Streamers

killa_gram

Streamers

Was watching some old footy footage on the weekend and there was a crowd shot that showed steamers all over the place. Gee I miss those. There was nothing better than going to a game and throwing a streamer after a goal and then making sure I had one saved in case we won to throw at the final siren.

Shame some things have to change.

Innocent until proven guilty!

I'm Baaaaaaaaack!!!!!!

Re: Streamers

killa_gram wrote:Was watching some old footy footage on the weekend and there was a crowd shot that showed steamers all over the place. Gee I miss those. There was nothing better than going to a game and throwing a streamer after a goal and then making sure I had one saved in case we won to throw at the final siren.

Streamers = toilet paper :-)

Brings back memories for me too..watching the full back untangling himself from miles of paper before kicking out

killa_gram

Re: Streamers

killa_gram wrote:Was watching some old footy footage on the weekend and there was a crowd shot that showed steamers all over the place. Gee I miss those. There was nothing better than going to a game and throwing a streamer after a goal and then making sure I had one saved in case we won to throw at the final siren.

Streamers = toilet paper :-)

Brings back memories for me too..watching the full back untangling himself from miles of paper before kicking out
It was always funny watching someome hurl a dunny roll only to have it not unfurl.

Innocent until proven guilty!

I'm Baaaaaaaaack!!!!!!
B W and R all over

I'd imagine they wouldn't be too hard to smuggle in if you really wanted to.

25 minutes to make a name for yourself like you've never made before.

B W and R all over wrote:I'd imagine they wouldn't be too hard to smuggle in if you really wanted to.
no, they wouldnt be, considdering some mates and i smuggled an 18can pack of coke in one time this year!
they dont check in flasks either, so it wouldnt be to hard to put some sort of exploding device in a flask! :shock:

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

saintdooley wrote:
B W and R all over wrote:I'd imagine they wouldn't be too hard to smuggle in if you really wanted to.
no, they wouldnt be, considdering some mates and i smuggled an 18can pack of coke in one time this year!
they dont check in flasks either, so it wouldnt be to hard to put some sort of exploding device in a flask! :shock:
Dools, why do the cheer squad make a 'crepe-paper bammer each week? (Are you still using crepe paper?)

Why not make a 'permanent' banner with a 'piece in the middle' that breaks open when the players run through. The sayings could be attached each week but the actual making of the banner would be much easier?

Selhurst Saint

Those days were great.

I remember knocking off phone books during the week to cut up so you could create "Snow" on the weekend.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

saintdooley wrote:
Dools, why do the cheer squad make a 'crepe-paper bammer each week? (Are you still using crepe paper?)

Why not make a 'permanent' banner with a 'piece in the middle' that breaks open when the players run through. The sayings could be attached each week but the actual making of the banner would be much easier?
no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no
the banner is actually now made of table cloth (and its hard to get through) and why would we do that? i thought the whole point of the banner is the fun making it and fun to watch the players smash through it.
i dont like the way the doggies do it, they go arround it, or under it! :?

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
riccardo

They still do it at the real football.

Come along.

B W and R all over

Mr Magic wrote:Why not make a 'permanent' banner with a 'piece in the middle' that breaks open when the players run through. The sayings could be attached each week but the actual making of the banner would be much easier?
And more environmentally friendly.

25 minutes to make a name for yourself like you've never made before.

Nothing like a good old streamers fire :lol:

If I rememer correctly that is why they were banned.

What about the urban legend of the guy sitting at the 1991 GF at Waverly Park when a shredded phone book was thrown from the grandstand (not in one go :wink: ) and a small piece caught in his hair. When he got home that night he removed the piece and found his own name address and telephone number on it!

On the topic of sneaking things in it is amazing how easy it is to walk past the bag checkers, I haven't been checked all year!!
And even when they do they barely look, god help us if a terrorist is ever smart enough to hid a bomb underneath his jumper :evil:

The only people who get their bags checked are the ones who voulinteer it themselves.

SaintBot

Armoooo wrote:On the topic of sneaking things in it is amazing how easy it is to walk past the bag checkers, I haven't been checked all year!!
And even when they do they barely look, god help us if a terrorist is ever smart enough to hid a bomb underneath his jumper :evil:
they know the types of people they need to search...a fourteeen/fifteen year old of your type wouldnt be high on the search list

its funny because iv taken cans and stuff in before and iv had to show my bag and all they see is a scarf covering some stuff and they say thats fine...yet once i went with an empty bag (as i was getting something off a mate after the game) and i was treated as suspicious, i had all the pockets of the bag checked and i had to empty my pockets :?

Even better than streamers were the old fence banners back in the 60s and 70s.

Before the fences were covered in mindless advertisements for irrelevant products, the cheer squad used to get there early and line the fences with these massive banners - some 100 metres long.

Fantastic sight at the finals to see these banners stretching all round the Southern stand and the three tiers of the Olympic stand.

snoopygirl

Couldn't have that now EM, all that advertising hoarding being covered over. :shock:

Was actually telling someone today about games at Moorabbin in the 70's when the social club committee would walk around the inside of the boundary line at half time with a blanket for coins to be thrown into. Ahhh, the memories lol.

snoopygirl wrote:Couldn't have that now EM, all that advertising hoarding being covered over. :shock:

Was actually telling someone today about games at Moorabbin in the 70's when the social club committee would walk around the inside of the boundary line at half time with a blanket for coins to be thrown into. Ahhh, the memories lol.
Sure it wasnt the Cheer Squad ?? Or perhaps both lol

Gee those long banners. Can anyone remember what ours said? I'm sure its on the tape of the 66 (and prolly 71) GF's I remember Richmonds one being something like "For Victory we strive, eat em alive" cos it was prominent on the picture you made from one years (prolly 1970 from the '69 GF) Scanlans footy cards.

I remmeber the cutup paper being especially prominent at the "away" end at Kardinia Park. The CS's would raid every phone box between Melbourne and Geelong on the road trip down there and pinch the phone books to tear up and use

whats all this about phone books?
why didnt people just cut up normal paper, or news paper? why did the poor phone books have to be the ones being smashed?

Cam1lla

saintdooley wrote:
we wouldnt want anyone getting blown up!

Cam1lla wrote:
saintdooley wrote:
we wouldnt want anyone getting blown up!
we wouldnt, but sadly there are ppl who do! :?

me and my mates snuck a slab in between 3-4 girls who came with us.. we told them to bring big handbags which cant be searched and we managed to get heavy beer that didnt cost us 5 bucks a pop