Some news....Voss, Sweeney, Maguire, Brooks, Bakes

st.mart

Some news....Voss, Sweeney, Maguire, Brooks, Bakes

From a mate

Voss and Sweeney have signed with Casey for 2008........Raymond back to SA...

Maguire - Gone (does not like Ross Lyon....because he does not rate him)..they are not even close in contract negotiations...

Bakes.....was very valued by GT and rwarded contractually.....Ross does not share the view, and the negotiations there are also poles apart (his relationship with Lenny, Milne may keep him at St.K....as with lack of interest from other clubs....

Brooks will remain on the list, has not been told to pack his bags...

that's a bit sad.....

_7777777_

Re: Some news....Voss, Sweeney, Maguire, Brooks, Bakes

st.mart wrote:
Maguire - Gone (does not like Ross Lyon....because he does not rate him)..they are not even close in contract negotiations...

what............................

Lenny rox my sox.
megs4#31

so hope against hope that its not true. DONT LEAVE MATT!!!!

Go saints, 2009 is our year!

Posted: Fri 21 Sep 2:16 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goose was on radio this morning calling up from Thailand and when asked about playing for the Saints next year he said you can pretty much count on it. Wanted to go away and relax on holidays first and work out the final points of the contract when he's back next week.

Kiedis

I seem to remember Lyon making comments on his surprise at Baker's work ethic and efforts at training, and what, Voss is going to play in the VFL??

jill

:? Why did Goose say on radio today - in thai - that he'll sign on return? Bakes going with G T'S daughter - perhaps if R B goes Bakes will stick with the "Ride of Our Lives"! Never underestimate St. Robert Harvey's influence! Retirees going to Scorpians surely vote of confidence in Saints coaching/future? These are indeed trying times. Wish whatever board controls Club was IN NOW!! a lot of damage, heartbreak may occurr in the meantime - for players & supporters.

Have heard similar on the Bakes thing, but he won't leave because he loves the place.

I can understand WHY Lyon doesn't rate Goose (if true) ... BUT I disagree

Loved this quote from Frankie when he retired last year ...

"It is tough for young blokes. Thommo had been there five years and he is all they have known, but they will start training in three weeks' time. You have to do the things you know you have to do regardless of who the coach is because there is always going to be a handful of blokes the coach doesn't rate, a couple he will write off completely and others you will hang **** on, calling (them) his sons. You just have to find where you sit and do the work you need to do.

st.mart wrote: Maguire - Gone (does not like Ross Lyon....because he does not rate him)..they are not even close in contract negotiations...

if thats true, then I'd be worried

on the flip side with our game plan of having 18 people in the D50 then maguire is superflous :evil: :evil: :evil:

saintm

deleted
Last edited by saintm on Fri 21 Sep 2007 8:04pm, edited 1 time in total.

Oh When the Saints wrote:

St Mart said "Maguire - Gone (does not like Ross Lyon....because he does not rate him).."

I took that to mean that Goose does not rate Ross....rather than Ross did not rate Goose.

Ali92

Hmmm Sounds like St Mart went to the same journalism course as Caroline Wilson :-)) I would be surprised if Goose left, you'd reckon Kosi and Reiwoldt will get in his ear to keep him in the team? As well as Maxie and some others... anyways my two cents worth...

Global Warming? don't you dare question this or you'll be called a heretic...remember the Catholic Church in the Middle Ages? "the earth is flat !!!"
I thought science was all about finding the truth and asking questions...why do we all have to believe what we are told ffs ????

St Mart said "Maguire - Gone (does not like Ross Lyon....because he does not rate him).."

I took that to mean that Goose does not rate Ross....rather than Ross did not rate Goose.
while I dont blame goose its not his job to like the coach but i've heard that rumour about a few players unfortunately :(

hopefully the pull of the playing group will see them through and he will pull his head in.

St DAC

I assumed the other way around ... :?

jill

:? Me again. If Ross doesn't rate Goose wonder what he thought when Bazz took him out when we played Swannies in FINAL? Goose always good when Ross saw him against Swans - knows returning from SERIOUS injury. I want Goose at St.Kilda in 2008 - will current admin undermine even 'though they "Love the Club"?

St DAC wrote:I assumed the other way around ... :?
which way? goose doesn't rate lyon or lyon doesn't rate goose!
speak straight pls lol

St DAC

Dan Warna wrote:which way? goose doesn't rate lyon or lyon doesn't rate goose!
speak straight pls lol
I took it to mean Lyon doesn't rate Goose.

st.mart

A bit of both.......but mainly that Ross does not rate Matt, as high as Matt rates Matt....

Remember this is a 'from a mate' story.....in NO way did I say it was gospel......nearly EVERTHING on a footy forum is heresay.....however this person is in the inner sanctum at Casey, and gets his news from the players......

If Voss ends up at Casey, this may be right....assistant coaching role....Troy Makepeace has retired...

st.mart wrote:A bit of both.......but mainly that Ross does not rate Matt, as high as Matt rates Matt....

Remember this is a 'from a mate' story.....in NO way did I say it was gospel......nearly EVERTHING on a footy forum is heresay.....however this person is in the inner sanctum at Casey, and gets his news from the players......

If Voss ends up at Casey, this may be right....assistant coaching role....Troy Makepeace has retired...
I've heard voss speak, he is clear, concise, intelligent, and shows wit, IMO whether he has the tag or not, he is certainly leadership material.

Dan Warna wrote:

while I dont blame goose its not his job to like the coach but i've heard that rumour about a few players unfortunately :(

hopefully the pull of the playing group will see them through and he will pull his head in.
ive heard that rumor b4 from the previous coach as well the facts are RL is in charge of the team and if any players dont want to play for him then fine trade them away ....
having said that goose will sign this all just a wind up to keep intrest in the game during the off season

I think Goose will sign too...only natural for him to try and geta few xtra $$$

st.mart wrote:(does not like Ross Lyon ... because he does not rate him)

lyon doesn't rate goose or goose doesn't rate lyon?

I suspect lyon doesn't rate goose and I also suspect goose will prove him wrong

if goose is gone the decision will come back to haunt st kilda as he smashes us for the next 10 years.

you can count on it.
Last edited by bigcarl on Fri 21 Sep 2007 8:47pm, edited 1 time in total.

What a load of over inflated crap. Seems to me that some people will state anything to start a thread

IIRC st.mart you do not rate maguire as high as some.

I must admit he reminds me of a great A grade Park footballer
by this I mean his build would suit that of a ruckman at this level
his speed ...football brain etc.....

At the highest level he is that in between kpp and ruck.....

His injury has clouded the view...

Trying not to big him
think he has a great heart etc but IMO is caught in between body wise

Hope people understand what I am trying to say here......

Those will disagree with me strongly but I am sure there is also many who would know where I am coming from...

Hope he stays ....but I do not rate him as high as some.

you're entitled to that opinion, but tell me this: why are so many other clubs interested in him if he's as ordinary as you say?

the answer: he can hold down chb. good ones don't grow on trees and goose is good (potentially great).

btw, our win-loss ration was 4 and 7 this season before goose's return. the defence looked shell-shocked, soft and weak ... and lacking leadership as well as physical presence

after his return we lost only three games.

let's hope RL takes this into account or has our esteemed coach already pigeon-holed goose as "too slow", or even worse "not accountable"?

coaching is a tough game and takes a certain set of skills. the secret to a lot of gt's "success" imo is that he showed confidence in his players.

they believed in him; he believed in them. it is a two-way street

i only hope that goose has the full confidence of our coach
Last edited by bigcarl on Fri 21 Sep 2007 10:02pm, edited 2 times in total.