the great quotes of footy

i started this thread on big footy

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=367524

can you guys think of any more?

saintm

Grew up listening to ABC Radio where the catchcry always seemed to be "Scores are level at the Park". Still gets a run in the family, however since the Park no longer exists its now at the G or the Dome.

Behind Play

Jesalenko you beauty!

I tipped this. 19966 GF when scores were level. Mike Williamson.

plugger66 wrote:I tipped this. 19966 GF when scores were level. Mike Williamson.
thanks plugger, i'll add that to the big footy thread

Behind Play wrote:Jesalenko you beauty!
thanks, i already put that one in. also ian drake's quote when we'd just recruited loewe as a big lump of a lad: "he's got hands like buckets" hence loewe's nickname, "buckets"

Riewoldting

"It looks like we've got the close one."

"To be or not to be" - William Shakespeare
"To be is to do" - Immanuel Kant
"Do be do be do" - Frank Sinatra

How about these three terrific quotes from that master of deadpan comedy, Andrew Demetriou.

"I've got no doubt they'll be trying this week, I've got no doubt they'll be trying the next week." (Re Carlton in 2007)

"The question for the AFL this week has been: Are you doing anything to combat illicit drugs? The answer is yes, and we will continue to do so."

“The independence of the tribunal is sacrosanctâ€

SaintBot

we have / it's a <insert score difference> ball game
Last edited by SaintBot on Wed 05 Sep 2007 9:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

Awsome thread man.

...the one on bigfooty is great.

Snakeman66

Hit the boundary.

Don't dwell on the past.
Look to the future.

Can you hear me Harry!!
The Immortal Tommy Lahiff

Worm burning finger breaking mongrel up country punt kick
Rex Hunt

3KZ IS FOOTBALL!
Ian Major

Its a real ringa ding dinga

Lou Richards....

He's just a good ordinary footballer that boy

JackDyer

Fair dinkum unbelievable

Bobby Davis

sigh the memories
:roll: :roll:

Dal_Santos_Gal

sssssssppppppppeeeeeeeccccccccciiiiiiiiiiaaaaaaaaaallllllllllllllllll

lol, have not looked on the bigfooty thread but it had to be said even if it has been said before.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€
Snakeman66

Cox down the throat of Kerr. - Michael Christian PF 2006

Kangas Game. Jones to Swallow.

Don't dwell on the past.
Look to the future.

........AND PUTS THE SAINTS IN FRONT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tim Lane as TS40 snags THAT goal v Brisbane 2004

HSVKing

"I want to go to Collingwood to play finals football."

Nathan Buckley 1994

They walk amongst us...

saint patrick wrote:Can you hear me Harry!!
The Immortal Tommy Lahiff

Worm burning finger breaking mongrel up country punt kick
Rex Hunt

3KZ IS FOOTBALL!
Ian Major

Its a real ringa ding dinga

Lou Richards....

He's just a good ordinary footballer that boy

JackDyer

Fair dinkum unbelievable

Bobby Davis

sigh the memories
:roll: :roll:
thanks paddy, i'll add to the big footy thread

[quote="meher baba"]How about these three terrific quotes from that master of deadpan comedy, Andrew Demetriou.

"I've got no doubt they'll be trying this week, I've got no doubt they'll be trying the next week." (Re Carlton in 2007)

"The question for the AFL this week has been: Are you doing anything to combat illicit drugs? The answer is yes, and we will continue to do so."

“The independence of the tribunal is sacrosanctâ€

Spinner wrote:Awsome thread man.

...the one on bigfooty is great.
thanks spinner

redwhite&blackblood

HSVKing wrote:"I want to go to Collingwood to play finals football."

Nathan Buckley 1994
Well he got his wish he played Finals footy didn't actually win a premiership but then why would you go to Wobblewood for that. :wink:

Bleeding Red, Black and White for 38 years!
Life Motto - Fortius Quo Fidelius
Raph "Cult Hero" Clarke Fan Club.

Another from the late great Jack Dyer

His arms shot up like giant testicles

"he's strongly tuckled by Tack" - Jack Dyer

"he's loping around the boundary like a gigantic tarantuloupe" - Dyer on a particularly spindly ruckman

"Bartlett's older than he's ever been before" - Dyer again

"Bamblett made a great debut today and an even better one last week" - Dyer

"I want you to all pair off in threes" - Dyer

"which of you isn't here today? You or your brother?" Dyer to an identical twin, only one of whom had turned up to training

or the other one when the pizza guy asked him whether he wanted his pizza cut into six or eight pieces.

"Six. I couldn't possibly eat eight."

riccardo

[quote="bigcarl']
"I want you to all pair off in threes" - Dyer[/quote]

I thought that was someone else?

well it's been attributed to jack. sounds like something he would have said.

fisher_fan

"And Gehrig's stat sheet is going to baffle statistician's for centuries to come"

Dennis Commetti after Gehrig took a mark and was made to give the ball up after Milne gave away a free kick. Gehrig finished the game with 1 mark, no kicks, no handballs.....