PSD - Cousins??

Should St Kilda take Ben Cousins in the pre-season draft?

Yes
48%
No
40%
Unsure
12%

Total votes: 91

Cousins isn't a messiah or a panacea.

He's just someone who can help in our quest to win a flag.

Ultimately, I don't think we can ignore that if he's available.

I rate us about 5th at the moment; with Cousins, I rate us about 4th.

FullMonty

Agree.
He would be to good to pass up if he was clean and came back with the right attitude.

Montyrules!
buzfromgronggrong

Dan Warna wrote:alternative scenario

cousins is picked up by st kilda in the PSD.

cousins detected with drugs in his system round 6.

St Kilda's points are docked for games cousins played in, and he is sumarily suspended for 6 months for playing under the influence of stimulants.

season 2008 written of because of a drug cheat.
+

Every st kilda supporter contracts cancer.

and

The ground swallows up moorabbin

and

Victoria suffers an ice age.

and

Every remaining child in the country finds out there's no santa.

and

Every bottle of beer in the country goes flat

and

All the crisps go stale!

KILL COUSINS!!

KILL!!

KILL!!

KILL!!

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

buz the likely hood of your suggestions occuring are fairly slim, the likelyhood of cousins getting back on the gear seems highly likely.

buzfromgronggrong

Dan Warna wrote:buz the likely hood of your suggestions occuring are fairly slim, the likelyhood of cousins getting back on the gear seems highly likely.
DEAD RIGHT -

Once a valium sports cheat always a valium sports cheat.

WAKE UP BENNY - WAKE UP!!!!!!!!!

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

buzfromgronggrong wrote:
Dan Warna wrote:buz the likely hood of your suggestions occuring are fairly slim, the likelyhood of cousins getting back on the gear seems highly likely.
DEAD RIGHT -

Once a valium sports cheat always a valium sports cheat.

WAKE UP BENNY - WAKE UP!!!!!!!!!

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
yep he ran away from the cops and then refused a drug test because he had valium in his system :roll:

buzfromgronggrong

Maybe, just maybe he recieved legal advice telling him not to cooperate with the cops as their procedure was flawed AND HE HAD NO CHARGE TO ANSWER FOR.

This automatic assumption that he's guilty because he refused a blood test is BS.

Why the hell should he give a blood test if he had done nothing wrong?

If I was picked up without commiting an offence I'd refuse a blood test too - f@%k em!

Does this mean that the police can demand blood tests of any member of the public and any refusal to cooperate will mark that person as guilty?

Get a grip - the whole thing is a joke!

This is a classic case of witch hunt gone wrong - i hope he sues the lot of em - cops, afl, eagles - the whole friggin lot.

Go Benny I say!

(Do You Want No. 4??)

EDIT - Before you answer the with the predictable "if he wasn't guilty then he shouldnt worry about giving ablood test" - who the hell are the friggin cops to demand a blood test from someone who believes themselves to be innocent? - are we living in Nazi germany? FFS I cant believe all this crap - its a friggin disgrace!
Last edited by buzfromgronggrong on Mon 29 Oct 2007 9:32pm, edited 1 time in total.

He's too old.
He's past his best.
He's a druggie.
He's a drunk.
He's got a police record.
He's a party boy with no concept of the real world.
He's a bad influence on the playing group.
He's a liar.
He's a disgraceful role model.
He's got a riduculous tattoo.
He's an embarassment to all decent supporters.
He's a no-no as far as sponsors go.

This may well qualify him down the line for a spot on the AFL Commission.

But certainly there is No role for him EVER under ANY circumstances at our club.
I reckon if some club was silly enough to draft him their membership would drop by 5,000.
(I actually hope Carlton draft him as a special treat for Judd who left to get away from him). :D :D

buzfromgronggrong wrote:Maybe, just maybe he recieved legal advice telling him not to cooperate with the cops as their procedure was flawed AND HE HAD NO CHARGE TO ANSWER FOR.

This automatic assumption that he's guilty because he refused a blood test is BS.

If I was picked up without commiting an offence I'd refuse a blood test too - f@%k em!

Does this mean that the police can demand blood tests of any member of the public and any refusal to cooperate will mark that person as guilty?

This is a classic case of witch hunt gone wrong - i hope he sues the lot of em - cops, afl, eagles - the whole friggin lot.

Go Benny I say!

(Do You Want No. 4??)
rasmussen was suspended from his racing team for refusing 3 blood tests, every blood test he conducted he was found to not have drugs in his system.

he was tested 17 times in the lead up to the tour de france.

if you refuse a blood test or breathalyser in victoria it is an offence, WA recently added it to its statutes after being an offence in pretty much the rest of the country for years.

fair cop.

refuse a legal request for a test = guilty.

buzfromgronggrong

Dan Warna wrote:
buzfromgronggrong wrote:Maybe, just maybe he recieved legal advice telling him not to cooperate with the cops as their procedure was flawed AND HE HAD NO CHARGE TO ANSWER FOR.

Go Benny I say!

(Do You Want No. 4??)
rasmussen was suspended from his racing team for refusing 3 blood tests, every blood test he conducted he was found to not have drugs in his system.

he was tested 17 times in the lead up to the tour de france.

if you refuse a blood test or breathalyser in victoria it is an offence, WA recently added it to its statutes after being an offence in pretty much the rest of the country for years.

fair cop.

refuse a legal request for a test = guilty.
Guilty for what??

- not taking a test, that is what -

BEING GUILTY FOR TAKING DRUGS IS A DIFFERENT THING COMPLETELY!!!

So he evaded a drug test because he wasn't on drugs , and he was in a hurry to fly to the US for very expensive rehab from something he doen't use....you should have listened to Bill Clinton, buzz ! :wink:

buzfromgronggrong

Enrico_Misso wrote:He's too old.
He's past his best.
He's a druggie.
He's a drunk.
He's got a police record.
He's a party boy with no concept of the real world.
He's a bad influence on the playing group.
He's a liar.
He's a disgraceful role model.
He's got a riduculous tattoo.
He's an embarassment to all decent supporters.
He's a no-no as far as sponsors go.

This may well qualify him down the line for a spot on the AFL Commission.

But certainly there is No role for him EVER under ANY circumstances at our club.
I reckon if some club was silly enough to draft him their membership would drop by 5,000.
(I actually hope Carlton draft him as a special treat for Judd who left to get away from him). :D :D
GOOD ON YA JESUS - at first I thought you were talking about me until i read the bit about the tattoo.

You obviously missed the last qtr vs Eagles at the dome :roll:

buzfromgronggrong

satchmo wrote:So he evaded a drug test because he wasn't on drugs , and he was in a hurry to fly to the US for very expensive rehab from something he doen't use....you should have listened to Bill Clinton, buzz ! :wink:
He evaded a drug test because he had done nothing wrong.

just watch his legal team get him off this one too.

well if his legal team gets him off, thats the end of the current drug testing regime without rewriting the law, because EVERYONE can then refuse a drug test :roll:

im sure the laws are not that badly written.

I am sure criminals can now refuse to give fingerprints, refuse to give DNA tests etc etc

buzfromgronggrong wrote:You obviously missed the last qtr vs Eagles at the dome :roll:
Unfortunately I witnessed it.
He was obliterated in the first half, by I think it was Blake :shock: :shock: :shock:
Then he came out and won the game for WestCoast.

So what did he take at half time ?

buzfromgronggrong wrote:He evaded a drug test because he had done nothing wrong.
At best this is wishfull thinking, or is that wishfull thinking at its best...are you by chance a criminal lawyer ?
buzfromgronggrong wrote:just watch his legal team get him off this one too.
Keyword is "too", not the first time that Benny was so innocent he failed to comply with his legal obligation to be subjected to testing, in fact last time he was so innocent that he ran a marathon and swam across a river, whilst leaving his attractive girlfriend to deal with the fuzz, buzz.

But you're right, he never tested positive, so he's never taken drugs. But why the rehab ? and I wonder why his footy club would sack him then ? :?
Last edited by satchmo on Mon 29 Oct 2007 9:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

negative effects of withdrawal symptoms of methylamphetamine addiction:

# Diarrhea, nausea
# Excessive sweating
# Loss of appetite, insomnia, tremor, jaw-clenching (Bruxism)

effects of consuming methylamphetamine:

endurance, attentiveness, confidence, alertness, focus, motivation, and mental clarity

SaintBot

Fremantle become the second team to say they arn't ruling out Cousins.

TimeToShineFellas

SaintBot wrote:Fremantle become the second team to say they arn't ruling out Cousins.
Could be a good fit for Benny, at least he won't have to go through the rigmarole of advising his dealer of a change of address.

God knows we all hate having to do that!

bigcarl wrote:interesting that two WA posters - st byron and riewoldting - are opposed to recruiting benny

i guess being closer to his haunts, you guys would have a better idea of just how "on the nose" he is

I don't know Carl about necessarily having a better idea. Maybe we just have more constant exposure to anything to do with Cousins. It's saturation coverage over here mate. His widely publicised drug use, brushes with the law, drug dealers and public drunkenness are all public knowledge. Apart from that, I have a couple of contacts who have some inside knowledge of the WCE playing group. One very close and the other around the place. He's been so pumped full of how wonderful he is, he thinks he's above the law and he acts like it.

And Buzz, your either just winding us up for your own entertainment or need to take your Ned Kelly glasses off. If you're driving eratically, the cops arrest you for suspected drug use and you're in a car that contains traces of cocaine and amphetamine, and then you refuse a blood test, you've written your guilty ticket.

milnedog

It would basically be the difference between winning a premiership and not winning a premiership, I think we need to bite the bullet and have a go.

BROWNLOW: DalSanto 06, Ball 08, Riewoldt 07, Ball + Dal + ROO tie 09.

milnedog wrote:It would basically be the difference between winning a premiership and not winning a premiership, I think we need to bite the bullet and have a go.
would it? IMO we can beat most any team with our without cousins if we can play our best football.

you only have to look at the difference between 06 cats and 07 cats which were fundamentally the same team.

as four cousins, you can just as easily argue that he would reduce dramatically our chances of winning a premiership.

Beej

With Cousins I have to admit that I'm blinded by his ability on the field and I would be all over it if we could somehow pick him up.

I didn't want Gardiner because of his antics off the field but Cousins is a totally different class of footballer and you know he would take us to another level. Just thinking about him running around in our colours alongside Hayes, Ball, Dal, Joey and Banger is mouthwatering.

If we were to take a risk, which is exactly what it will be, I wouldn't complain.

As they say, one must speculate to accumulate and in Banger's final year, I say why not?

OLB wrote:With Cousins I have to admit that I'm blinded by his ability on the field and I would be all over it if we could somehow pick him up.

I didn't want Gardiner because of his antics off the field but Cousins is a totally different class of footballer and you know he would take us to another level. Just thinking about him running around in our colours alongside Hayes, Ball, Dal, Joey and Banger is mouthwatering.

If we were to take a risk, which is exactly what it will be, I wouldn't complain.

As they say, one must speculate to accumulate and in Banger's final year, I say why not?
so your moral values depends on teh quality of the player :roll:

'the end justifies the means'?

why not just give drugs to all the saints players and dare the AFL to stop us :roll:

Beej

These are my priorities when it comes to the St Kilda Football Club:

1. Premiership
2. Premiership
3. Culture

Gardiner was never going to be the difference between us winning a flag and not, Cousins could well be.

Lets see our club win a flag for the first time in our lives ffs and then worry about the rest later.