Going it alone in the VFL...?

Just wondering what people's thoughts are on this?

We did it back in 2000 - a great initial success in the eyes of many - and have been with Springvale ever since.

I reckon it's been a huge reason as to why Geelong have kicked on - they've been promoting a lot of their players through the VFL system and have been able to control their development.

Now, I'm not saying we'll instantly have the same results, but it seems a good way to monitor our players without the worry of what-will-Casey-do with-our-players.

We have a LOT of 'project' players on our list, and I can't help but feel their development would improve by keeping them in the same structure during the week and at weekends.

I guess the worry relates to costs...

Could we enter into an arrangement with the Southern Football League like Geelong do with their local league?

Something to chew over - what do people think?

we should and it will be worth the money imo.

Casey are in the game to win first develop players second.

A standalone reservers would be in it to develop players first and win secondly.

For that reason alone we should have a standalone, I vote Capt Andrew Thompson great end of career job for him if he wants to still play footy.

Would cost a million bucks to start up and I doubt it would pay it's way for the first few years.

The club has more important priorities for it's money:
- Getting us a training facility
- Building a new admin/social club
- Improving our spending on recruiting and injury management

Once we've got all that done, then we could look at a standalone VFL team.

Oh When the Saints wrote:Would cost a million bucks to start up and I doubt it would pay it's way for the first few years.
How can Geelong afford to do it?

That's what I'm working at - we need a similar arrangement, I reckon.

Because they have their own city, they can hold curtain raisers at their own home ground and didn't have to pay for upgrades to their training facilities because the State government funded it all.

Oh When the Saints wrote:Because they have their own city
Just as many people in the Bayside/SE Suburbs catchment, is there not?
they can hold curtain raisers at their own home ground
We can play VFL matches at Moorabbin. We did in 2000.
and didn't have to pay for upgrades to their training facilities because the State government funded it all.
Well, that's an issue...but what kind of funding has our club secured from the local/state/federal governments? Geelong and Western Bulldogs have managed it...

If they can do it, surely it shouldn't be an issue for us...

woooosaints

at the end of the day everton AFL/VFL is a money making business the more money we invest in a VFL Affiliate the less shareholder dividends are paid out. IF we had a dick pratt on our board then yes would be a great idea but until then ........ we have to put up with casey

st.mart

Explain how we would field a side........

44 St.K players......22 in the seniors.....8-12 injured as usual.....10 to 14 players will not make a side......

would we have to grab some non-saints players......pay them......

sounds familiar.......bit like the Casey arrangement....only we don't pay them.....

and development happens with experience.......do you think our draftees are not developing at Casey????

BTW - not everyone bayside barracks for St.K.....most in Geelong are Catters

Shareholder dividends??? We're not Telstra mate. Any profits St.Kilda FC make go straight back into the club.

The issue with the VFL side would of course be what our priorities are (VFL team v elite training facility - as posted previous).

The AFL should provide interest free loans to help clubs put themselves into a more level playing field. In a comp that generates so much, it is a disgrace that some clubs struggle to have facilities, recruiting resources, etc that some clubs with a geographical advantage enjoy.

st.mart wrote:Explain how we would field a side........

44 St.K players......22 in the seniors.....8-12 injured as usual.....10 to 14 players will not make a side......

would we have to grab some non-saints players......pay them......

sounds familiar.......bit like the Casey arrangement....only we don't pay them.....
So how do Geelong do it?
BTW - not everyone bayside barracks for St.K.....most in Geelong are Catters
How many people rock up to Geelong VFL games?

woooosaints

Animal Enclosure wrote:Shareholder dividends??? We're not Telstra mate. Any profits St.Kilda FC make go straight back into the club.

The issue with the VFL side would of course be what our priorities are (VFL team v elite training facility - as posted previous).

The AFL should provide interest free loans to help clubs put themselves into a more level playing field. In a comp that generates so much, it is a disgrace that some clubs struggle to have facilities, recruiting resources, etc that some clubs with a geographical advantage enjoy.

mmmm im thinking of the EPL if thats the case then yeah we should make our own VFL Affiliate

st.mart

It is not about the 1000 or so who rock up (half of which get in for free - members) that makes money.....it is the community support that they get through sponsorship.....St.K struggle to get the corperate support to back the senior list.....

Allows them to pay Supp players (ie/J.Byrne)
Allows them to pay Coaching and support staff...
They have an 'up to standard facility'...

Tassie.....who have an entire states funding (govt and corp).....two A Grade grounds (Bellrieve & York Park).....and get on avg..4000 to a game....needed the support of the Kanagas to be competative

Spending an extra Mill....to 'develop' players would be silly, when Casey do effectively the same job with different Jumpers.......Would it be any satisfaction if we won a VFL grand final......

SOmebody might be able to elaborate on this..but I read in the paper the other day that Geelongs standalone VFL side has hit some snags come finals time?

SOmething about their top-up plyers from the local leagues not being available cos of local footy finals

Can anyone elaborate?

redwhite&blackblood

Going it alone would be my preference other alternative wouyld be to be aligned with Frankston as another club from the south with red white and black uniform.

Bleeding Red, Black and White for 38 years!
Life Motto - Fortius Quo Fidelius
Raph "Cult Hero" Clarke Fan Club.