Some news....Voss, Sweeney, Maguire, Brooks, Bakes

Interesting stuff marto. You are one that says it how he see's it but also passes on information without ego and always with a pinch of salt.

Marto could there be a chance that voss might be playing AND assistant coach for casey in 2008? Any word on who is in line for the coaching job down there as well. Suprised Banfield went after having a better 2007 then 2006.

4ever_saint

maverick wrote:If RL clearly doesn't rate Goose why did he play him about 3 weeks too early in the seniors and persist with him for half a season?

His actions contradict the speculation
i agree. ross lyon pushed maguire to play first game of this year, he broke his foot. ross lyon pushed maguire to play after around 15 weeks out of the game. why would lyon do this if he didnt rate maguire as a player? there would be no rush if he thought maguire wasnt a neccessary player in the team.

why do pple on here jump at rumours ffs.....goose aint going anywhere...either is baker...ffs.... :roll: :roll: :roll:

4ever_saint wrote:
maverick wrote:If RL clearly doesn't rate Goose why did he play him about 3 weeks too early in the seniors and persist with him for half a season?

i agree. ross lyon pushed maguire to play first game of this year, he broke his foot. ross lyon pushed maguire to play after around 15 weeks out of the game. why would lyon do this if he didnt rate maguire as a player? there would be no rush if he thought maguire wasnt a neccessary player in the team.
i can see what you guys are getting at but marto's information is often pretty good. will be interested to see what comes of the situation

4ever_saint

4ever_saint wrote:

i can see what you guys are getting at but marto's information is often pretty good. will be interested to see what comes of the situation
i really hope this information is wrong. i guess we'll all see next week when the boys get back from thailand. the encouraging factor in this is that maguire was on the radio on friday morning and said that he'd be staying. but, who knows. i guess we'll all know next week.

4theluvoftheclub

Can someone tell me when the players return or returned from their overseas trip this year? I know a group went - on their own dime- to Thailand..

SaintBot

we have heard that maguire wants to stay...we have heard that baker wants to stay

but no news on xavier?

i'll take it with a grain of salt since i spoke to justin sweeney just 2 days ago and he told me he is in talks with other afl clubs.

st.mart

of course sweeney is 'in talks' as would 200 other about 2008....contracted, uncontracted, draftees......tom roach was in talks with us last year....

Remember this is NOT GOSPEL but from a friend in the know.....and is purely speculation....I have already announced that...

I hope we RETAIN Maguire......strong defenders do not grow on trees, and mature with age.....

I would NOT swap Goose for Fev.....even though Fev is a better player....Fev will bring the rest of the group down, with his woeful attitude..

Brett Voss will most likely be Ass. Coach of Casey in 2008.....Daniel Ward will be playing there aswell...

Do not count out the following as the Senior Coach
Michael Voss - Long Shot
Austin Jones
Justin Peckett
Barry Mitchell

st.mart wrote:of course sweeney is 'in talks' as would 200 other about 2008....contracted, uncontracted, draftees......tom roach was in talks with us last year....

Remember this is NOT GOSPEL but from a friend in the know.....and is purely speculation....I have already announced that...

I hope we RETAIN Maguire......strong defenders do not grow on trees, and mature with age.....

I would NOT swap Goose for Fev.....even though Fev is a better player....Fev will bring the rest of the group down, with his woeful attitude..

Brett Voss will most likely be Ass. Coach of Casey in 2008.....Daniel Ward will be playing there aswell...

Do not count out the following as the Senior Coach
Michael Voss - Long Shot
Austin Jones
Justin Peckett
Barry Mitchell

by no means shooting you down here st.mart, but did you not say that sweeney had already signed with the scorps for next year, or did you just say he was in talks, i cbf going back to the OP.

is you purely said he was in talks, my aplogies.

saintm

4theluvoftheclub wrote:Can someone tell me when the players return or returned from their overseas trip this year? I know a group went - on their own dime- to Thailand..
Goose will need to be back in Melbourne by lunch-time tomorrow because, according to Rosanne Michie's column in the Herald-Sun today, he is giving a cooking demonstration for guests (including Danielle Harvey) at a ladies football lunch!!

saintm wrote:
4theluvoftheclub wrote:Can someone tell me when the players return or returned from their overseas trip this year? I know a group went - on their own dime- to Thailand..
Goose will need to be back in Melbourne by lunch-time tomorrow because, according to Rosanne Michie's column in the Herald-Sun today, he is giving a cooking demonstration for guests (including Danielle Harvey) at a ladies football lunch!!
where can I get to that :)

st.mart

Apparantly he has already signed.....well rated at Scorps.....but like all sports contracts, there is a get out clause, if you get an opportunity at a higher level....the club has a moral obligation to let you go...

Sweeney will be at Casey in 2008, unless he is Drafted or Rookied in 2008...(Melb, Rich, Bull, Ess) will all chat with him and maybe Rookie or late national/pre season draft him...

Like Matty Clarke when he was at Glenelg in 2007, until we drafted him....

ifonlybarkswashere

Re: Some news....Voss, Sweeney, Maguire, Brooks, Bakes

st.mart wrote:From a mate

Voss and Sweeney have signed with Casey for 2008........Raymond back to SA...

Report in Brisbane Sunday Mail today that Voss will be coming back to Qld next year and playing with Mt Gravatt

...bugger me age and me cranky ways
I'll send my bones to the contest again

st.mart wrote:Apparantly he has already signed.....well rated at Scorps.....but like all sports contracts, there is a get out clause, if you get an opportunity at a higher level....the club has a moral obligation to let you go...

Sweeney will be at Casey in 2008, unless he is Drafted or Rookied in 2008...(Melb, Rich, Bull, Ess) will all chat with him and maybe Rookie or late national/pre season draft him...

IMO Sweeney will play at Frankstn next year or back at his local club. I dont think he will want to play with players from a club he has just been delisted from. Very doubtful he will be at Scorps next year.

st.mart wrote:Apparantly he has already signed.....well rated at Scorps.....but like all sports contracts, there is a get out clause, if you get an opportunity at a higher level....the club has a moral obligation to let you go...

IMO Sweeney will play at Frankstn next year or back at his local club. I dont think he will want to play with players from a club he has just been delisted from. Very doubtful he will be at Scorps next year.
we shall see,

I can tell you who's opinion I value more :wink:

st.mart

I would have thought Voss would return to Qld, which is why I was surprised he had 'apparantly' signed with Casey.......

I do know that he impressed all with his leadership skills at Casey....

I also know that Sweeney is well liked at Casey (preferred the VFL blokes).....but I too thought that he may end up at Franga.....most AFL cast offs end up there or the Borough or the SANFL...

So Lyon doesnt rate Maguire as much as Maguire rates himself?

Big deal.

I agree Marto - I also do not have Magurie as elite at CHB.....I have Chad Cornes as elite at CHB...different kettle of fish.

brewski

Spinner wrote:On the upside.....Brooks is staying. (Hoping)
You gotta be kidding spinner, Brooks is a dud he's had heaps of time on our list and still cant crack the team.

We really need to re-sign Goose and keep this list together, blood some of the younger guys, hopefully trade for and bring in some quality and play attacking footy.

Goose has come back from a major injury and like Nathan Brown will need some time because like some others on here i would rather have him in our team then see him elsewhere and i doubt there would be many that questioned his spot before the leg.

Banned by the censors

Goose not gone...has re-signed as I thought he would :D