cats fell for three-card trick

we made a huge offer for blake, hoping the cats would panic and bend over backwards to try to keep him.

it worked

imo we had our eyes on king the whole time. can play and 28 is a mere pup for a ruckman. plus he was preferred to blake in their premiership side.

best thing about this is it frees up kosi to play ff.

well done to whomever hatched this plan to get a mature bodied and strong ruckman to the club
Last edited by bigcarl on Fri 12 Oct 2007 3:14pm, edited 1 time in total.

Agree. Good post.

I thought the same thing

St DAC

Disagree.

I reckon GFC have a TPP issue, and tried to do the right thing by a couple of good clubmen, especially King. IMO they showed a bit of consideration for their players and well done to them for that.

Re: cats fell for three-card trick

bigcarl wrote:hoping the cats would panic and bend over backwards to try to keep him.

it worked

imo we had our eyes on king the whole time. can play and 28 is a mere pup for a ruckman. plus he was preferred to blake in their premiership side.

yeah they really bent over, offloaded two players who do not figure in their future plans

more likely sent us a trojan horse and yet another guy who couldn't kick over a jam tin, couldn't kick straight to save himself and a player who could not get a game in a PREMIERSHIP team

whoohooo

FAIR DINKUM, geelong must be really feeling like st.kilda have got one up on them :roll:

make that a FLOWERING FAIR DINKUM, with some chrysanthenums to go

bigcarl wrote:hoping the cats would panic and bend over backwards to try to keep him.

it worked

yeah they really bent over, offloaded two players who do not figure in their future plans

more likely sent us a trojan horse and yet another guy who couldn't kick over a jam tin, couldn't kick straight to save himself and a player who could not get a game in a PREMIERSHIP team

whoohooo

FAIR DINKUM, geelong must be really feeling like st.kilda have got one up on them :roll:

Can you tell me what we lose by getting King because fail to see the problem with the deal.

hey barks, where does this leave your boy rix?

bigcarl wrote:hey barks, where does this leave your boy rix?

delisted i hope...well with four new players...someone has to go.......

it worked

whoohooo

its for pick 90

if we get good service out of one of them we still win...

we wouldnt use pick 90 anyway

bigcarl wrote:we made a huge offer for blake, hoping the cats would panic and bend over backwards to try to keep him.

it worked

well done to whomever hatched this plan to get a mature bodied and strong ruckman to the club

Not only that...but it probably made them pay Blake MORE...making there salary cap tighter....helping to pus out BOTH King and Gardiner.

St DAC

Interestingly King immediately becomes the best ruckman at our club who played footy this year; Kosi included. (I rate Kosi hugely as a follower, but not that much as a tap ruckman)

He's well in front of:

Rix
Brooks
Blake
Van Rheenan

A fair bit in front of Kosi.

Assuming both are fit, Gardiner, M is a bit better than King IMO.

If Gardiner, M comes up then we have 2 AFL-quality ruckmen for the first time in years.

Where's the downside? Well done Saints!

redwhite&blackblood

Our Ruck stocks have pretty much gone unchanged from 2007 thus far with Doc exited out and King exited in. We are really in the same spot in this posi as we were after PSD day last year.

Bleeding Red, Black and White for 38 years!
Life Motto - Fortius Quo Fidelius
Raph "Cult Hero" Clarke Fan Club.
B W and R all over

barks4eva wrote: ...and a player who could not get a game in a PREMIERSHIP team

whoohooo
Craig Bolton couldn't get a game in Brisbane's premiership team.

25 minutes to make a name for yourself like you've never made before.

number one ruckman when

Gardiner, King are out unavailable through injury all season and Brooks is still playing second fiddle to a wet lettuce

number one ruckman when

Gardiner, King are out unavailable through injury all season and Brooks is still playing second fiddle to a wet lettuce
no he will be a depth ruckman...

barks you really are dreaming put aside the Rix love and realise that for the better of the team we have now got a premiership ruckman

be happy in the fact now you can have a swipe at GT for not being able to attract one to the club

The future of Rix and Brooks is probably largely dependent of Gardi's feet.

If you assume that Kosi is now our FF...and Blake is atagger come utility fringe player.......you want to have 3 rucks on your list.

van reehan is a rookie....so I will not count him in the three.

So that leaves:

Gardiner
King
Brooks
Rix

If Gardi is looking ok...then at least one of Rix or Brooks may go,

However we have already lost 7 players.

Clarke
GTrain
Thommo
Hamill
Voss
Raymond
Sweeney

Hvae picked up 4 and so can still take 3 kids :wink:
Last edited by saintsRrising on Fri 12 Oct 2007 6:06pm, edited 1 time in total.

barks4eva wrote: yeah they really bent over, offloaded two players who do not figure in their future plans

whoohooo

I'm surprised you aren't pleased Barks. Doesn't it bring back memories from Harvey's 323rd game in 2005 - Geelong vs St Kilda when King trounced our ruck division. A watershed game for you as I understand it. perhaps you could remind of the ruck sta......ts.......

St DAC wrote:Disagree.

I reckon GFC have a TPP issue, and tried to do the right thing by a couple of good clubmen, especially King. IMO they showed a bit of consideration for their players and well done to them for that.
And why do you think they had a TPP issue ???- Could it be because they had to up the money for Blake to stay (Which I am led to believe awas substatially more - almost double than they first offered. him)

tragicforces

Give Geelong some credit. They accepted inferior picks to help their players get to their club of choice, rather than go through the uncertainty of nominating for the Pre Season Draft. Balme says as much himself:

"A few of the players were keen to continue and were looking for perhaps other clubs, and we certainly helped a couple with it.

"I think the four guys who have gone have been exceptional Geelong people and very good players, and have got an opportunity elsewhere.

"So, we've given a leg up to the other teams in a way, but I think our responsibility is to the player and we've tried to help them as much as we could."

number one ruckman when

funny how you talk about kings bad run with injury would that mean you would want us to give up on Kosi after his horror run of injury ??? oh wait no thats right kosi isnt going to take away Rix's spot like King will

St DAC

supersaints wrote:And why do you think they had a TPP issue ???- Could it be because they had to up the money for Blake to stay (Which I am led to believe awas substatially more - almost double than they first offered. him)
Possibly. Having 9 AA players on incentive-based contracts may have stretched the budget unexpectly as well though ...

aussiejones

Geelong not doing other clubs a favour .....
but real reason is the double edged swors of performance based contracts ......

"Possibly. Having 9 AA players on incentive-based contracts may have stretched the budget unexpectly as well "

Still we did well .....

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/ ... 22,00.html

GEELONG offloaded four players, including premiership ruckman Steven King, as the AFL trading period ended today.

A total of 20 players changed clubs, with the deals involving 14 of them finalised today.

King, who played in the Cats' Grand Final win over Port Adelaide last month, went to St Kilda along with fringe forward Charlie Gardiner in exchange for draft pick 90 from the Saints.

King's departure solves the Cats' problem of trying to fit three ruckmen into their senior side and also helps ease any salary cap issues the club had after winning the premiership.

Youngster Mark Blake, who was dropped from the Grand Final side in favour of King, agreed to a new two-year deal with the club earlier this week.

It also strengthens the Saints' ruck stocks, after the retirement of Matthew Clarke and the uncertainty over the fitness of Michael Gardiner, who is yet to play a game for the club after joining them from West Coast in last year's trade period.

Geelong also traded out Tim Callan to the Western Bulldogs along with pick 66, in exchange for pick 62.

The Cats gave up Henry Playfair to Sydney in return for pick 44 from the Swans.

The Western Bulldogs today finally secured Adelaide ruckman Ben Hudson, along with pick 43 from Adelaide, giving up picks 30 and 38 in return.

It came in a complicated arrangement, after the Bulldogs had earlier traded a swag of draft picks with West Coast in a deal that did not involve any players, in order to help them satisfy the Crows.

Richmond recruited two players, Jordan McMahon from the Western Bulldogs and Mitch Morton from West Coast.

They gave draft pick 19 to the Bulldogs for McMahon and pick 35 to the Eagles for Morton.

St Kilda picked up Sydney premiership players Adam Schneider and Sean Dempster, giving the Swans pick 26 in return for that pair.

Emerging Kangaroos ruckman Brad Moran is headed to Adelaide, after the Crows gave up pick 37, which they had received from Melbourne in return for their young ruckman John Meesen earlier in the week.

The Crows also recruited Brad Symes from Port Adelaide, giving up the pick 28 they had received from Sydney for Martin Mattner.

Richard Hadley moved from Brisbane to Carlton in exchange for pick 52, Sam Power left the Western Bulldogs to join the Kangaroos in exchange for pick 48 and the 'Roos also picked up Collingwood's Ben Davies in exchange for pick 96.

The biggest deal of trade week occurred yesterday, when Chris Judd gained his wish to move to Carlton, in a deal that also caused young Blues forward Josh Kennedy to switch to the Eagles.

In other deals, Melbourne gun midfielder Travis Johnstone was traded to Brisbane yesterday, with the Lions handing the Demons a first-round draft pick they had gained by trading young ruckman Cameron Wood to Collingwood.

AAP

StSteven

Decency won out. I hope they can prove themselves at the Saints.....well done Geelong.