Luke Ball's Groin

Heard Bally interviewed on Friday night, and he said that he and Judd have exactly the same injury and had the same surgery.

Now, this is the same injury that caused Judd to be basically useless for the 2nd half of the year. A battler. A plodder.

It brought the games best player to his knees, and had him left out of the Eagles side.

But our Luke has been playing, and has been servicable. He's carried this for 2 and a half years!!!

It made me think - how good is Luke Ball? How good could he be?

And more importantly, will we ever see it?

wel'l see it

its a fair testament to the man to play through it though

we should not compare hia performances with judd's however its just a given

he will be a gun with a stiched up groin yet again

I reckon we will see him improve in 08. He's had nearly a month head start on Judd by the way.

He has the potential to be awesome, I really, really hope we see what he is capable of.

Re: Luke Ball's Groin

rodgerfox wrote:

But our Luke has been playing, and has been serviceable. He's carried this for 2 and a half years!!!
Abductor release operation.... but Judd also has a displacement problem.

Yes 2 and half wasted years....and another example of our poor player management.

Ball was advised to have the operation a long time back......but refused.

WC tossed up whether to operate on Judd straight away or wait till seasons end........as having it straight away meant he definitely would not have played finals they opted instead to wait till seasons end.

Ball can be very very good...but even at his fittest Judd has clearly been a step above.

The saints stuffed up by not drafting Judd...but yes we can now try and get the best out of ball and get him back to being a very good player again.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 30 Sep 2007 10:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Luke Ball's Groin

saintsRrising wrote: Ball can be very very good...but even at his fittest Judd has clearly been a step above.
He's had OP the entire time he's been on our list.

We've never seen him at his best physically.

roo+hayes=flag

Luke ball at his best is a super star. Judd is a champion. he'll never be as good but he will still become our best mid next year. He won our best and fairest 2 years ago when we were top 4. I can't wait to see him back to his best and making major improvements. btw my mum is friends with his mum.

Keep on rolling Harvs

The question needs to be asked?

Why has it taken Judd 4 months to obtain surgury yet over 2 years for Luke?

roo+hayes=flag wrote:Luke ball at his best is a super star. Judd is a champion. he'll never be as good but he will still become our best mid next year. He won our best and fairest 2 years ago when we were top 4. I can't wait to see him back to his best and making major improvements. btw my mum is friends with his mum.
Even then though, Luke was carrying this injury.

luckysaint

Spinner wrote:Why has it taken Judd 4 months to obtain surgury yet over 2 years for Luke?
until last year we were deep into sept action, i suppose they didn't want him to miss a preseason and forlornly hoped that he'd turn good.

luckysaint wrote:
Spinner wrote:Why has it taken Judd 4 months to obtain surgury yet over 2 years for Luke?
until last year we were deep into sept action, i suppose they didn't want him to miss a preseason and forlornly hoped that he'd turn good.
\

Exactly.....Just highlighting the horrific run our training and fitness department has had recently.

Luke has been virtually crippled by his injury but still has contributed a massive amount to our team. It will be interesting to see how much Judd can contribute while affected by this.

Simon Templar

Bally has never been right.......never been rid of that OP / groin problem.

Even missed his first year with us, sidelined with OP. (I'm pretty sure that's right).

He is a ripper player, so is Judd.....I don't see how you can compare.......after all, what's better than excellent?

If Lukey boy ever throws off his handicap, stand back and be amazed!

Go you good things....!!!

Simon Templar wrote:Bally has never been right.......never been rid of that OP / groin problem.

Even missed his first year with us, sidelined with OP. (I'm pretty sure that's right).

He is a ripper player, so is Judd.....I don't see how you can compare.......after all, what's better than excellent?

Luke didn't miss his first year with us because of injury. He was doing his HSC and was never going to play. THat was the agreement when when took him.

Saint Bev wrote:
Simon Templar wrote:Bally has never been right.......never been rid of that OP / groin problem.

Luke didn't miss his first year with us because of injury. He was doing his HSC and was never going to play. THat was the agreement when when took him.
concur this is as arranged.

as a result we signed a 3 year deal with ball instead of the usual 2 year deal as well.

I believe ball trained with st kilda as well so he could get used to his team mates.

I think he cranked out a very high VCE score as well.

A very accomplished player and person is luke ball.

IMO given the information and medical advice at the time we did very well.

luckysaint wrote:
\

Exactly.....Just highlighting the horrific run our training and fitness department has had recently.
Nup, I agree with saintsrrising.....I think our fitness crew weren't up to scratch....sure, Bally didn't want surgery, but he should've been coaxed into it somehow......if they just hoped it'd turn good on it's own they fair dinkum needed their heads read!

I can accept it was a difficult situation, but that's what they're paid to do.

Had Ball been at any other club with the same problem would they let it drag on for 2 years??? I highly doubt it...

luckysaint wrote:
\

Nup, I agree with saintsrrising.....I think our fitness crew weren't up to scratch....sure, Bally didn't want surgery, but he should've been coaxed into it somehow......if they just hoped it'd turn good on it's own they fair dinkum needed their heads read!

I can accept it was a difficult situation, but that's what they're paid to do.

Had Ball been at any other club with the same problem would they let it drag on for 2 years??? I highly doubt it...
Bally didnt want surgery because specialists advised him it wouldnt help. He now has a different injury and surgery will help this injury. Had nothing to do with the Saints.

Saint Bev wrote:

still had op as a schoolboy......i remember him missing games....

I hope you all understand that I have issues with discussing another man's groin :roll: :wink: !!