I'd rather miss the 8

I'd rather miss the 8 than barrack for Collingwood to win next week.

The thought of doing so just makes me ill.

Who else is in the same boat as me?

Re: I'd rather miss the 8

Otiman wrote:I'd rather miss the 8 than barrack for Collingwood to win next week.

easier answer.... who isnt?
there is no way i will be going for the scummy peices of s#%t! anyway, look on the bright side, think of the money we will save if we dont make the finals.....remember, tickets are not free these days! :?

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

Otiman wrote:I'd rather miss the 8 than barrack for Collingwood to win next week.

Comon dude, a bit of perspective PLEASE.

We can barrack for Collingwood NOW....and beat the s*** out of them in the finals...

Its WIN WIN.

Newman

I will be barracking for the PIES for one night only. Why wouldn't you? Besdides - the Crows win over us in '97 is enough to illicit a lifetime of despising. At least Collingwood hasn't ruined our premiership dreams on a Grand FInal day. I want to be in at least one final. Go PIES!

Are you kidding?

Go Pies.

my les foote

Don't watch the game then you don't have to barrack for them.

Get up on Saturday morning and have a look at the updated ladder.

Then maybe you can say, "If we beat Richmond we're a chance of playing in the finals."

Win it for HIM!

The pies put us in and we put them out!!!!!

How sweet would that be!!! :twisted:

Cmon C U L L I N G W O U L D ..... thats the best I can do and as far as I am prepared to go!!!!

We dont deserve to be there regardless.

That said, a melbourne final and anything can happen.

But it would still be masking our year.

cowboy18 wrote:Are you kidding?

Go Pies.

:!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :roll:

Fair dinkum.

Go pies.

If they win, it'll be because they want to win for themselves.

The league is a dog eat dog competetion where clubs don't do favours for other clubs.

riccardo

Never thought I'd say this in my life, but I agree.

C'mon Pies.

Halo Halo

I cant believe people would rather miss the finals than support Collingwood for one night!! Im going to be at the game & I will certainly will not be cheering for Adelaide..

Also I question why people would say we (the Saints) do not deserve to be in the finals... Sure we have had our ups & downs but at our best we have been as good as any side! At the start of the year I didn't expect to make the finals (new coach/new game plan etc) but as the year has progressed we have started playing some good footy. Our second band of players have really stood up this season, Leigh Montagna has emerged as a great player, Attard has been great, as has Fisher, Gram etc & I think we will make the finals, which we will have deserved.

GO SAINTS!!

(AND ON FRIDAY NIGHT I WILL BE CHEERING GO PIES)

surely our supporters should do and support what is best to get us into the best position...

who cares who we would have to want to win...

as long as they do they correct thing so then we have a chance to repay them...with a 10 goal flogging in a final!!!

super dooper

If i didnt have cricket training i would go to the game next friday!!!

I guess the benefit of their game being before ours means we know what is required on the saturday arvo, with ess playing at the same time, hopefully our spot is secured by 5pm on saturday

Also with sydney losing last night, we are pretty much guarenteed to play 1 of haw, north or coll first week of finals should we make it

Go Pies!

If Collingwood win they will finish 5th and we'd finish 8th.

We'd play Collingwood in an elimination final, then the winner would play the Kangaroos in a semi.

super dooper

mad saint guy wrote:If Collingwood win they will finish 5th and we'd finish 8th.

We'd play Collingwood in an elimination final, then the winner would play the Kangaroos in a semi.
Love the optimism, but lets just get there first
Should we get there id like our chances to get to the last 4

casey scorp

I can't believe there's even a debate.

Surely no St Kilda supporter would prefer to miss the finals than barrack for Collingwood for one night (barrack being the operative word here - yell, cheer etc). I will have no problem whatsoever cheering the filth next Friday.

I used to hate Collingwood for no reason other than everyone in my era did (probably because of their decades of success), but now I hate Adelaide more than I ever hated Collingwood.

I will be wearing my St Kilda scarf to the match, so my allegience will be very clear.

Go Saints!

casey scorp wrote:I can't believe there's even a debate.

Surely no St Kilda supporter would prefer to miss the finals than barrack for Collingwood for one night (barrack being the operative word here - yell, cheer etc). I will have no problem whatsoever cheering the filth next Friday.

I used to hate Collingwood for no reason other than everyone in my era did (probably because of their decades of success), but now I hate Adelaide more than I ever hated Collingwood.

I will be wearing my St Kilda scarf to the match, so my allegience will be very clear.

Go Saints!
100% right CS - i feel exactly the same way about those two teams.

saintsrus

mad saint guy wrote:If Collingwood win they will finish 5th and we'd finish 8th.

Is this true? We dont deserve it like Big carl said but either did Adelaide in 97 :cry:

Before Im 85
johnpeterbudgefanclub

Ahhhh but sorry to say, but if you make the finals u deserve it. Plain and simple really. We have all had games during the year we should not have dropped etc so considering u had an ordinary first half of the year by your standards, to at least be challenging for the 8 and more then likely make it.

Yep I reckon u would have deserved it.

casey scorp

After today's matches there could be 4 teams locked on 52 points - Hawthorn, Port, Kangaroos and Collingwood - filling spots 3 to 6 inclusive. If Hawthorn wins today they will go to 3rd spot; if they lose today, they will remain in 6th spot.

None of these teams play each other next week.

Their ladder positions could all change next week in any combination. We won't know who we're playing until the cards fall next weekend (assuming we are actually playing).

Alfie Hewsdale

Any team which finishes with enough wins to get into any position in the eight DESERVES to be there.

Unless of course the AFL has intervened to give them points they weren't entitled too.

hobbo

i will also be cheering for the pies. i have no prob cheering for a team if it will help the saints move up the ladder.To those that will not cheers for the pies and would rather see the saints miss the finals,i hope we make it in september and you people dont go to the game or games as you dont deserve to be there.
stay loyal to the saints

go pies
GO SAINTS

hobbo...................

You guys have to be kidding me.

SirDog

No one is asking you to support Collingwood, I am apathetic and whatever happens happens.

Although I would like to see St.Kilda get into the finals I do not think they are any chance to win the premiership so whatever will be will be. I will not be supporting Collingwood nor Adelaide but if Collingwood defeat Adelaide it may give some invaluable experience to some of the players and give them a sniff of what they may achieve in 2008.

St.Kilda fan - through and through.