineFellas wrote:

Well, if that's what it takes to get him on the straight and narrow - a few senior people helping him get his life right in a new city - then I wouldn't turn it down.
Maybe Banger would be one of the few people in footy he'd respect enough to listen too...
yipper wrote:Apparently not. Can't stand him is what I have heard.
Source?
I met one of his mates 2 weeks ago - Talked about the Cousins rubbish. I asked him what Banger thought of him. Has enormous respect for his ability, but doesn't like him. Remember that game at Subi - 2?? years ago. Cousins sledged him at the end of the game and Harvs refused to shake hands.

Dan Warna wrote:
evertonfc wrote:
Dan Warna wrote:

How thick are you?

I think the implication of what you intended to argue is clear. :roll:
It's a joke, mate. Relax.

It's not a hypothetical worth contemplating, hence making some humour about it.

Riewoldting wrote: Hey, anything goes, it's one flag in more than a century, remember?
I guess I am fundamentally different to you then.

yipper wrote:Remember that game at Subi - 2?? years ago. Cousins sledged him at the end of the game and Harvs refused to shake hands.
Peter Caven had his body smashed up by Tony Lockett in 1994.

A year later, they were teammates, developed a great mutual respect and Lockett went on to become one of Sydney's greatest players...

Times change.

yep, screw harvey to get a drug cheat over for a season or two :roll:

welcome to the mid 80s, 1993/4, 1999,00 and the 80s when 30 year olds come to st kilda to booze up witht the kids, and chase skirt for their farewell year at the saints :roll:

TimeToShineFellas wrote:

That's the problem though isn't it? Ben Cousins cannot be trusted to look after himself, and as a 29 year old is an elite sportsman who needs to be handled with kid gloves.

Cousins has a drug problem. People are not convinced he's more interested in playing footy than in taking drugs. We know that he's (for now) capable of doing both, but that's not the offer - so can Ben be trusted to focus only on footy and not take drugs?

Since the answer is no more than any other drug addict, the answer is no. So, kid gloves it has to be: you can get an elite midfielder for free (assuming AFL doesn't stop it), but you'll have to babysit him and make sure he doesn't fall off the wagon.

He gets the handling because of what he can give you.

Which is why if I were advising Cousins, it would be to go nowhere near a footy field for at least 12 months, and build another kind of life. For mine, that's the decision that would say he's grown up and made a choice.

evertonfc wrote:
yipper wrote:Remember that game at Subi - 2?? years ago. Cousins sledged him at the end of the game and Harvs refused to shake hands.
Peter Caven had his body smashed up by Tony Lockett in 1994.

A year later, they were teammates, developed a great mutual respect and Lockett went on to become one of Sydney's greatest players...

Times change.

big difference......spur of the moment thing...both running for the ball in opposite directions ...caven wasn't looking ..plugger turned at the last moment and jumped into him...it happened right in front of me....

...not the same as inviting a druggie to your club....do you reckon that plugger woukld want benny around his kids at the weekly bbq get together..???

...my youngest is 17 ...i wouldn't want him anywhere near the pr!ck......and i have three grandkids who have afl footballers on both sides of the family...the eldest is just 16 ..and representing his state.......i hope to god he plays for the saints.....but not if benny is there...ffs.......