who would you go for if you were not a saint?

hey
i went down to geelong with a mate 2day to watch one of the best games i think ive ever seen and we were in the port CS as he is a massive fan!
and just watching their players, supporters, staff....etc it got me thinking that if i wasnt a saints i would be a power fan!
just wondering who you would be if you wernt a sainter????

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
brown-coat

Fremantle.

Re: who would you go for if you were not a saint?

saintdooley wrote:hey
i went down to geelong with a mate 2day to watch one of the best games i think ive ever seen and we were in the port CS as he is a massive fan!
and just watching their players, supporters, staff....etc it got me thinking that if i wasnt a saints i would be a power fan!
Ormond Amateur fan myself. Hate 15 AFL sides.

SaintBot

the way the afl is...if it wasnt for stkilda i wouldnt be a fan

id just play the game...watch some games

my les foote

Casey

Win it for HIM!
jk23

St.kilda no second choice ever!!!!!!!!!!

I'm going to lend a Collingwood scarf this Friday night..

I'll let you know about 11pm if it's good idea.

ditto re Collingwood, otherwise Hawthorn (I like their Prez+ their supporters are the most civilised in the league (after us of course!) :cool:)
Last edited by saintspremiers on Sun 26 Aug 2007 10:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wouldn't follow AFL.

Would pick a VFL side (probably Casey) and just stick with them.

Better footy to watch anyway.

Probably Hawthorn... that is if there wasnt ever a St.Kilda.

If We went broke and dissolved, i wouldnt follow footy anymore.

Dal'sGal26

Re: who would you go for if you were not a saint?

saintdooley wrote:hey
Port fans are AWFUL!!!
We went to adelaide for the game against Port earlier on in the year and they are worse than Collingwood supporters and DO NOT know the rules of the game at all!!

i <3 the red, white and black

Sainter for LIFE!
HSVKing

Have always had a soft spot for the kangaroos... so would probably be the way i'd go.

They walk amongst us...

This thread sucks.

Saints are the AFL for me, and if we were to move/merge/whatever i'd be exclusively following the storm and victory.

eppo67

Brisbane Lions.

evertonfc wrote:I'm going to lend a Collingwood scarf this Friday night..
You do realise this means you'll have to be quarantined before attending your next Saints game, don't you?

And to answer the thread topic, I wouldn't support anyone.

no St.Kilda = no footy

saint_mite

at the moment, lions or dogs... just cause I like watching them when they are on form. but I would most probably end up following sandy in the vfl more.

Iratedebate

Port fans are AWFUL!!!
You are being too kind, they are grubby, toothless feral dogs. Their supporters actually make the Coll cheersquad look half human

St Michele

Nobody

The Saints are it for me although I do have a soft spot for Freo :-)

Michele

casey scorp

n1ck wrote:If We went broke and dissolved, i wouldnt follow footy anymore.
Agree. The sort of passion that you feel for a club cannot be transferred to another club.

If it was a case of St Kilda never having existed I couldn't say because you are a result of your life experiences, which would have obviously been different (ie the factors that caused St Kilda FC to be established in 1873 would have had a lot of social roots and if those factors were different, how different would Melbourne be today?).
evertonfc wrote:I'm going to lend a Collingwood scarf this Friday night..

I'll let you know about 11pm if it's good idea.
I can tell you now - it's not a good idea. Wear a Saints scarf - it'll still be clear you are supporting Collingwood. And you won't need to be quarantined!

I dont casre for any of the other teams, however, on the basis of the old Arabian saying that "my enemies enemy is my friend" I'd say Port Power.

I must admit I have a lot of respect for Port Adelaide.

Funnily enough I was just posting this on another forum and saw this thread. I have some very close friends that are born and bred Port people - from the Port itself - and I've got to see them up close pre & post their entry to the AFL.

But I was born a Saint and if we ever ceased to exist it would be goodbye AFL for me.

New Orleans is my other love. Born in 1966 and called themselves the Saints - it was a match made in heaven. 8-)

In the 80s I use to take it in turn with a friend Saints one week, Hawks the next. Of course in those days the Hawks were pretty good, so yeah, I do have a soft spot for the Hawks, but I hate them when they play us.

No way in Gods earth could I ever follow another Club as I follow St Kilda now

I have friends who follow various other sides. Id prolly just tag along with them from time to time and follow their team for the day...get a biot more use outta the ol' MCC Membership Would make a relaxing change from 40-odd years of screaming for the Saints every week lol

Id prolly buy a Victory memberhsip and follow them a little more closely too..and just hang out at a local suburban game more often

Oh..and maybe Id have the time to grow winter vegies again ...

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

I wouldn't follow any team in the AFL.

It would have to be Boolarra in the Mid Gippsland League. They finish higher on the ladder than Hill End don't they HD? :lol: :wink:

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.

SaintBot wrote:the way the afl is...if it wasnt for stkilda i wouldnt be a fan

id just play the game...watch some games
Yeah me too. I would probably change my thoughts week by week depending on stupid things like how the umps are biasing one side, how fanatically stupid the home team is on the day, how much preference the AFL or tribunal has given them.

I would never become a paying member unless the dictatorial AFL tried to force out a Melbourne club.

I have lived in WA for 20 years and just would never support the Eagles or Dockers. For that matter same for the Brions, Shyteney, Adelaide throws.......