Patrick Smith has just convinced me....

Stjohn

Patrick Smith has just convinced me....

He is on sen now slagging off St Footy First and Praising Rod Butterss..
SFF has just got my vote...

" I am a loyal person and at the end of my career it will be great to look back and know I am a St Kilda person for life. That was something that has heavily influenced my decision.â€

Re: Patrick Smith has just convinced me....

Stjohn wrote:He is on sen now slagging off St Footy First and Praising Rod Butterss..
SFF has just got my vote...
did you listen to anything he said??

I gotta say thats a damning an indictment of the current board.

still I'll make my own mind up, but fatpryck is the biggest scumbag that has been shown the door at every club in the AFL, INCLUDING st kilda, till recently.

smith was actually escorted out of moorabin a few years ago.

i wouldn't pyss on smith if he was on fire.

Would Smith support RB because he rid the AFL of Cornflakes?

redwhite&blackblood

He is shoring up the SFF vote every word he speaks. The Guy is an Absolute Numb Nut who has no idea about anything. I was leaning toward the current board without Rocket but now i am heading the other way.

Bleeding Red, Black and White for 38 years!
Life Motto - Fortius Quo Fidelius
Raph "Cult Hero" Clarke Fan Club.

Dan Warna wrote:I gotta say thats a damning an indictment of the current board.

still I'll make my own mind up, but fatpryck is the biggest scumbag that has been shown the door at every club in the AFL, INCLUDING st kilda, till recently.

smith was actually escorted out of moorabin a few years ago.

i wouldn't pyss on smith if he was on fire.
Your first sentence does not make sense if you listened to Smith

Emotion and your hatred of smith clouds what he actually said.

I am not a fan of smith by the way.........but do listen

His article yesterday was full of inaccuracies and his defence of Rod is too passionate to be taken seriously as an independent opinion.

For some reason (we can only guess), he feels St Kilda supporters have no right to be angry and challenge the board but Essendon supporters have every right. Strange.

I do laugh though at his attempts to discredit Michael Kilm - but in the next breathe passes himself off as an expert and our injury problems are just bad luck.

Andrew Thompson I'm sure would have a far better insight to what has happened than this buffoon.

I agree with the OP - Patrick's support is enough to convince me, not that I needed any convincing on Rod.

no i dont listen to smith, I sometimes read his articles for their comedy value.

his half witted editorials in the Australian and his bitterness towards people in general make him a laughable joke.

his attack on St Kilda amongst others have left him pretty much friendless in the football community.

I certainly won't base my vote, should I vote, on anything whatsoever the galah has to say.

Smith is only shoring up his anti Thomas pro Butters position from the mid year stoush.

Smith changes like the wind. A couple of years back he was saying Butters admin was fiscially irresponsible because of the Blight debacle.

I haven't heard what Smith is saying, but it smacks of with me or agin me type of position toward Grant Thomas.

The enemy of my enemy is my friend.

Makes no difference to whom I will vote for.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

JeffDunne wrote: I do laugh though at his attempts to discredit Michael Kilm - but in the next breathe passes himself off as an expert and our injury problems are just bad luck.

Andrew Thompson I'm sure would have a far better insight to what has happened than this buffoon.
You would expect so wouldn't you. Smith knows three fifths of FA.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

He has gone beyond simply passing an opinion.

Sounds a bit like one of b4e's rant.

Leo.J

JeffDunne wrote: I do laugh though at his attempts to discredit Michael Kilm - but in the next breathe passes himself off as an expert and our injury problems are just bad luck.

You would expect so wouldn't you. Smith knows three fifths of FA.
Thats being generous.

joffaboy wrote:Smith is only shoring up his anti Thomas pro Butters position from the mid year stoush.

Smith changes like the wind. A couple of years back he was saying Butters admin was fiscially irresponsible because of the Blight debacle.

I haven't heard what Smith is saying, but it smacks of with me or agin me type of position toward Grant Thomas.

The enemy of my enemy is my friend.

Makes no difference to whom I will vote for.
As I have said JB I am no fan of Smith but just spoke of his criticism of RB in earlier days.

JeffDunne wrote:He has gone beyond simply passing an opinion.

Sounds a bit like one of b4e's rant.
Jeffrey, was that you just on SEN accusing Patrick of 'being paid' by RB? :lol:

DIdn't he get all moralistic!

lol, no it wasn't me.

TBH, I wouldn't waste my time speaking to that sack of effluent.

Dan Warna wrote:no i dont listen to smith, I sometimes read his articles for their comedy value.

his half witted editorials in the Australian and his bitterness towards people in general make him a laughable joke.

his attack on St Kilda amongst others have left him pretty much friendless in the football community.

I certainly won't base my vote, should I vote, on anything whatsoever the galah has to say.

i rang the australian once wanting to speak to him.....the guy in the office said that the phat pr!ck worked from home...thank god.....but, he was quite happy to give me the slugs home phone number......which i posted on the then current saints forum............never got to speak to the clown himself though.....should have spoken to him before posting the number eh????..his wife sounded nice though.

oh...and he does read this site....you would think that doing that would have given him a clue, wouldn't you......

.....i used to call him showbags......full of crap....but phatpryck is just so appriopriate...... :wink: :wink: :lol: :lol:

...and le grand chips in his two bob's worth.....

..."
Saints' board clash turns nasty

Chip Le Grand, Australian Football | September 13, 2007

THE man who would be St Kilda president, transport boss Greg Westaway, says he hardly knows the incumbent Rod Butterss.

What's more, he says he is determined for the coming stoush for control of the club's board to be fought over policy rather than personalities.

But within 24 hours of Westaway and his Footy First group launching a well organised bid for the board, the campaign took a very personal and potentially nasty turn.

In an interview with the Herald Sun newspaper and subsequently on Melbourne Radio SEN, Westaway pledged that his board would be free of illicit drug use and alcohol abuse. When pressed for his reasons, he cited "talk and innuendo" about drug use within football circles.

The comments prompted a furious Butterss to ask his solicitor to examine whether Westaway had defamed himself or the board. Butterss believes the reference to "talk and innuendo" was aimed squarely at his administration and represented the first smear of a grubby campaign.

When contacted by The Australian yesterday, Westaway insisted his comments had been misconstrued.

The founder and chairman of Gregory's Transport said he was an admirer of Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett's stance against illicit drugs and had simply pinched Kennett's idea about a club's board subjecting itself to the same testing regime as its players.

"If it is good enough for the players to do this, we will stand up and make the same commitment we want them to make," Westaway said. "That is what it is about. There is absolutely no reference to anyone at all.

"I don't know anything much about Rod. I hardly know him socially. He has worked hard. I think the job he has done has been good. I think we are just ready for a fresh approach. This has got nothing to do with personalities. This isn't about Rod. It is about St Kilda."

The challenge for Westaway and his five-man rival ticket is how to separate Butterss from St Kilda without the argument becoming deeply personal.

The central plank of the Footy First reform agenda is to increase spending on a stretched football department, with recruiting and medical key areas.

In response, Butterss said yesterday the club had already begun to re-invest more in its football operations after meeting a four-year target of debt reduction. He said the club was now debt-free and that since 2002 had increased its football department spending by an accumulated $7m.

"We have refurbished the oval, refurbished the gymnasium and funded three overseas trips and never once knocked back a budgeted or special request for expense in footy," Butterss said.

"You can throw up the argument that we are Mr Scrooge but you put professional managers in place, they put up budgets and we approve them. It shouldn't be up to any board to run around with an open chequebook encouraging people to spend money. There has to be an element of financial rigour to the process."

Westaway applauded the debt reduction program but said it had been too austere.

"Retiring debt is good and had I been at the helm I would have done the same, but maybe I would have put a little bit into the football department as well. Major public companies all have a debt ratio which is manageable and respectable. You don't have to be totally debt-free. That is paranoia.

"I think some of that money should have been ploughed back into football. For example, in recruitment, we have got full-time representatives from WA here in Victoria recruiting people, ie Chris Judd. What have we got? We have got a bloke in a car who runs around trying to see footballers in country towns.

"That is admirable and he has got some support recently, but we just need to spend a lot more on recruitment. That is where they have missed what should be happening in footy. They have dropped the ball."

The fate of the Butterss board will be decided at an extraordinary general meeting on November 12, with the prospect of a backroom compromise increasingly unlikely.

Westaway reiterated his view that his group would not accommodate any board members beyond John Gdanski, who is a member of the Footy First ticket, and Ross Levin, who has fallen out with Butterss. "We don't want a shandy. They have had seven years; it is time for a new phase. Let's have a fresh approach."

Butterss and his board will formally launch their campaign at a press conference in Melbourne today.

AlpineStars

Patrick Smith and Greg Denim must both be mates with RB they are unwaiving in their support for him it makes me sick. They should be impartial reporters and not take sides just report the facts. Smith F**kin compared Nathan Burke to Joffa from the Collingwood cheer squad???? They have no idea what so ever. Any saints members who rang and backed footy first were shouted down by these penuts.

Wake me up when September ends.

cn you confirm that Patrick smith declared our 323 game veteran, many time AA player and former captain to be the same as that toothless racist prick Joffa Corfe?

i would be interested in his actual words...

i already had a low opinion of patrick smith but would interested in what he said...

that's worse...well,almost..than comparing mother Terese with caroline wilson...or a stripper....

AlpineStars

He said Burke loved St Kilda as much as Joffa loved Collingwood but it didn't mean Joffa would be a good Board Member. Forgot to mention that Burke has actually been involved at AFL level for 20 years.

Wake me up when September ends.

Dan Warna wrote:cn you confirm that Patrick smith declared our 323 game veteran, many time AA player and former captain to be the same as that toothless racist prick Joffa Corfe?

i already had a low opinion of patrick smith but would interested in what he said...
dan

can not remember exactly but it was in reference to loyalty/passion side of it.....

didn't matter how much passion/loyalty etc you have ....you need business
nous etc etc

you would not put joffa in based on passion/loyalty alone....

Dan Warna wrote:cn you confirm that Patrick smith declared our 323 game veteran, many time AA player and former captain to be the same as that toothless racist prick Joffa Corfe?

dan

can not remember exactly but it was in reference to loyalty/passion side of it.....

didn't matter how much passion/loyalty etc you have ....you need business
nous etc etc

you would not put joffa in based on passion/loyalty alone....
Still sounds like a cheap shot at one of our all time greats.

i wonder if he would focus on the industry experience of the other 6 members of the board :roll:

for that matter what gives fat ass the right to comment on corporate experience when it his understand of corporate experience his leveraged take outs of Pizza and hungry jacks transferring phat assets to his ass.

i wonder smiths corporate experience that makes him a judge, its not like he even has the insights of terry mcrann or purdy Harvey-CanbRRRRa

AlpineStars wrote:He said Burke loved St Kilda as much as Joffa loved Collingwood but it didn't mean Joffa would be a good Board Member. Forgot to mention that Burke has actually been involved at AFL level for 20 years.
joffa is an unducated racist swill, known for his lack of personal hygiene, foul language and practically the lowest common denominator of fans.

Burke is articulate, highly media trained, leadership of a finals team, intelligent, thoughtful, with 20 years insight into the running of he football aspects of a club.

he is also sought after for media work, written articles, public speaking, coaching roles, AFL management issues.

to compare a shytehead racist like joffa corfe to the nathan burke smacks of pathetic jealousy.

frankly Patrick Smith will NEVER in a million years be as respected as even muckrakers like Wilson and hutcho, or mate of clubs like sheehan, richards and de bolfo, let alone the respect that nathan burke gets in football or media circles.

frankly if burke wanted to write for the australian and get smiths job on TV he would be faster than a lightening.