Grand Final Tickets

Gabba

Grand Final Tickets

is there any way for a member of a non-competignc club to buy a GF ticket? A mate desperately needs a couple.

stand outside the G with a sign saying "i need 1 ticket!"

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
Gabba

figured as much dooley...

pay ridiculous amounts of money for a corporate lunch package

buy an international raffle ticket=- drawn Friday 28th :P
http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.p ... 9111718309

Dal_Santos_Gal

Tell your mate to listen to every single radio station this week and try to win tickets from all the competions that will be going on this week.

Its sickening how many tickets are given away on the radio. Really its so unfair how many GF tickets the "real" fans get.

Also let us know if your mate manages to get a ticket... would be interested to hear.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€

Dal_Santos_Gal wrote:Tell your mate to listen to every single radio station this week and try to win tickets from all the competions that will be going on this week.

Its sickening how many tickets are given away on the radio. Really its so unfair how many GF tickets the "real" fans get.

Also let us know if your mate manages to get a ticket... would be interested to hear.
Agree DSG...the AFL handing out 1000 tickets each (and it used to be 1500) to non-competing Clubs to flog for highway robbery prices makes my blood boil

saintsrus

Know of 2 tickets in prime Afl members but they want to be compensated, pm me if interested

EDIT, SOLD

Before Im 85

Dal_Santos_Gal wrote:Tell your mate to listen to every single radio station this week and try to win tickets from all the competions that will be going on this week.

Agree DSG...the AFL handing out 1000 tickets each (and it used to be 1500) to non-competing Clubs to flog for highway robbery prices makes my blood boil
Spot on.

Eddie on SEN said that the AFL should raise the price of ordinary competing members tickets at the GF and reduce the non-competeing club's allocation.

From what I hear, the cheapest club member tickets are only $136 - which is way below market value.

The cheapest seats should be at least $200, perhaps $250.

Far better for an extra 10,000 tickets to be able for club members at 50% more expensive than those 10,000 tickets being flogged to half baked corporates/wankers etc that have no interest in footy but can pay $500+ per ticket!

FFS the AFL make $780million frpm TV rights, if they forgoed a couple of million on the GF and instead helped out 10K extra fans it would make club membership more sort after, as you'd have a much better chance of getting a GF ticket.

If the average club member has to fork out an extra hundred bucks for a ticket they will find the money!

Dimwit doesn't seem to be interested at all in this....sure a reduction from 1500 to 1000 helps, but why not give the non-competeing clubs only 200 tickets, that's plenty.....increase the dividends to offset the GF sales instead!

SaintHomer

can someone tell me (or direct me in the right direction) to how the 100,000 tickets are split up

how many to each club
how many to non-competing clubs
how many to corporates

raising the tickets to $250 makes it very tough for a family to go along i think, especially the working class.

SaintHomer wrote:can someone tell me (or direct me in the right direction) to how the 100,000 tickets are split up

how many to each club
how many to corporates

raising the tickets to $250 makes it very tough for a family to go along i think, especially the working class.
approx 22,000 to each of the MCC and AFL Members, competing clubs approx 22K and the other 22K to the non-competing clubs and to the AFL.

Sure, $250 might make it tough, but would the working class family prefer a way better chance of getting those $250 tickets, or having little chance at say $150?? Currently, if you miss out on the $150 tickets, the next step up is about $400 to $500 through scalpers/footy club offloads close to the game etc....see my point?

The Victorian Government has outlawed scalping through newspapers/ebay etc, but it's perfectally legit as an AFL authourised onseller to sell a "package" for $2,000 per ticket!!! What a complete crock and contradiction!

I say, go with my/Eddie's proposal, allow scalping, and reduce the demand for those "corporate" packages that dilute the real appeal and atmosphere of Grand Finals.

SaintHomer

SaintHomer wrote:can someone tell me (or direct me in the right direction) to how the 100,000 tickets are split up

how many to each club
how many to corporates

approx 22,000 to each of the MCC and AFL Members, competing clubs approx 22K and the other 22K to the non-competing clubs and to the AFL.

Sure, $250 might make it tough, but would the working class family prefer a way better chance of getting those $250 tickets, or having little chance at say $150?? Currently, if you miss out on the $150 tickets, the next step up is about $400 to $500 through scalpers/footy club offloads close to the game etc....see my point?

The Victorian Government has outlawed scalping through newspapers/ebay etc, but it's perfectally legit as an AFL authourised onseller to sell a "package" for $2,000 per ticket!!! What a complete crock and contradiction!

I say, go with my/Eddie's proposal, allow scalping, and reduce the demand for those "corporate" packages that dilute the real appeal and atmosphere of Grand Finals.
i see your point. thanks for the info.

interesting stuff.

people's ground.... bah humbug...

thats why im gladly watch it on the telly $200 for a seat that will be up in the nose bleed section plus flights from perth to melb and finding a place to stay us much as i would love to be there to see the saints win a flag i couldnt justify it (but then again if it happened i may justify selling a kidney to pay for it )

saints will have 1000 tickets, ring the club and harrass them.

if you are a senior member maybe they will have mercy on you.

about 800 of them go to our sponsors almost immediately i've been told.

as far as Im concerned its the off season :lol:

Dal_Santos_Gal

how many to each club
how many to corporates

Here it is from the AFL website

The capacity of the MCG will be approximately 100,000 Grand Final day
Advice from the melbourne cricket club (MCC) is that the capacity of the MCG will be no fewer than 95,000. Therefore the AFL has used this figure during the ticket scheme proposal.

Competing club members - 16,000 - 26,000
AFL clubs (16 x 1000) 16,000
MCC Reserve 16,000 - 26,000
AFL Members 15,000 - 25,000
AFL / Medallion club members - 4,500 - 5,000
AFL entitlements / contractual obligations - 5,000 - 15,000
Competing Clubs - 1,500 - 2,500
Last edited by Dal_Santos_Gal on Mon 24 Sep 2007 8:53pm, edited 1 time in total.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€
Gabba

Thanks for your help guys. Unfortunately he will probably just have a barbeque with a few mates around.

Dal_Santos_Gal wrote:[Here it is from the AFL website

Competing club members 16,000 - 26,000
from the Cats management this morning they had 10,000 to distribute this morning
Port got 10,000 too

Just for the benefit of AFL Members....Silver Members will noty have access to tix this year..as per the AFL website.

Honest question to any of you corporate hi-flyer types who post here...how much do you think access to GF tickets affects a companies willingness to sponsor CLubs?? Would companies REALLY be less willing to shell out cash to Clubs if the AFL drastically reduced the amount of tickets they handed out to the non-competing teams?

saint66au wrote:Just for the benefit of AFL Members....Silver Members will noty have access to tix this year..as per the AFL website.

Honest question to any of you corporate hi-flyer types who post here...how much do you think access to GF tickets affects a companies willingness to sponsor CLubs?? Would companies REALLY be less willing to shell out cash to Clubs if the AFL drastically reduced the amount of tickets they handed out to the non-competing teams?
For sure. It is a huge corporate day and most companies invite there biggest suppliers of purchasers. the goodwill from this day can be massive for the corporates.