Why have we played no day finals in 3 years?

brown-coat

Why have we played no day finals in 3 years?

What the f*** is up with that?

Another plot by the AFL? You decide...

Re: Why have we played no day finals in 3 years?

brown-coat wrote:What the f*** is up with that?

Another plot by the AFL? You decide...
Yes they know we are better in the day than the night so thats why we play at night so we can be eliminated. they are going to change the GF to night if we get in. Everyone picks on us.

lol, isn't it set weeks before what finals game will be played at what time/day ect?

By the way browncoat does it matter?

brown-coat

Probably doesn't matter.

Just want to whinge.

BUT IT MAKES YOU WONDER.

HSVKing

ausfatcat wrote:lol, isn't it set weeks before what finals game will be played at what time/day ect?

By the way browncoat does it matter?
Nah...

They have to work out which sides have how many day break etc (top 2 no less than 7 days, 3-4 no less than 6 days etc) so until the ladder is finalised they can't make the decision where and when.

They walk amongst us...

2004 Qualifying Final vs. Brisbane Lions @ GABBA

Was played during the day IIRC.

We got absolutely smashed.

The only highlight being Trent Knobel's 41 hitouts

Washedup

Wrong. I flew up for that game and i can assure you it was played at night

i would rather night.
we play more night than day!

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
True Blue Sainter

Honestly, who cares?
It's scheduling for TV ratings etc. Big deal. Footy players these days play under lights in at least 40% of games throughout the year. That should be of no concern.

The Saints are coming!
SaintBot

hope, if we make it to the first week, our final isnt played on friday the 7th...iv got my club B&F which i would hate to miss but theyll understand priorities :wink:

night games = higher ratings, often bigger crowds = more money

riccardo

We rate very well on TV. This is why we had alot of night games in general in the past few years, as requested by the networks. Especially on Friday night, people prefer to watch on TV than go to the game, and ratings on TV for us are high, even though our match attendance is slipping away, particularly this year.

I'd much prefer a day final, but we'll see what happens.

St K v Collingwood = certain night game Friday I reckon

StK v Kangaroos = almost certain day game Sunday

Whoever Collingwood play will be a night game, just depends on who they play as to what night it will be on I reckon

Kangas, Hawks and Sydney all play Sunday so that rules them out for Fri Night

Geelong and Port play Sat night so unlikely to play Fri Night...Gee def wont...Id be screaming if I finshed top, played away Sat night in Round 22 then had a 6 day break

Pies / Adelaide (God forbid!) play Fri night and we play Sat Arvo..so can really fit in anywhere

bozza1980

Washedup wrote:

Washed up you are 100% correct.

I think Oh When the Saints has confused the final with the match we played against the Lions in Rd 21, two weeks earlier, also a game in which the Lions handed us one hell of a hiding.

HSVKing

bozza1980 wrote:
Washedup wrote:

Washed up you are 100% correct.

I think Oh When the Saints has confused the final with the match we played against the Lions in Rd 21, two weeks earlier, also a game in which the Lions handed us one hell of a hiding.
That was also a night match.

Round 11 2002 was the last time we played them in a day match at the Gabba

They walk amongst us...